We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Defintely NOT upscale” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Ramada Plaza Winston Salem North

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Ramada Plaza Winston Salem North to your Saves list
Ramada Plaza Winston Salem North
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   3050 University Parkway, Winston Salem, NC 27105 (Formerly Clarion Collection Hotel Sundance Plaza Hotel Spa & Wellness Ctr.)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 15%; Earn 500 Points
Ranked #29 of 36 Hotels in Winston Salem
Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Defintely NOT upscale”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2007

The carpet was stained, chair in room broken, large screen TV was broken and a smaller working TV sat on top of it. The next day upon returning to my room, it had not been cleaned at all. Dirty towels had been left, dirty coffee cups, no replacement coffee cups or coffee packs. I complained to the front desk and they assured me someone would come in and reclean my room. This did not happen. My bathroom sink filled up as I brushed my teeth - the drain was extremely slow. There was also a ring in the toilet and I was told it couldn't come clean because the water in the hotel was very hard.

Not a good experience and I would not stay there again.

  • Liked — Room was large
  • Disliked — Dirty, very poor housekeeping, poor staff followup
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    32
    23
    27
    30
See reviews for
56
30
18
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2007

Stayed here for High Point Spring Furniture Market and was very disappointed when I checked-in. Had to stay though as all other hotels were booked up for the market week.

When I arrived only one person was available to check-in everyone waiting in line, the restaurant and room service were unavailable and were for the rest of the week, and the room was awful.

Old saggy mattress & pillows, dirty & dusty surfaces & light switches (yuck!) , torn and mildewy shower curtains & tub.
Only thing in the room that seemed new was the sloppy new paint job.

It says 'Spa' on their sign as well, but nothing was open there either.

Staff was friendly & nice, but overall the facilities were poor & I won't be staying again.

  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilyManBahama, Owner at Ramada Plaza Winston Salem North, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear guest:
Thank you for staying at our hotel and thank you for taking your time and providing us with your feedback with regards to your stay. We truly strive to meet and exceed each customers expectation. We value all of your input and use it to take corrective action where necessary or to provide additional training to our staff. We do share your comments with the staff - good and comments for improvements. You input make a big difference -- thank you again.
Hope to welcome you back to our hotel real soon. We would like to spoil you with some Southern Hospitality and the services of the Spa and Bistro.
Best wishes,
Mike Geissler
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fordyce, Arkansas
Top Contributor
169 reviews 169 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
171 helpful votes 171 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2007

This hotel is located on University Parkway, less than a mile from Wake Forest University. In that respect, location is ideal if you're looking for something close to Wake.

The lobby is nicely decorated and appointed. The restaurant just off the lobby features a complimentary continental breakfast and when we were there, a breakfast buffet option.

As some have noted, the rooms themselves are nothing special, slightly less than you'd expect for the price. All in all, the hotel satisfied our need for a decent place to sleep close to Wake Forest.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilyManBahama, Owner at Ramada Plaza Winston Salem North, responded to this review, March 15, 2013
Dear guest:
Thank you for staying at our hotel and thank you for taking your time and providing us with your feedback with regards to your stay. We truly strive to meet and exceed each customers expectation. We value all of your input and use it to take corrective action where necessary or to provide additional training to our staff. We do share your comments with the staff - good and comments for improvements. You input make a big difference -- thank you again.
Hope to welcome you back to our hotel real soon. We would like to spoil you with some Southern Hospitality and the services of the Spa and Bistro.
Best wishes,
Mike Geissler
Owner
919 2159372
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2006

Hotel has been recently renovated and the lobby area is nice but the rooms are still pretty dated. They've given the hotel the "boutique" treatment (they've hotglued sticks to the room number plaques for instance) but the elevators, major funiture, bedding and curtains all look dated (The microwave looked like something that might have been equipment onboard on the trip to the moon back in the 60's). Mattress felt and looked cheap. Lamps were modern as well as carpet in the hallways. First night the hot water only got to warm. We were told to let the water run for about 15 minutes. This was after multiple calls to the front desk as no one seemed to answer the phone. After an in-person visit to the front desk to complain again they did adjust my room rate down from 93.50 to 79.99 per night for both nights. The hot water finally started working late in the evening and worked for the rest of the stay. The "Free" breakfast was very limited with no hot items. You could pay $8 if you wanted an omlette or $2 if you wanted a waffe. Although the hotel has been updated it is still a Sow's ear. A bright point was the staff. The front desk clerk (Young Female) handled the water situation well and was very friendly. All the staff were very friendly and made a point of saying hello in the hallways, etc. I would probably not stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2006, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilyManBahama, Owner at Ramada Plaza Winston Salem North, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Guest:
First of all – thank you for staying with us and thank you for taking time in writing your review. We love to hear from you, our guest, because it provides us with an opportunity to find out where we have met or exceeded your expectations and where we need to improve. It is clear that we failed our goal with you. However, every review will be shared with the relevant staff, management and myself. Your comments will be used to prepare a corrective action plan. I assure you we all listen carefully. This is the only way to reach our goal of meeting and exceeding your expectations.
For the issues and areas where we failed I am truly sorry and I apologize.
Please call me to when making arrangements for a future trip to our city and I will make it my business to point out the corrective action we have taken.
Again – thank you for your review
Mike G
Owner
919 215-9372
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2005

This place is old dirty and unkept. There were no non-smoking rooms and the room stunk of cigarette smoke The room was dirty and our room was not cleaned one night. There were not 2 beds as reserved but one bed and a hide a bed with no sheets. There was no hot water in the morning and the bathroom was not clean when we arrived, it had excriment on the side of the commode.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FamilyManBahama, Owner at Ramada Plaza Winston Salem North, responded to this review, October 8, 2012
Dear Guest:
First of all – thank you for staying with us and thank you for taking time in writing your review. We love to hear from you, our guest, because it provides us with an opportunity to find out where we have met or exceeded your expectations and where we need to improve. It is clear that we failed our goal with you. However, every review will be shared with the relevant staff, management and myself. Your comments will be used to prepare a corrective action plan. I assure you we all listen carefully. This is the only way to reach our goal of meeting and exceeding your expectations.
For the issues and areas where we failed I am truly sorry and I apologize.
Please call me to when making arrangements for a future trip to our city and I will make it my business to point out the corrective action we have taken.
Again – thank you for your review
Mike G
Owner
919 215-9372
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ramada Plaza Winston Salem North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Plaza Winston Salem North

Address: 3050 University Parkway, Winston Salem, NC 27105 (Formerly Clarion Collection Hotel Sundance Plaza Hotel Spa & Wellness Ctr.)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 36 Hotels in Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Plaza Winston Salem North 2.5*
Number of rooms: 194
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Ramada Plaza Winston Salem North reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sundance Plaza Hotel And Suites
Sundance Plaza Hotel Winston Salem
Clarion Winston Salem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ramada Plaza Winston Salem North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.