We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep driving” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn to your Saves list
Comfort Inn
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Mercantile Drive, University Parkway & Highway 52, Winston Salem, NC 27105   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #25 of 36 Hotels in Winston Salem
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Keep driving”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

This place was horrible from top to bottom. From the moment we stepped into the lobby to rude desk clerks we knew this was not going to be good. The room was not ready when promised due it needing to be cleaned, they "cleaned" it in in three minutes. Wow! I really trust that cleaning. The furniture in the room was stained, spilled soda was still on the table and the carpet was sticky. The breakfast room must have doubled as the sauna with it being so hot. There was not enough parking provided for guests and we had to park in the street. If you need a place to stay, keep driving past this hotel.

Stayed October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    11
    11
    5
    6
See reviews for
15
8
3
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plattsville, Ont
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

4 couples met here on our way to Myrtle Beach and got a coupon at the rest area. We all were able to get rooms and the staff was very accommodating. We needed a corkscrew and within a minute we had one. My husband forgot his toothbrush and they gladly supplied one. Breakfast was included in the price which was what you usually get. It did include hot food.

Room Tip: We had a king room on the third floor and it was great
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

This was our second stay at this hotel and I was not disappointed. The room was very clean and the bathroom was spotless. I had a smoking room and to my delight it didn't smell like a dirty ashtray. The front desk people were very friendly and helpful. We did not eat the breakfast there but looking in there seemed very good. A lot of choices. Would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, NC
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

The room was reserved by the people I was consulting with in Winston-Salem. Check in was fine, but the lobby had a strange smell. The room was in need to refurbishing and smelled of dirt and old tobacco smoke. Upholstery was badly stained. Luckily the window opened and I left it open all night. Then in the morning someone below was smoking in the bathroom. Had to turn the fan on and leave the bathroom until I could get the smell out which put me behind for the day. Water from the tub faucet was brown and was intermittently hot. Lots of coffee for breakfast, but the hot water for tea was on the top back stand. The water was lukewarm. Needless to say, this hotel has been crossed off the list.

Room Tip: Try another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, NC
Top Contributor
153 reviews 153 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

My husband and I decided to take a weekend getaway to Winston-Salem/Mt. Airy. We had stayed here before and enjoyed it. It is in a great location just off Highway 52, so it was an easy shot up to Mt. Airy. If you have kids it is located very near to SciWorks. There are a lot of shopping areas and restaurants within a short driving distance. That being said, our stay wasn't as pleasant as it had been before. Check-in was very slow as there were a couple of families ahead of us that were trying to get rooms together. The desk clerk was very nice and accommodating, so I wasn't upset about the wait. The room was clean and the bed was pretty comfortable but the noise up and down the hall was very annoying. There were several young people there and they spent the better part of the evening slamming doors and chattering. What really surprised us was that the housekeeping girls were knocking on doors at 9 in the morning...seemed a little early for that to me. I think that we will probably go back to the other Choice Hotel we usually stay at on the next trip.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyattsville, MD
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

My family and I stayed at the Comfort Inn two nights from April 12-14, 2013. We asked for a nonsmoking room but was given a smoking room. The bedspread had a burnt hole in it.
The room was dirty, there was trash on the floor, one of the lights was not working. I expressed my dissatisfaction to the front desk the next morning and told the clerk that the room needed to be vacuumed.
The young lady working the front desk on the morning of April 13, 2013 was very unprofessional. As I was talking to her, she turns and starts holding a conversation with another employee.When we returned that evening, the same trash was on the floor in our room. This is unacceptable. I again informed the front desk when I was checking out and he took $25 off of my bill.
The breakfast area is too small to accommodate the amount of people staying at the hotel.

I informed the hotel of my dissatisfaction and have yet to receive correspondence from the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013

Tristen at the front desk was the only nice thing about this hotel. He did everything he could to try and make up for all the things this hotel was lacking. Rooms were old, AC gave off a sticky feeling, shower temps went hot then cold then hot. Not that the water temp much mattered because the water pressure was almost non-existent. This place actually reminded me of my college days. Again, Tristen was as nice as he could be which is the only reason I am not slamming this hotel with complaints. He is truly a diamond in the rough - with "the rough" being a very accurate description on this Comfort Inn.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 200 Mercantile Drive, University Parkway & Highway 52, Winston Salem, NC 27105
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 36 Hotels in Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Winston Salem
Baymont Inn Winston Salem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.