We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“JIMMY/PHYLLIS 25TH WEDDING ANNIVERSARY” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center

Save Saved
You added Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   420 High Street, Winston Salem, NC 27101   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 39 hotels in Winston Salem
Winston Salem, North Carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“JIMMY/PHYLLIS 25TH WEDDING ANNIVERSARY”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We were very pleased with the services provided by the hotel. We held our 25th Anniversary Celebration here the room we used was decorated to fit the occasion, food was great and the staff were very accomodating and professional with our needs. Would not hestiate to hold another event at the Hawthorne Inn.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

275 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    134
    87
    30
    12
    12
See reviews for
66
25
20
103
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vincent,Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Initially picked the Hawthorn blind out of the AAA travel book. Have not considered any other hotel in the Winston-Salem area since. Hotel is clean, quiet and located in a nice area. Personnel are friendly,helpfull and always willing to of service on any number of areas. The restaurant has a smallish but diverse menu and serves good well prepared food. Food prices are in line with those found in the area. We undoubtably will be back in W-S in the future and plan to stay at the Hawthorn.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. Rooms on the upper floors have a better view and are somewhat larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013 via mobile

Everyone was accmodating and efficient. I was impressed that there was a shuttle to take me to the Biotech Conference Center. Room for improvement in the exercise room. Equipment was not clean and not in good working order.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

My wife and I spent two nights for a test at Wake Forest Baptist Medical Center. I cannot compliment enough the staff we met. The room and bath were spotless and well appointed and included a flat screen TV, free Wi-Fi, refrigerator, microwave, coffee maker with supplies and quality towels. We walked to Old Salem which was great. The hotel transported us to and from the hospital at our conveinence. We could walk to restaurants. In fact our car never moved while we were there. We did eat in the hotel Bistro and it was satisfactory. A free breakfast and newspaper were available which was very nice. Definitely recommend and will return. The pool was closed for renovation but since we did not bring our bathing suits it made no difference.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

We needed a place to crash overnight on our wine tour. We took a chance on this hotel based on recommendations from other Trip Advisor reviewers and were not disappointed! The Hawthorne is convenient to the interstate as well as a ton of places to dine and visit. Our rooms were very clean and spacious. We had a great night's sleep with the temperature settings being just right. The breakfast area was large enough to accommodate the guests while staying well-stocked and clean. One quirk about this little hotel is the front/back dropoff points probably due to space restrictions on the parking lot. When you arrive you enter in the front to check in, but you'll move your vehicle to the back/side to unload your luggage. If you go in the back, you'll find carts just inside the door and an elevator bank there. Luggage is not to be brought through the front, probably due to the bistro traffic.

Room Tip: Ask for a second floor room! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

As an event coordinator for a large agency I have experienced the highs and the lows of facilities. The Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center is an excellant place to hold meetings of up to 100 people. The staff is prompt and courteous, the lodging accommodations are clean and appealling, and the food is exceptional. The sales staff was willing to work with me and it has proven to be a venue for my agency. The best this of all is the consistency, time and time again withour fail our employees have enjoyed The Hawthorne Inn.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

Rooms were very clean and updated along with bathrooms! Bedding is of great quality. Reservation group worked hard to ensure we had rooms early for our daughter's wedding. Hotel staff worked hard to get us a room early in order to get ready for the wedding. Thank you!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center

Address: 420 High Street, Winston Salem, NC 27101
Location: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Winston Salem
#4 Romantic Hotel in Winston Salem
#7 Family Hotel in Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Tingo, Reservation Counter and Venere so you can book your Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorne Hotel Winston Salem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.