We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save Saved
You added Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   309 Summit Square Court, Winston Salem, NC 27105   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
AAA Members Save 10%
Ranked #3 of 39 hotels in Winston Salem
Lincoln, Nebraska
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“good stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

The hotel is newer, clean and comfortable. The exercise room was very good. I don't need fancy and big and this room had just what I wanted as it was clean with updated equipment, large enough to move about, some free weights and a nice exercise floor (yea! no sweaty carpet). towels, water and headphones were plentiful. The only minor glitch during my stay was that my room wasn't cleaned until about 3 pm on my first day. However, the housekeeping staff apologized to me in person and explained that there had been a lot of check outs and they had fallen behind. I appreciated the information and it wasn't a big deal. hey, things happen.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel when visiting the Winston Salem area. We strive to provide great service and accommodations to each and every guest! Our property is fairly new, and we do have the new fitness center that the entire brand will be moving to. (No more carpet) in the future for Hamptons! This is our Jump Start Fitness initiative and is coming to Hamptons everywhere! We hope that you will visit our hotel again soon, and we look forward to the opportunity to earn your business! Thank you for choosing our hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    147
    45
    7
    2
    1
See reviews for
72
30
12
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Winston-Salem, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a wedding. Everyone we knew that stayed here was very pleased with their stay. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel and rooms were clean and comfortable. Breakfast was great. We couldn't have asked for a better experience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to let us know about your experience. It's great to hear that your wedding group was happy with the accommodations. We strive to go above and beyond for all our our guest whether it is leisure or business! Thank you for choosing our hotel during your visit to Winston Salem and we hope you choose our hotel when visiting the area again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This hotel was clean and the staff was friendly. If you are visiting Wake Forest University this hotel is a great location near the school. The breakfast was okay, but didn't have a lot to choose from. We arrived very late and they had our key available when we walked in the door. I would recommend this hotel if visiting the Winston-Salem area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for choosing our hotel while visiting the area. We strive to provide excellent service to each and every guest. I apologize we did not meet your expectations in the breakfast area. We are working to expand our menu to offer a little something for everyone. We hope that when visiting the area that you will give us another try! Thank you for letting us know about your experience at our property, and we look forward to having having you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Herndon, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This Hampton Inn is relatively new and had the most up-to-date amenities. I would highly advise using this hotel, which is close (within walking distance) to shopes and restaurants and a quick drive to Pilot Mountain and Winston-Salem propoer.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for visiting our hotel, and letting other travelers know about your experience. We are conveniently located next to shopping and restaurants, and I'm glad you took advantage of these items while visiting. We strive to provide up todate accommodations, a clean environment, and outstanding service! Thank you again for choosing our hotel, and we hope that you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellsville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

all the staff was very eager to help and quick. The room was cleaned everyday quickly. the breakfast was the best I've had so far, they were quick to refill anything that got low. I would recommend Hampton to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for providing us with feedback from your experience. We work hard to make sure each and every guest is pleased with their stay at our property. We are very fortunate to have a staff that cares and is eager to please each and every guest! Thank you for choosing our hotel, and we look forward to serving you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I would recommend this hotel to anyone. I stayed for 2 nights and it was very inviting, comfortable and calm. The staff was wonderful, the rooms are modern, clean and it has everything you would need for a long or short stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Hampton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for "Highly Recommending" our hotel!!!! We really do strive to provide great accommodations and great service to each and every guest. Thank you for taking the time to let us and other travelers know about your experience! We hope that when visiting the area we will be your choice of hotels in the area. Thank you for being our guest and we look forward to serving you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plano, Texas
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Hotel was clean, quite, and in great shape (relative new). Unfortunately, our experience was negatively affected by loss of electricity for several hours at the hotel (as well as the surrounding area due to a brief but heavy storm). First of all, we were surprised that the hotel did not have a back-up generator. Also, we were disappointed that they did not communicate at all with the guests while the power was out (they were all in the lobby checking in new guests and ignored guests who already checked in). Providing cold water bottles and/or small snacks would have gone a long way. Since we were on the 4th floor, it was not fun getting in and out of our room with our luggage.

The free breakfast buffet was below average in terms of variety and quality.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Summer C, General Manager at Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to let other travelers know about your visit to our hotel. We apologize for any inconvenience of the power outage. We strive to provide excellent service to each and every guest no matter the situation. Unfortunately during your visit we were hit with massive storms in the area and 70,000 people were with out power in our area and surrounding areas. I would like to speak with you concerning your experience to learn what we can do to better accommodate in house guest during times like this. Please contact me at 336-377-3000. We hope that when visiting our area you will give our hotel another try. Thank you again for letting us know how we are doing. We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area

Also Known As:
Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area Hotel Winston Salem
Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area Hotel
Hampton Inn And Suites Winston-Salem / University Area
Address: 309 Summit Square Court, Winston Salem, NC 27105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Winston Salem
#3 Family Hotel in Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hampton Inn&Suites Winston-Salem/Univ. area is the city's newest hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Tingo, Hilton Hotels, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hampton Inn & Suites Winston-Salem / University Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.