We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needed a refuge - not so much” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Winston-Salem

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Express Winston-Salem to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Winston-Salem
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2520 Peters Creek Parkway, Winston Salem, NC 27127   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #21 of 39 Hotels in Winston Salem
Winston-Salem,NC
Top Contributor
205 reviews 205 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
138 helpful votes 138 helpful votes
“Needed a refuge - not so much”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

Power... was out at home so we packed up the family and took refuge here.....now - cannot fault the Hotel for the chaos...lots of families were "camping out" as the whole town was out of power in spooty places. Rooms were hard to cpme by- BUT - SOME, not all, of the front desk staff really need to step up their game. #1 rule - no personal cell phones should be anywhere in site of costomers. I should not have to wait for ANYTHING while they are finishing up a personal call - EVER, EVER!!!!!
Waited for coffee refills - waited to have questions answered not good.
Heat is 'old school' and needs updating...for the price of this room needs updating.
Just not the experience I expected for the PRICE.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Winston-Salem, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Dear Outlanders,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate your interactions with the staff prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

68 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    16
    12
    8
    4
See reviews for
24
7
9
22
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

A simple, easy hotel with a nice breakfast and friendly staff. The hotel is nothing special; it is merely a Holiday Inn Express, but the beds were comfortable and the location was good for shopping and eating.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jorgekoster, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Winston-Salem, responded to this review, March 6, 2014
Thank you for taking time to comment about our hotel. We appreciate the positive feedback.

Sincerely,

Jorge Kosterlytzky
General Manager, MBA
Holiday Inn Express
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We were very impressed with the quality and responsiveness of the staff. The breakfast was hot and was very tasty. The rooms were very clean and well maintained. My family loved the area, and this was the icing on the cake.

Room Tip: Choose odd numbered room to be on the quiet side of the hotel, away from the highway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jorgekoster, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Winston-Salem, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
I am always pleased to read Excellent reviews from our guests. I share this feedback with the team members to encourage and reinforce the impact of their service and hard work.

Thank you again,

Jorge Kosterlytzky
General Manager, MBA
Holiday Inn Express
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lecanto, Florida
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

We have stayed in this Holiday Inn Express multiple times. We keep coming back for a reason! The staff is wonderful and helpful. The public areas are always clean. The security is good. The rooms are large and well appointed. They also have one feature that you very rarely find! In these days of laptops and tablets and cell phones and many, many charger cords, in most hotels, you're lucky if you find 1 electrical outlet that you must use to plug everything you have into. Not so at this hotel....there are many, many outlets and they are all over the room. The beds are comfortable. The bathroom is spacious. The complimentary breakfast is always a good way to start the day. Though small, the workout room is nicely equipped. The hotel is located centrally with easy access to the highway and anything else you'd like to do in the Winston Salem area!

Room Tip: ask for a room on the side opposite the interstate because we've stayed in rooms on the intersta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jorgekoster, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Winston-Salem, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thank you so much for your great review. We strive to make your stay as comfortable and hassle free as possible. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spencer, Indiana
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

My experience at this hotel was mostly positive. The room was clean, spacious, nicely maintained and accessorized, and the CC feature on the TV worked great. I have a hearing loss so if there was traffic noise outside, I didn't notice it. The breakfast was good with a nice variety of foods including, among other things, make-your-own waffles, a meat, biscuits and gravy. Two attendants were constantly on duty making sure that items were well stocked and the area kept clean.

My only complaint, and I really wasn't happy that night, was the geographically-challenged person at the desk--Kourtland. The directions on the website weren't very specific, and I called for directions from I-77 when I felt I was near the hotel. Kourtland had little idea where the hotel was located beyond the street address. He didn't know if it was east or west off of I-40 from I-77. Then he wanted to know my home address, and gave me some unusual sounding directions that resulted in my getting pretty lost. When I finally made it to the hotel, Kourtland even had trouble telling me the location of my room, then looked for a map that took longer than one might think. A nice enough guy, just geographically challenged.

