We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cordial clean hotel in Winston Salem” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center

Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center to your Saves list
Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   420 High Street, Winston Salem, NC 27101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Winston Salem
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Cordial clean hotel in Winston Salem”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Great hotel that was clean, comfortable and easily situated to get to wake forest baptist medical center via complimentary shuttle. Restaurant was tasty, customer service was excellent. Early in the morning before an interview I had realized I'd forgotten an essential toiletry and the front desk immediately sent me a replacement! I would stay here again if needed.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    88
    32
    12
    12
See reviews for
68
26
20
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
St. Marys, WV
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

Really nice upgraded hotel, clean, quite, and certainly affordable. Centrally located. Very helpful staff. Great continental breakfast. We were there in winter so can't tell you anything about the pool. Will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: The rooms away from I40 are REALLY quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

Excellent and friendly check-in service. One of the best 'free' breakfast offers I have seen. The staff was always smiling and extremely friendly. I plan on using this property again while in Winston Salem. I highly recommend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shreveport
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Only stayed a night at the hotel but had a great stay. It was a great value for the night. Clean, spacious room. They provided a good breakfast in the morning and shuttle to Wake Forest Bapitst. I would definitly stay again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Excellent service!! Free breakfast was very good!! The rooms were nice and beds comfortable. The staff was friendly and helpful. They gave me a great rate because I was going to the hospital the next day. Excellent!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Airy, North Carolina
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

The room was very neat and clean, also roomy. Bathroom counter was a bit small. We stayed on the 6th floor and it was very quiet. I like the fact that we could control our temperature instead of just the 'hi, low' thing. Also very happy that they have a restaurant in the hotel; however, the service left a bit to be desired. There were three large groups of people and only two waiters to take care of everything. Our waiter was in such a hurry that half the time he forgot to ask my husband if he wanted anything else. The food was excellent though and plenty of it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the side that faces Old Salem. It is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Stayed here two nights. Room was clean, comfortable, but a bit dated. Shower water pressure was not up to par. Wifi was good, free breakfast was decent, and the lunch buffet at the Bayberry Bistro really wasn't bad for a hotel restaurant. Also, the location is very good (basically right on the 421 so easy access to anything in Winston-Salem). No problems with noise as we were on the 6th floor.

All in all, a great value as we paid $69 a night with the discounted rate.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center

Address: 420 High Street, Winston Salem, NC 27101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Winston Salem
#6 Romantic Hotel in Winston Salem
#7 Family Hotel in Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorne Hotel Winston Salem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.