We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home like feeling” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Winston-Salem Downtown West

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Winston-Salem Downtown West to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Winston-Salem Downtown West
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   110 Miller Street, Winston Salem, NC 27103   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #21 of 36 Hotels in Winston Salem
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Home like feeling”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011 via mobile

This hotel is amazing. Excellent service, clean rooms, friendly, etc. I would love to stay here as long as I can. Angel and crew are very awesome helping you with all your need. Very professional staff. I would recommend anybody to stay here. Two thumbs up!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

110 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    32
    18
    6
    10
See reviews for
38
11
13
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2011

The name is a misnomer. I did not have a map of Winston-Salem, so I drove downtown and gave them a call. The staff had no idea how to get from 2nd & Main Streets to the hotel. It turned out to be about 3 miles from downtown, near Wake Forest Hospital.

The hotel itself was very nice (although you can't open the windows), and the room was fully equipped with fridge, microwave and coffee maker. The breakfast buffet left a little to be desired. The scrambled eggs were soggy, and there were only two regular tables--all the rest were low tables next to easy chairs, more like a lounge, than a breakfast room.

For a place to eat nearby, try Buena Vista Grille on Stratford Road, only about 1/3 mile away (you can walk if you're adventurous).

Room Tip: The freeway is on the north side, so the rooms on the south side are probably quieter. I had a nort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dalton, ga
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

Made reservations online requesting adjoining rooms both with double beds. The hotel never got my request and worked hard to accommodate my request on the 2nd and 3rd night of our stay. Staff very nice and helpful. Lobby is nice but the place definitely is worn but very clean (based on four separate rooms that I saw). Apparently most of the guests are there because of the hospital down the block. Conveniently located to restaurants, shops and Old Salem. Breakfast has large selection but typical of every other hotel that serves complimentary breakfast with room.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwenC2, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Winston-Salem Downtown West, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
I would like to thank you for your recent stay with us, and thank you for sharing your kind comments on this site. We strive hard for great service, and yes, Wake Forest Baptist is right across the street, but we cater to all types of travelers!

I am glad you enjoyed breakfast too. We have it all covered, and now we just added pancakes to our buffet line!
Thanks again
Chris Owen
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2011

The staff was efficient and friendly. The breakfast buffet was great. Location superb for visiting the area. The room was very clean. However the Inn was a little warn and could use refreshing of some of the finishes. For the prepaid price of $80.99 per night for a king room, overall a good value.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwenC2, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Winston-Salem Downtown West, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
Skinnona,

Greetings, and thank you for your recent stay with us and thank you for taking the time to express your comments on this site! I am glad to hear you enjoyed yourself and you found our staff to be very hospitable. I truly feel its the people who work here, is what brings the guest back again and again

Thanks again,
Chris Owen
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tennessee
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Stayed here as it is a block away from the hospital which we needed to be close to. Due to the elevator looking a little dated and being creaky, I can assume that it has been around for awhile but our room must have been updated as it was nice and modern and did not show signs of wear. A few places in the hall had some signs of wear but overall the hotel looks very nice. The lobby area where breakfast is served is nice. Breakfast was standard for Holiday Inn Express. Beds very comfortable. No complaints. The best place to stay if you need to be by the hospital.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwenC2, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Winston-Salem Downtown West, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
Greetings again

Your title of your stay with us: I couldn't of said it any better! We are quite proud of our reputation in town, and also have perfect location for people here visiting family/ friends at either Wake Forest Baptist Hospital, or Forsyth Hospital, we have a lot to offer. Guests also love the courtesy shuttle to and from the hospitals as well

Thank you for taking the time to share your comments and thank you for staying with us. We take great pride in the fact that 35% of our guests are repeats. We look forward to seeing you on your next trip to Winston Salem
Chris Owen
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2011 via mobile

I typically stay at Hilton Brand & Marriott brand hotels. My company happened to book this hotel for me & when I saw Holiday Inn on my itinerary I was a bit skeptical. When I arrived at this hotel I was pleasantly surprised. The lobby is very nice, as well as the hallways & rooms. Definitely meets my hotel snob standard!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011

Stayed here for four nights, visiting family. Could not believe that my room wasn't cleaned until the last day of my stay. I DID take the do not disturb sign off my door @ eleven a.m. every morning, only to return to a dirty room at the end of the day. I spoke to front desk numerous times and was assured it was "in the log," but to no avail. I did






Stayed here for four nights, visiting family. My room wasn't cleaned until the last day of my stay?!? I DID take down the "do not disturb" sign @ eleven a.m. every day, only to return to a dirty room every night. The front desk assured me that my complaints were "in the log," but to no avail. I DID try to speak with the GM, Chris Owen, but was told he was on the phone. With the exception of Angela and James(?), who were outstanding, it seemed the rest of the front desk staff needed a refresher course in communication and customer service. A clean room should be a given at any hotel. The fact that I was treated differently, and poorly, at this property suggests a diversity training issue as well. Will never stay here again.






try to speak with GM, Chris Owen, but was told he was on the phone. Angela and James(?) were outstanding, but the rest of your front desk staff, not to mention your housekeeping supervisor, seem to be in urgent need of

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OwenC2, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Winston-Salem Downtown West, responded to this review, November 16, 2011
Greetings!

I was saddened to hear of your review, and sad to hear we let you down. I thank you for your stay with us, and thank you for sharing your comments about your stay with us

We strive to bring great service to all guests, and realize with a 24 hour operation, guests have different needs at different times of the day. I am very sorry if we seemed to not communicate with you more effective manor
Sincerely,
Chris Owen
Hotel General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Winston-Salem Downtown West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Winston-Salem Downtown West

Address: 110 Miller Street, Winston Salem, NC 27103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 36 Hotels in Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Winston-Salem Downtown West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New downtown Winston - Salem hotel boasts excellent facilities Enjoy comfort at our new Holiday Inn Express Winston-Salem Downtown West near Wake Forest University. Our Winston - Salem accommodations will make you feel at home when you travel.Families looking for lodging in downtown Winston - Salem will enjoy staying at our hotel, located just off Business I-40. We offer close proximity to numerous Winston-Salem attractions, so you will always have something fun to do. Nearby sights and activities include shopping at the Hanes Mall, exploring historic Old Salem, SciWorks, the Reynolda House Museum of American Art and Bethabara Park. Business travelers will be impressed by the comfort of our Winston - Salem hotel. Situated downtown near the Benton Convention Center, we are convenient to large companies, including the BB&T headquarters, Krispy Kreme headquarters, Sara Lee, GMAC, Lawrence Joel Coliseum and both Wake Forest University Baptist and Forsyth Medical Centers. Salem Academy, Winston Salem State University and North Carolina School of the Arts are nearby. We offer a 24-hour business center with fax, print and copy services and free high-speed, wireless Internet access.While lodging in our downtown Winston - Salem hotel, enjoy amenities like the outdoor pool, a 24-hour fitness center and complimentary Express Start hot breakfast. Book your reservation now to take advantage of our great Winston - Salem hotel deals and rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Winston-Salem Downtown West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Winston-Salem Downtown West Hotel Winston Salem
Holiday Inn Winston Salem
Winston Salem Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Winston-Salem Downtown West, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.