We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center

Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center to your Saves list
Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   420 High Street, Winston Salem, NC 27101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Winston Salem
Greenville, North Carolina
2 reviews
“Clean Stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

My stay at the Hawthorne Inn was nice. Very Clean. Quick Check out which was nice. I did have some problems with my room key. I had to go back down to the front desk several times because my room key kept deactivating. That was pretty annoying. Staff was helpful and polite. Hotel linens were below average. Both towels and bed sheets were rough. They have a pretty decent breakfast. Serving hot eggs and ham or sausage plus your typical cereal and pastries/bagels. Also had a waffle maker but I didn't try that out. I didn't like the location that much but did seem to be convenient to downtown. Seemed to be a bit older but they have done a good job at keeping it pretty up to date. They have a nice pool outside but it was cold so I couldnt take advantage of that. Overall its a decent hotel. Hawthorne gets the most points for being clean!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    88
    32
    12
    12
See reviews for
68
26
20
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Johns Creek, Georgia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

When ever I'm in town I choose to stay at the Hawthorne Inn. Why? I found if you book early enough the chain hotels can't beat the price and the location is centralized to everything in Winston Salem. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly to say the least. You can't go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012 via mobile

Good value. Good proximity to wake hospital. Comfortable beds. Excellent service. Cable is iffy... but who cares for the price. Complimentary breakfast! With waffles and eggs... awesome. If u interview at the med center dont bother looking anywhere else.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Park, North Carolina, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

The check-in and check-out was very quick. They are striving to be environmentally friendly. The only negative I had is that they had the toilets set to use little water when flushing. The only problem that created is that it didn't take the paper down when it flushed. I was there on business with several others, we all had the same commit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Great hotel for the rate. It was super clean, and friendly staff went out of their way to help. I was very impressed with how efficient the check-in line was. Would recommend to anyone. Executive suites are large and divided, lots of desk space & legroom. Large bed, decent view. Breakfast was average but fresh.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, North Carolina
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012 via mobile

I stayed one night this past weekend after reading the reviews. Very beautiful hotel with what I would call historical charm. Obviously the building itself is older but at some point has been updated. Rooms were clean and comfortable and the staff were helpful. We ate in the restaurant twice once for lunch and once for breakfast. Lunch was awesome...breakfast in the bayberry rest not so much. Food took 40 min to come and was cold when it came out. But other than that very close to 4th street strip where there are resturants galore and great people watching I would definatley stay again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

We were just stopping for the night on our way to Myrtle Beach. The Hawthorne Inn had good reviews from other travelers and appeared to be close to restaurants, gardens and some historical sites. As it turned out, it was raining so we didn't venture out. The food in the hotel was good but not remarkable. Breakfast was served in a different place and consisted of the typical serve-yourself hotel breakfast food. The rooms was comfortable and modern - very good value. The staff were all extremely friendly and helpful. I'd like to go back when it isn't raining to check out the gardens and historical sites.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center

Address: 420 High Street, Winston Salem, NC 27101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Winston Salem
#6 Romantic Hotel in Winston Salem
#7 Family Hotel in Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorne Hotel Winston Salem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.