We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inventive twists on favorite foods” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Screaming Rooster - CLOSED

The Screaming Rooster
301 Brookstown Ave, Winston Salem, NC 27101-5270
336-722-9090
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: American, Sandwiches, Hamburgers, Vegetarian
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
“Inventive twists on favorite foods”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Had a great meal here - beef stew over grits (amazing) and red velvet pancakes! That alone had me hooked! Worth the visit.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    8
    3
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
“One of the first place I ate in Winston Salem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

My wife and I moved to Winston in June of 2011. We stayed ate the hotel across the street. We chose the Rooster for its convenience. We have returned because of the quality of the food and because they get their food from local sources. The wait staff is a little slow but the food is great. I love the mason jars that are used for glasses. They really give you that southern feel, like moonshine or something. We have taken several friends and family there and have not heard a single complaint so far. I wish that they were open for dinner more. We will continue to go there and to recommend it to friends.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ringwood
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“The Fan Flag is Falling”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

Understanding this restaurant is small a waiting line for brunch is expected and understood. However once inside waiting 1 hour and 15 minutes for delivery of food after one's order is not. I am hopeful they can turn their operations towards a more positive direction.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemmons, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

Neat little restaurant and has potential -- but service was REALLY SLOW. We came in on a Saturday night and there was only 1 table of 4 besides us. Drinks were not refilled and it took an amazing amount of time to get 4 sandwiches delivered. My daughter's soup was warm, but not hot.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best brunch spot!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012

This is the best brunch spot downtown. Specials are always very creative, delicious and very filling! A must stop for a Sat or Sun visit!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Screaming Rooster also viewed

 
Winston Salem, NC
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Screaming Rooster, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.