We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of business” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Dioli's Trattoria - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Dioli's Trattoria
401 W Fourth Street, Winston Salem, NC 27101
(336) 331-3451
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $15 - $28
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Marshall
New Castle, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Out of business”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

This restaurant sounded interesting; however, it is now a Mediterranean-style restaurant that just opened.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

26 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    7
    7
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Look elsewhere for a special experience but fine for every day eating.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

After reading multiple reviews and unable to get a seat at a nearby restaurant we tried Dioli's. The front dining area is charming however it was full so they seated us in the upstairs section which has views of the top tier entrances and balconies for the next door theater. This area is too brightly lit and doesn't have the charm of the front dining area. There was a small wedding reception taking place in the rear of this room so we felt oddly out of place being seated so close.

The salads we had were great (I had an arugula and apple salad while my husband chose ceasar). Our appetizers were good too: antipasto platter and bruschetta. The main entrees however were lacking. My husband had swordfish that was way overcooked and tough but was paired with a delicious polenta. I wanted a pasta dish since they brag about their "fresh in house made pasta". I ended up going with a rabbit and wild mushroom ragu over fettucini. The ragu was out of this world but the noodles were awful. They were bland and abnormally chunky and uneven. They wouldn't even twirl around my fork but would break every time. It was very strange. They also didn't serve us any bread which I thought was odd for an Italian restaurant.

Our waiter, while kind and well meaning, would disappear for lengths of time leaving us with empty drink glasses. I'm thinking it had something to do with being seated in such an obscure location.

We won't be dining there again unless changes are made but I am glad we at least tried it. It's a shame the interior and cuisine doesn't meet the expectations one would have after seeing the charming street entrance.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
“Great Date Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I was struggling to find a new restaurant for my anniversary until my boss suggested this one. It was a big hit. My wife loved the martinis and lasagna and I enjoyed the chicken parm. The service was excellent although partly because it was a quiet weeknight. Unlike some restaurants where you have to yell to be heard, Diolis allowed us to quietly talk during dinner. We both liked the downtown location and its proximity to the Aperture theater. We would definitely go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Caroilina
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A bit of a disappointment”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I really wanted to like this place. It's convenient to downtown and they make their own pasta. Unfortunately, it was only average. Spaghetti and meatballs is my standard order when I try a new Italian restaurant. In this case, the order was good but not spectacular. I also tried the carbonara, which was far too salty for my taste. It was also too heavy on the cheese, which when mixed with the fresh pasta, came out somewhat pasty and gummy. Perhaps there are better choices from the menu.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queenstown, Maryland
Top Contributor
157 reviews 157 reviews
108 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Great Italian in Winston-Salem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

After a long day at the furniture market we wanted some great Italian with excellent sauces and home made pasta. We found it and enjoyed it. Fettuccine Alfredo and rabbit mushrooms and fettuccine were all excellent. Service was outstanding as well. If your in the mood for Italian try this small excellent restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dioli's Trattoria also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dioli's Trattoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.