We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of the City” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   309 Summit Square Court, Winston Salem, NC 27105   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Winston Salem
Washington, DC, United States
1 review
“Out of the City”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

I especially like this hotel because it was not downtown, but close. The staff was especially friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was good; with good presentation. Also the suites were modern and roomy, with a comfortable bed.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us and other travelers know about your experience. We strive to provide great service and accommodations to each and every guest. I’m glad you experienced the friendly staff and enjoyed the breakfast presentation. We hope that when you visit our area again we will be your choice in accommodations. Thank you for being a valued guest.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    58
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
103
39
14
87
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Indore, India
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

Fantastic Room / Very Helpful Staff / Breakfast can be improved for sure.Moreover location of Hotel is very convenient for our Business Meetings. There are plenty of Restaurants around our Hotel at walking distance and just in case one needs anything Walmart is a stone's throw away and open 24 x 7.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us and other travelers know about your experience at our hotel. We strive to provide great service and accommodations each and every time. Thank you for sharing your concerns with our breakfast selections. The Hampton brand along with our hotel is currently working to revamp the breakfast with healthier selections. This will include a variety of fresh cut fruits and a healthy meat options such as turkey sausage. We will also be providing a healthier french toast selection. We will have the revamped breakfast at our hotel by the end of January and we hope that you will come give it a try and let us know your thoughts! Thank you for being a valued guest, and we look forward the opportunity to earn your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wake Forest, North Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

The front desk clerk was so friendly upon check in. It is really hard to find good customer service these days. The bed linens at this hotel were very fresh and soft! The evening clerk made fresh chocolate chip cookies for us while we watched the Hurricanes game in the lobby!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Our hotel strives to provide great service and accommodations to each and every guest. Abe our Guest Service Agent shared with me about making the team cookies during the Hurricanes game! He was just as excited to make them as you were to have them, and this is the type of service we strive to deliver to each and every guest. Thank you for sharing your experience with us and other travelers. We hope when you visit this area again we will be your choice in accommodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

My wife and I had recently stayed at the Hampton Inn and Suites, Dover, NJ, where we had excellent accommodation and service. This experience was repeated at the Winston-Salem (University) Hampton Inn

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
We are so glad you have found the Hampton Brand! Our hotels are consistent throughout the United States, and that is what I like the best! You consistently find friendly service and clean rooms. I am glad that our hotel and the Hampton Inn and Suites Dover NJ also delivered to meet your expectations. We look forward to serving you again in the future. Thank you for being a valued guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Our family of 4 liked the friendly, helpful staff; clean, nicely-furnished rooms, queen beds, breakfast. The staff was accomodating. The location is very convenient. We have stayed in the past and will do so again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for the continued opportunity to earn your business. We strive to provide great service and accommodations to each and every guest. Our staff takes great pride in taking care of our guest! We hope that when visiting the Winston Salem area you will choose our hotel again. Thank you for being a valued guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I cannot say enough about this hotel. I stay here about 3 times a year. The staff always goes out of their way to make sure you are happy, the rooms are REALLY clean, and it is centrally located. It is a great place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to let us and other travelers about your experience at our hotel! We strive to provide great service and accommodations to each and every guest. Our staff really does work hard to ensure they are providing great service to our guest, and our housekeeping department really takes pride in what they do, and it shows. We hope when visiting the Winston Salem area again we will be your choice in hotel accommodations. Thank you for the opportunity to earn your business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conway, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Driving from Akron Ohio to Conway SC stop at this hotel for the night. The desk staff was friendly and helpful. Stayed on the 4th floor so I had no one above me, the room was clean, updated and overall great. the WIFI was excellent with no concerns. The breakfast in the morning was more then plenty with a wide range of food to select from. A nice point to stop for the night with plenty of place to eat and shop.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Thank you for choosing our hotel while traveling through the area. We receive a lot of travelers from the Ohio area that are traveling to the coast of the Carolinas, and we love having you here! We strive to provide great service and accommodations to each and every guest when traveling. Thank you for being a valued guest!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area

Address: 309 Summit Square Court, Winston Salem, NC 27105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Winston Salem
#3 Romantic Hotel in Winston Salem
#4 Family Hotel in Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn&Suites Winston-Salem/Univ. area is the city's newest hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Winston-Salem / University Area
Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area Hotel Winston Salem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.