We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Such a lovely spot and friendly staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area to your Saves list
Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   309 Summit Square Court, Winston Salem, NC 27105   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 36 Hotels in Winston Salem
1 review
“Such a lovely spot and friendly staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We felt welcomed and so comfortable our entire stay! Great staff and great café in lobby!
Perfect for the college visits with so many nearby- Wake Forest, Elon, High Point etc!
We were able to see all 3 in two days and had down time to relax in our room!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your experience while visiting our hotel! We find that other travelers really enjoy our location as well, due to the convenience to the colleges in the area. We hope you had success when visiting the local Universities, and hopefully we will be seen you in the future in the Winston Salem area. Thank you again for choosing our hotel and we look forward to seeing you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

269 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    196
    58
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
103
39
14
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liberty, NC
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Hotel was very clean and well furnished. Staff was polite and helpful. Beds were comfy. WI-FI worked great. Breakfast was what you would expect. Conveniently located to Walmart and restaurants although they may have been in an area that was a little sketchy. I was alone so it may have been my imagination but none-the-less I did not have any trouble.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let us and other travelers know about your experience to our area. We strive to provide great service and clean rooms to each and every guest. We hope when visiting our area again that you will choose our hotel! We loved having you here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blacksburg, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed on Saturday night August 31st. Hotels are so very busy on the weekends but you couldn't tell it here. We were able to check in early. The young man helping us was friendly, helpful and efficient. This hotel is close to everything. The indoor saltwater pool is wonderful as is the outdoor patio area adjacent to the pool. The waterwall at check in is fun and relaxing. The 24 hour coffee/tea and hot chocolate keeps it cozy. The king room on the third floor was neat and clean. Thank you! We will be back!

Room Tip: I read on some reviews here that you should request a third floor or fourth floor room to avoid traf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you for visiting our hotel in August, and thank you for letting us know about your experience. I will make sure to pass along your compliments to the guest service agent working the morning shift on August 31st. Our goal is to provide the best service and accommodations possible to each and every guest every time. We are glad you were able to take advantage of our patio area and pool while here. The waterwall is one of my favorite features of the hotel as well! We hope to see you again when visiting the Winston Salem area. We loved having you here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-salem
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

Service was awesome, friendly. They gave us ideas on good places to eat in the area and it was great! Room was very clean. Comfy beds! We'll be back! The breakfast area was very comfortable with beautiful fountain wall! Food was good and a nice selection as well! I would most definitely recommend this hotel and I read what others say before I stay at hotels.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us and others about your experience at our hotel! Our hotel is conveniently located near shops and restaurants that has a little something for everyone. We are glad you enjoyed our clean comfy beds, and we hope to see you again soon. Thank you again for the continued opportunity to earn your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Have never had a bad experience at with Hampton hotels. Always my 1st choice. My suggestion to them though, is that they improve their wi-fi service. At this hotel and the one we were at in Myrtle Beach, SC, the wi-fi service was very weak, and constantly went in and out.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you for your recent stay to our property! The Hampton Brand is fantastic! They hotels are very consistent and are always at a great value! Thank you for letting us know about the wi-fi service. We work hard to provide the best accommodations possible. I will make sure to reach out to our IT team and let them know about the suggestions. We hope you will give us another opportunity to shine the next time visiting the Winston Salem area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swannanoa, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Very well furnished, managed hotel property. I enjoyed the salt water indoor pool, unusual. I treated myself to a king suite which was well-appointed. Complementary breakfast is typical, high-carb fare, nothing special.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you for telling us about your experience to our property! We strive to provide the best accommodations and service in the Winston Salem area. We are glad you treated yourself during this visit and took advantage of one of our suites. We are also glad you took advantage of our Salt Water pool. We hope when visiting this area again we will be your choice of accommodations. Thank you for the opportunity to earn your business!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arcadia, California
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

My wife and I were visiting relatives in King NC. We spent one day in Old Salem that has a lot of history. We also visited Mt Airy (Mayberry) and walk around all the shops and toured the museum. Later that after noon we had lunch at The Lone Star restaurant. If you like Ribs and cornmeal catfish this is the place

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this review, September 14, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your visit to the Winston Salem area. It sounds like you had an awesome experience here! We hope that when visiting this area again you will visit our hotel. Thank you for taking the time to tell us and others about your experience! We love having here!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area

Address: 309 Summit Square Court, Winston Salem, NC 27105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Winston Salem
#3 Romantic Hotel in Winston Salem
#4 Family Hotel in Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area 2.5*
Number of rooms: 94
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn&Suites Winston-Salem/Univ. area is the city's newest hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn And Suites Winston-Salem / University Area
Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area Hotel Winston Salem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.