We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thank You - Great Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   309 Summit Square Court, Winston Salem, NC 27105   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Get Double HHonors Points
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Winston Salem
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sudbury, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Thank You - Great Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

I do not typically seek out Hampton Inn & Suites when traveling, but based on this recent stay they may become my go-to chain. This property provided a surprise-and-delight experience all around. Pleasant decor, fresh and clean, with surprisingly comfortable beds, pillows and linens. The breakfast area was comfortable, spacious and contemporary, offering a very nice selection of both healthy/light and traditional choices, including the ever-popular waffle maker.

The desk staff was attentive and helpful, always appreciated.

Be aware that the surrounding area offers many popular chain eateries, but not much in the way of anything else that is a little nicer.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us and other travelers know about your experience to our hotel. We work hard to provide great service and accommodations each and every time. We hope that when traveling to the Winston Salem area we will be your choice in hotel. I will share all the feedback you provided at our next team huddle. Thank you for being a valued guest, and we look forward to your visit again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    63
    13
    2
    4
See reviews for
111
45
15
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Huntersville, North Carolina
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2014

Hotel was near a wedding reception we were going to and easy to access. We've stayed here before for a conference and liked it so we booked another stay. It's just a quick drive to downtown Winston-Salem as well as Old Salem. FYI, there is a Krispy Kreme nearby!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us and other travelers know about your visit to our hotel. We strive to provide great service and accommodations to each and every guest. Thank you for being a valued guest, and I hope you will visit our hotel when traveling to Winston Salem in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

The staff was very helpful. Location was perfect right off of the highway. Appreciated having complimentary internet as I am an online instructor. Rooms were comfortable and clean. Breakfast was great serving at 6am was perfect especially having to be up and on the road at 7am.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for being a valued guest at our hotel! We work hard to provide the best accommodations and service possible. I glad to hear you enjoyed some of our amenities such as the free internet and complimentary breakfast. I hope you enjoyed your stay while visiting and were able to get a little rest and relaxation. Thank you again for being a valued guest. We look forward to serving you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

This hotel is very nice and quiet, I felt very safe and it's a very clean hotel. The pool is nice, the only improvement could be the workout room, but it's nicer than most hotels. We would stay there again. There are alot of good place to eat in walking distance.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for telling us about your experience at our hotel. I hope that while visiting you were able to make use of our salt water pool. We work hard to provide great service and accommodations to each of our guest every time. Thank you for the kind comments, and I will be sure to pass them along to the staff as well. We hope that when visiting the Winston Salem area you will choose our hotel again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooresville, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Enjoyed my stay very much! The bed was comfortable, the room was clean, and the staff was wonderful! This is the second time I have stayed here and I would highly recommend this hotel to fellow travelers!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for being a frequent traveler of our hotel. We truly work hard to provide great service and accommodations to each and every guest. We hope that when you are back in the Winston Salem area you will choose our hotel again. Thank you for being a valued guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonao, Dominican Republic
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

This hotel is very well kept the hotel and it has a very nice entrance which allows for guests to feel at home during the check in and or check out. The staff is always helpful and willing to provide directions to the local attractions. I have stayed in this hotel various times and every time I stay in the hotel, I am always impressed by the quality of service and the cleanliness of the hotel. This hotel is located well for shopping and going out to eat. I look forward to my trips to Winston to stay in the hotel because of the service and quality. The Hampton Inn Quality is living up to its name in this hotel.

Room Tip: All of the rooms I n this hotel are very well kept. I have not had a bad or dirty room at this hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for choosing our hotel, and telling other travelers about your experience. We strive to provide great service and accommodations each and every time. I will share your comments about the staff at our next team huddle. We hope that when visiting our area again, we will be your choice in hotels. Thank you for being a valued guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farmington Hills, Michigan
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

We were traveling in the High Point area when it was hit by an ice storm. We found this hotel after searching for hours. Check in was easy and the staff was very friendly. We were able to secure a King room for two nights. The lobby was nicely decorated. The room was roomy, clean and the bed was comfortable. The bathroom was clean and big. The location is perfect near restaurants, stores and freeways. Breakfast featured hot items such as waffles, eggs, and sausage, along with a good selection of cold items. The kitchen staff was very friendly and attentive as well. We had no complaints and were very pleased with our stay. We would stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this review, April 15, 2014
Thank you for choosing our hotel during your time in need! Our area was hit by several storms during the month of February and March and we worked hard to make sure each guest felt home away from. We hope that if you ever have a need for a hotel in our area again we will be your choice of hotels. Thanks for the compliments on the breakfast and staffing, and I will be sure to share these at our next team huddle! We look forward to having you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area

Address: 309 Summit Square Court, Winston Salem, NC 27105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Winston Salem
#2 Business Hotel in Winston Salem
#2 Family Hotel in Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn&Suites Winston-Salem/Univ. area is the city's newest hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels and Hotwire so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Winston-Salem / University Area
Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area Hotel Winston Salem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.