We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding Hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marriott Winston-Salem

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Marriott Winston-Salem to your Saves list
Marriott Winston-Salem
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   425 North Cherry Street, Winston Salem, NC 27101   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #19 of 36 Hotels in Winston Salem
Martinsville, Virginia
1 review
“Outstanding Hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Have traveled to 23 countries and many of the states here, so have stayed in many hotels. So I was very pleasantly surprised to find this gem so close to home (live in Virginia). I have never been treated so well by hotel staff. Greeted numerous times during my short stay with smiles and genuine care. Anyone traveling to Winston-Salem should definitely consider staying at this hotel just for the customer service, to learn what it truly means.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen P, General Manager at Marriott Winston-Salem, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Our Winston Salem Marriott is proud of the service we provide and we are glad you found us. Please come visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    84
    34
    19
    13
See reviews for
40
27
21
102
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Hickory, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012 via mobile

We just got home from a great weekend of soccer. We stayed here and had a great experience. The staff was awesome! Very friendly. Room was great and comfy beds. It was crowded but you would never know it. Loved the location. We will stay there again!

Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen P, General Manager at Marriott Winston-Salem, responded to this review, October 16, 2012
Our Winston Salem Marriott is about our southern hospitality. You are right, we have been hard at work to ensure our guests receive superior service each and every time. See you next time. And by the way, the rooms upgrades are just around the corner.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

I've stayed at this Marriott many times in the past. It's in a great location downtown, convenient to pretty much anything in the area. I'm pleased to say that the biggest change over the past few years is that the staff has become much better. From the front desk, to the valet, to the restaurant, everyone is pleasant and cheery. It seems the management has made a big effort in staff training, and I would just ask to keep this up. It shows. The rooms are nice but nothing overly "special". I'd suggest room upgrades as the next focus area (but keep the nice pictures of local scenes and history).

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen P, General Manager at Marriott Winston-Salem, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
We work hard to provide great southern hospitality here at the Winston-Salem Marriott and we are so glad you received great service we are known for. It’s a great hotel in a fun city. We hope to see you again real soon.
Warm Regards,
Jen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traveling
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Was here for a convention. I have to say that the staff were all exceedingly friendly and pleasant--from the valet to room service to the front desk. My room was clean and I did get to meet the housekeeper for my room and she was really pleasant as well. This was overall one of the nicest staffs I've met a hotel, especially during a convention which always makes your stay a better one.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen P, General Manager at Marriott Winston-Salem, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Our Winston Salem Marriott is a great hotel for conventions, attached to the convention center; you never have to go outside to get to your meetings unless you want to. We will celebrate with the team the nice compliments about the staff. Hope to see you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

I stayed at the Marriott for just one night. The bar and food at the bar were fair, but the bar was quite nice. I believe I would have rated this property higher, but the fire alarm at 5:30am did not contribute to a good night's sleep! The front desk personnel were good and polite, as was the concierge. The location is great if you have business in downtown W-S, though the restaurant selection in the area was a bit limited. However, the city is looking to improve things and has made some great strides.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen P, General Manager at Marriott Winston-Salem, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
We are glad you enjoyed our Winston Salem Marriott's southern hospitality. It’s something we pride ourselves on and what we are known for. We are sorry the alarm woke you up as that is never a pleasant experience, although I am glad the safety feature is there for your protection. We do hope you come and try us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, West Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

When our beach condo rental agent told us we had to leave our vacation THREE days early due to a hurriane I was heartbroken. I refused to let vacation end so early and I found the Marriott Winston-Salem which was far enough inland that the hurricane would miss us. The hotel is beautiful and located only a few blocks from tons of restaurants, a gym, theatrea and much more. Our hotel room had an issue with the cable not working and the staff immediately moved us to a new room, gave us free breakfast for in the morning and a free $20 movie rental. I love good service! I highly suggest stopping in at the Marriott in Winston-Salem next time you're heading through NC.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen P, General Manager at Marriott Winston-Salem, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Although leaving the beach early is never fun, we are glad you enjoy our city and the Winston Salem Marriott. Our Marriott is at the heart of the city's arts district. We hope to see you next year if you get to visit us again when you are passing through.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loganville, Georgia
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

No hot water. Called front desk and Maintenance came and told me to do the following in the morning:

1. Turn on the sink
2. Turn on the shower
3. Flush the toilet
Let these all run 15-20 minutes and the water should be hot enough for a shower.

Place is a joke.

Room Tip: Stay at Embassy Suites across the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jen P, General Manager at Marriott Winston-Salem, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Our Winston Salem Marriott prides itself in its great attention to detail and we failed for your visit. We are truly sorry for all the issues you had during your stay. I agree, it’s not acceptable and not at all what you should expect from a Marriott. We did identify a problem with our water system and are in the process of fixing it. These types of problems are not common and I do hope you give us another try. Please call me as I would love to make this up to you some way. My number is 336-345-9779.
Jen
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Marriott Winston-Salem? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marriott Winston-Salem

Address: 425 North Cherry Street, Winston Salem, NC 27101
Location: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Marriott Winston-Salem 3.5*
Number of rooms: 315
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Winston-Salem, NC's only full service Marriott Hotel. Conveniently located downtown in the Twin City Quarter. Amenities include 14,000 square feet of flexible meeting space, our signature restaurant, Graze, concierge levels, room service, valet parking, business center, fitness center, glass enclosed indoor pool, in-house audio visual services department and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Marriott Winston-Salem reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Winston-Salem Hotel Winston Salem
Marriott Hotel Winston Salem
Winston Salem Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marriott Winston-Salem, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.