We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Place Worth Supporting” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Children's Museum of Winston-Salem

Children's Museum of Winston-Salem
390 South Liberty Street, Winston Salem, NC
336-723-9111
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Children's Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Children's Museum of Winston-Salem is a 26,000 square foot facility allowing children and adults to IMAGINE, CREATE and PLAY!Our MissionTo create a compelling destination for our community to play and learn by experiencing literature, storytelling and the arts.Our VisionNurturing children’s imaginations, creativity and love of reading by bringing stories to life.Our Values:We Believe and Affirm that:Every child has value and deserves respect.Effective parenting resources give every parent/family the opportunity to play a primary role in their child’s development.Storytelling bridges all cultures and generations.Collaborations strengthen our diverse community.Our Central location provides accessibility to the whole community.Every child deserves access to the Children’s Museum of Winston-Salem.
East Bend, North Carolina
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“A Place Worth Supporting”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Each Year our Child goes with the School and each year my wife and I make sure that we go no matter what it takes. It is so much fun to watch our child learn and have fun. We enjoy being there for him and enjoying the bonding experience. Please take your children and experience how great it truly is.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    22
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Love the New Exhibit in the Surprise Garden”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

I saw that the The Children’s Museum of Winston-Salem is the first location in the United States to host a crocheted wonder from renowned artist Toshiko Horiuchi MacAdam and had to take my daughters (4 and 7), niece (2) and nephew (5). We had a wonderful time and they really loved climbing on the kaleidoscape. They always have fun and as usual it was a great way to spend a day. The also really enjoyed the art activity, bi-lingual story time and building with teh soft blocks downstairs.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston-Salem, North Carolina, United States
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Grandmothers Delight!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

My two grandsons light up when I tell them we are going to the Children's Museum. There are so many activities and there are constant updates and changes for them. They make new friends each time they go in a learning, educational environment. I can sit back and rock and know they are safe and having a fabulous time or I can participate with them. Whatever, they love going from room to room seeking new adventures.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“GREAT kids place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

We love to take our now 2 year old to childrens museums and this one is one of the best. There are educational activities throughout. Not only does it appeal to a childs nature to touch, climb, and build, but there were notes all throughout to encourage parents to ask questions to get the child learning/thinking. I live the concept of learning while playing and this children's museum has done it right. I will drive the extra 20 min to go to this one rather than the 1 closer to my home.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fun for the famy!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

The Children's Museum is fun for the whole family. Your children will stay engaged with many different activities, and you want be able to stop yourself from joining in on the fun. The outside picnic area is good for catching your breath before heading to see the animals. We will be back!!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Children's Museum of Winston-Salem also viewed

 

Been to Children's Museum of Winston-Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Children's Museum of Winston-Salem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.