We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I Plan to Return” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center

Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center to your Saves list
Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   420 High Street, Winston Salem, NC 27101   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 36 Hotels in Winston Salem
Raleigh
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“I Plan to Return”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2012

I really enjoyed this property and the location. I attended a conference at the hotel this February and had such a wonderful time, I am suggesting it as the location for another planned conference. They were easily able to accommodate our group of 400+ people. I loved having a refrigerator and microwave in every room (at other hotels, this is often a separate charge) and the room rate was very reasonable. The complimentary breakfast included fresh fruit, which again is not a common feature in many hotels. I highly recommend this venue.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    88
    32
    12
    12
See reviews for
68
26
20
106
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
richmond va
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

My son needs special medical help available at Winston Salem Baptist Hospital, we will be coming down at least 8 times in the next year. Our first visit, we stayed at a different hotel and we not impressed. Thank Goodness we found the Hawthorne!! It was clean, the room was nice, the staff was very friendly and helpful, the hot breakfast was delicious, the hotel was secure AND we got a discount because of our affiliation with the hospital.
One of the doctors we needed to see was less than a block away. Although we didn't use it, I understand there is a shuttle to the hospital. An added plus is that it is only a few blocks away from a ton of fun places to eat and shop.
I loved it and plan to return

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

We have been staying at the Hawthorne Inn for nearly 20 years, whenever we visit friends and family in Winston-Salem. The staff are always polite and personable...from check-in to housekeeping to breakfast-room and restaurant to front-desk special request responders...everyone goes out of their way to make life pleasant and comfortable.
The rooms and bathrooms are clean and fully yet efficiently supplied. The complimentary breakfast is the best anywhere, with ample choices appetizingly displayed and protected.
Since our visits to W-S usually extend over several days, we appreciate having a place to stay that feels like home.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the end of the hall - away from the ice maker.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, South Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2012

Absolutely perfect! Very clean, quiet, nicely appointed rooms. Respectful, pleasant, helpful staff. Convienent to everything. Comfy beds. No problems at all. Restaurant very reasonably priced. Have found our favorite hotel in this town.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Collinsville, Virginia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012

Everything at this Inn was excellent, except for the beds. Bedding needs an upgrade. Could take pointers from the Holiday Inn Express. We ended up staying at the Holiday Inn Express the last evening because we had to stay in town one more night due to family member being in hospital. Great location, excellent service, clean, good rate.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dammam, Saudi Arabia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

Such a good experience, though it was short. Just wondering if you could extend the operating hours of the free shuttle to and from the airport.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Jefferson, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2012

The entire staff is very friendly and accommodating. The property is very clean and well kept.

Room Tip: Though pet-friendly, pets are not permitted in suites, so plan accordingly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center

Address: 420 High Street, Winston Salem, NC 27101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Winston Salem
#6 Romantic Hotel in Winston Salem
#7 Family Hotel in Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center 3*
Number of rooms: 145
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hawthorne Hotel Winston Salem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hawthorne Inn and Conference Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.