We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area to your Saves list
Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7835 North Point Boulevard, Winston Salem, NC 27106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #1 of 36 Hotels in Winston Salem
Naperville, Illinois
1 review
“Great breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We love this hotel. Our daughter attends Wake Forest University so we stay here often. My favorite is the free breakfast and “The Breakfast Ladies” They are always there waiting for you with a smile, always wanting to go above and beyond.
Thank you “Breakfast Ladies”

Room Tip: We stayed in the 2 bedroom with my mother in law and it worked great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM2010, General Manager at Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
From the Breakfast Ladies.....We loved having you and can't wait to have you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    39
    7
    3
    7
See reviews for
94
7
5
65
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Gaithersburg, Maryland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

Our stay here was very pleasant, and I look forward to revisiting next time I'm in town. Great value (with our senior discount) for all that was available. Clean, comfortable, well furnished room. Very friendly, gracious, helpful staff. And convenient to nearby commercial area and the university. Easy parking too. Abundant and delicious hot breakfast buffet.

Room Tip: Entrance to the room is outside, so, just for ease of access, I would request a location closest to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM2010, General Manager at Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Thank you! We look forward to you coming back real soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clemmons
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

I had the misfortune of having to recover from left rotator cuff repair shoulder surgery for Thanksgiving this 2013 and was unable to do this at my home. This Residence Inn had absolutely everything I needed. Alicia Perry (Director of Sales & Marketing) was so kind and helped me pick the right room and quietest location on the property. My best friend stayed with me there for 3 weeks postop, where I was in a sling and pretty dependent on her for most of that time. I picked the 2 bedroom, 2 bath suite, 2 story suite (really cool). Full kitchen, granite counter tops, ALL appliances, flat screens in all rooms, great blackout curtains, sliding doors off master bedroom....etc. Very clean, very quiet. The staff was perfect. Always attentive and there for me whenever I needed anything. I never had to wait for anything that I asked for. Heck, the dishwasher broke briefly and Jetta was there within 30 minutes hand washing them for me. Seriously. Kenny was just as nice when he came to repair it. I could always depend on Austin and Brittany at the front desk to cheer me up when I was wandering around the lobby in my PJ's for a little walk. I know I am probably forgetting to mention someone, let's just say that everyone there took care of me and helped me get well. Great place to stay!

Room Tip: My room number was 924, on the very back of the property, very private and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM2010, General Manager at Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Kelly,

We are very glad you decided to stay with us during such an unsettling time. All of us are aware that the best place to recover is in the comforts of your home and hopefully we are a close second! We are just pleased that we had the opportunity to meet with you and connect on a personal level.

Please keep us posted on your progress and stop in the next time you are in the area!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christiansburg, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2013

What a great place! Clean, safe, and friendly. The room was a nice size. There was even a bag of complementary microwave popcorn. Those Breakfast Ladies were great - they filed our tummies and enriched our souls. I highly recommend this property!

Room Tip: We loved the room on the lower floor. Very quiet and easily accessible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM2010, General Manager at Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
On behalf of the entire Hotel (specifically the "Breakfast Ladies") THANK YOU!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Cheery smiles and pleasant conversation welcome me each morning from Betty, Wanda, and Theresa, the "breakfast ladies".
My husband and I have been guests since October and we really appreciate the wonderful breakfast items, but more than that the excellent service at all levels in this hotel.
Brittany, at the front desk, provides excellent service, no matter what I need.
We are going home for the holidays, but will return in January.
Caroline

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM2010, General Manager at Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area, responded to this review, January 30, 2014
Caroline,

Thank you so much for the kind words. We greatly appreciate your loyalty and are so glad you are back with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiken, South Carolina
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel recently on a visit to Wake Forest University's Law School. It is ideally located less than 2 miles from the main entrance to the university. We were upgraded to a nice two level unit and found the staff to be very helpful and accommodating. Breakfast the next morning was plentiful and we would stay at this facility again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM2010, General Manager at Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you very much for the positive remarks. Good luck with the Law School selection process and don't hesitate to let us know if you need to head up for a second look at the University!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Rocks Beach
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Starting from Bianca with her smile and making us feel welcome. Always finding a room for us when the city is sold out. Homemade blueberry muffins with the food staff who are so nice too! Will always stay there. Thanks for the Great Hospitality!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AGM2010, General Manager at Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area, responded to this review, December 11, 2013
Thank you so much for your loyalty and you taking the time to recognize Bianca and the Breakfast Ladies.....They each exemplify what true “Southern Hospitality” is all about and promise big smiles and warm muffins upon your return!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area

Address: 7835 North Point Boulevard, Winston Salem, NC 27106
Location: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Winston Salem
#3 Family Hotel in Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes away from Wake Forest University, WSSU, and downtown Winston-Salem, the Residence Inn Winston-Salem hotel’s also near local businesses like Hanes Brands, AON, Reynolds American, Pepsi, and BB&T. Our Winston-Salem Marriott hotel’s suites offer a fully equipped kitchen as well as spacious living and sleeping areas, which include our new luxurious bedding that will rival the coziness of your own bed. Start your day with our complimentary hot buffet breakfast in our Winston-Salem hotel’s gatehouse. Also located in our Residence Inn Winston-Salem gatehouse are our meeting room, fitness center, and business center. Have your own computer? Our Winston-Salem Marriott provides free wireless Internet throughout the hotel. Take advantage of our Winston-Salem hotel’s pool, heated spa, sport court, and complimentary use of the local YMCA to melt tensions away. End your day with our Residence Inn Winston-Salem Marriott complimentary evening social or a late night snack from our market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Winston-Salem Hotel Winston Salem
Winston Salem Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.