We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nicely appointed newer hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   309 Summit Square Court, Winston Salem, NC 27105   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Winston Salem
Laguna Niguel, United States
1 review
“Nicely appointed newer hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This Hampton Inn is fairly new (built around 2010 I believe) and the lobby and rooms are all have the newer Hampton Inn look. Beds are very comfortable and rooms are quiet. Bathrooms are nice and upscale (my room did not have a bathtub, but had a large walk-in shower - not sure if that is standard or not). People were very friendly and they offer corporate rates for some local businesses.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this review, August 14, 2014
Thank you for being our valued guest! We strive to provide excellent service and accommodations to each and every guest. All of our standard kings do have the stand up showers, however we do offer tubs in our upgrade rooms, and our double rooms. Thank you again for being our guest, and we look forward to serving you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    58
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
103
39
14
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Greenville, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

As soon as I checked into my room the person who checked me in, Roger, called to see if everything was fine with my room. I realized later I had forgotten a toothbrush and they gave me one. I didn't partake of the free breakfast but it looked fine- it is the same as other Hamptons I have stayed in. I do love their mattresses and pillows which is one reason I like Hamptons.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for being a valued guest, and sharing your feedback about our hotel with us and other travelers. Roger, has been at our hotel for a short time, but truly does an amazing job! I will be sure to pass along your compliments to him. Thank you again for staying with us, and I look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Stayed here one night only for a soccer game at Wake Forest. Excellent location. Close to many, many restaurants and conveniences. Rooms were clean, shower was hot, and breakfast was great! Our family stayed at an adjacent hotel because this was full. Great location if you have a large party. We will stay here again if we come back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
We are glad you enjoyed your stay while visiting the Winston Salem Area. We are very fortunate that our hotel is conveniently located to several shops and restaurants and our guest love it! We hope that when you come back to this area again we will be your choice in hotels when visiting the area. Thank you again for being a valued guest and we love having you here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GILBERTSVILLE
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

I stay in Hampton Inn all the time and this is one of th best that I have stayed in. The staff was great, they were friendly and always there to help if needed. I was given an upgrade (I am an Hhonors diamond member) which for me was a first. The room was clean and kept clean. I guess the only negative comment and this is more for Hampton than this hotel is that they should get some variety to the breakfast. It is becoming the same ole same ole. So if you are in the university area of Winston-Salem you should stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for being a valued guest, and taking the time to let us know about your experience. We love upgrading our Diamond Members when they visit the hotel and we have availability. I noticed you were not particularly pleased with the Hampton breakfast as a whole. I will be sure to pass along your comments to our corporate office, as they are always looking to improve the brand. We hope that when you visit our area again you will be our choice of hotels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conneaut, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

The staff at this hotel will go out of their way to see they you have excellent service. We left clothing behind. We were called and the clothing was nicely packed and shipped to our home. It arrived the day after we did.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for being our guest while visiting the Winston Salem area. I’m glad you were able to experience great service and accommodations. Our staff really takes pride in the service and accommodations we provide. Thank you for staying at our property, and we look forward to seeing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Stayed here for a lacrosse tournament and even though it was far from BB&T Soccer Park it was worth it for the quiet and nice accommodations. The staff was very welcoming and helpful. Rooms were clean and well appointed. Beds were comfortable. Breakfast was good - again the staff was wonderful. The only thing was the elevator smelled sour. The carpet needs replacing or cleaning. This was the only thing I found lacking at this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for visiting our hotel during your lacrosse tournament! We strive to provide great service and accommodations each and every time. Thank you for making us aware of our elevator carpet! I will make sure maintenance takes care of that issue. We hope that when visiting the area again we will be your choice in hotels in the area. Thank you for being out guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We stayed at this hotel during a recent trip to NC where we were traveling from place to place visiting various family members. We checked into this Hampton Inn at the end of a very long day of hiking with our 2 children. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, the check in was speedy, our room was immaculate and the beds were heaven on earth. We will definitely stay here again, the next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your experience at our property! We are glad to hear you were able to check in with ease and that you enjoyed our beds! They are my favorite part about the brand as well! I know that when staying with Hampton I will always get a great night rest! Thank you for being a valued guest and I look forward to seeing you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area

Address: 309 Summit Square Court, Winston Salem, NC 27105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Winston Salem
#3 Romantic Hotel in Winston Salem
#4 Family Hotel in Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn&Suites Winston-Salem/Univ. area is the city's newest hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Winston-Salem / University Area
Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area Hotel Winston Salem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.