I'd like to recommend this hotel with one caveat. Call for directions while it is still daylight and you are not traveling at 70 mph. And by all means, if Kourtland answers the phone, ask for someone else!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jorgekoster, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Winston-Salem, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
I am glad to read that your overall experience, outside of directions was pleasant. That is what we strive for! I have shared your comments with the team members, especially the housekeepers and breakfast attendants with regards to their due diligence in their effort to maintain the standard! Thank you for staying with us and we look forward to your next stay.

Sincerely,

Jorge Kosterlytzky
General Manager, MBA
Holiday Inn Express
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntsville, Alabama
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

As mentioned in other reviews, this property is located next to I-40 and is very loud. I approached the front desk at midnight to ask why I had been put on the loud side if there were rooms on the quiet side and was told there were rarely any complaints about the noise. Now, I could have moved to the quiet side but one member of my group was asleep so I would have had to pay for another room. I do not think much of a hotel that charged my such a high price for such poor accommodations and the employees lie to my face. There is no plan in place to insulate this hotel properly against the noise. Do not take a room on the even number side unless you want to be awoken by semis all night long. Better yet, find a decent hotel.

Room Tip: Pretty much any other hotel would probably have been a better choice. I would not recommend any roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Winston-Salem, responded to this review, November 18, 2013
Dear xkal123,

Thank you for writing a review about your recent stay with us. We work diligently to ensure our facilities are well maintained and we try our hardest to provide not just good value, but comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. I would like to offer a sincere apology for the inconvenience the outside club noise had caused you and regret that you were not satisfied with the service you received from our staff. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality and services we offer for to our guests.

Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and I hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Jaime W
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas, United States
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

I'm relatively new to Holiday Inn Express and have been pleasantly surprised by the quality in several different cities. I had a good experience here. This was was a slightly lower quality than I've experienced at other HIEs. For example, the wallpaper in many areas is peeling slightly where it meets the ceiling. Both the treadmills in the gym made horribly loud sounds when in use. The plumbing in the bathroom was exposed under the sink. But, like I've said, none of this really impacted my stay. The staff was friendly, the breakfast was good as usual, the room was very clean and modern, the bathroom was roomy with a large sink area. When I come back in two weeks I'll probably stay here again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Winston-Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Winston-Salem

Address: 2520 Peters Creek Parkway, Winston Salem, NC 27127
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 39 Hotels in Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Winston-Salem 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Take a virtual tour of the hotel.Looking for that home away from home while travelling? Our Holiday Inn Express in Winston Salem, NC is just what you re looking for. We are conveniently located directly off Interstate 40 at exit 192, or Business 40 exit 5-A (head south). We feature free high speed ethernet and wireless Internet access throughout the hotel. We have microwave and minifridges in most of our guest rooms. Enjoy our complimentary business and fitness centers to keep you up to date and in shape. In the area for business? We are located just minutes from the following Winston Salem companies: Krispy Kreme Headquarters, Wachovia and BB&T corporate headquarters in downtown Winston Salem. The Benton Convention Center, Wake Forrest University, Winston Salem State University, North Carolina School of the Arts, Department of Transportation, Salem College, Baptist Hospital , Forsyth Hospital and the VA Hospital in Winston Salem, NC. High Point Furniture Market is only about 30 miles from the hotel. In the area for leisure? We are located near the following leisure attractions: The Lawrence Joel Veterans Memorial Coliseum (LJVM), Old Salem tourist community, Tanglewood Park, Hanes Mall, Reynolda House, and Sciworks (just to name a few). In addition, we just finished a complete renovation of our property March 2013!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookIt.com, Tingo, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda, Venere and Otel so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Winston-Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Winston-Salem Hotel Winston Salem
Holiday Inn Winston Salem
Winston Salem Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Winston-Salem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.