We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area to your Saves list
Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7835 North Point Boulevard, Winston Salem, NC 27106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Up To 25,000 Points
Ranked #1 of 39 Hotels in Winston Salem
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

I stayed here with my tennis team. We rented three of the 2 bedroom, 2 bath suites and everything was great! There was more than enough room to spread out and visit. Having a full sized refrigerator and kitchen was amazing. Everything was clean and the breakfast was more than adequate with changing hot food selections each morning. Our only disappointment was that the property advertises that it has a tennis court and that is why we decided to stay there,. However, it has a "sport court" that is not usable for tennis, except perhaps for children with small sized racquets. This should have been made clear in the description.

The location of the property was great and it was easy to get everywhere in Winston-Salem. The front desk staff was very helpful in providing directions. This is definitely a great place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zac_Middleton, General Manager at Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on Trip Advisor. I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and our staff took exceptional care of you. I must say that I completely agree with your comments regarding the Sport Court. It is a great amenity to the hotel but not a full size tennis court. Due to your feedback I am going to ensure that we get the verbiage updated on the website to better describe the multi-use sport court.

Your group was a lot of fun and we look forward to hosting you for the next tournament.

Zac Middleton
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    153
    39
    7
    3
    7
See reviews for
92
7
4
64
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

This is one of the best hotels i've stayed in. From the time i made reservations to my visit everything was taken care of. The rooms were large and clean. Good breakfast, and the employes were great. Would like to thank Wanda, Betty, and Tharasa for there help and kindness. Job well done

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

Our family stayed here for nine days at the beginning of June. We researched many hotels in the area as we had a family member participating at an event at Wake Forest University and wanted to be relatively close to the school. We had read many reviews from Trip Advisor and found them to be spot on for what we were looking for. We stayed in the two floor unit with a bathroom on each level, three TV sets, and a king bed, queen bed, sofa bed and full kitchen. The staff was exceptional helping us with any need that we had. The breakfast buffet is wonderful and there are food choices for even the pickiest eater. Wanda, Betty and Theresa made breakfast very enjoyable. We felt like we had known them forever. They treat all the guests like family and attend to their every need. They actually became our family away from home. They are angels in disguise and we will miss them greatly when we have to go home. Also, Austin who is a manager was very helpful and did a wonderful job of accommodating us. We would highly recommend the Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area for your travel needs and we would stay here again if we would return.

Room Tip: The rooms on the back side of the hotel are very quiet. Although the hotel sits on a busy road, you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scott Depot, West Virginia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

We decided to stay here initially due to the nice basketball court the reservation agent found for us when we requested she filter hotels by that. This was our second stay here, & in the year between stays they renovated their already nice & very spacious rooms into GORGEOUS, well decorated, modern hotel rooms packed with amenities. We had a 2 story room with a queen & bath upstairs, king bedroom & bath downstairs, with living room, sofa bed, kitchen. Three very large flat screen TVs. Awesome sports court, outdoor pool, huge hot breakfast, hot cookies at desk. Austin greeted us & was incredibly friendly & helpful during our stay. We will most definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The staff at the hotel was exceptional. The breakfast buffet was amazing and had everything you would want for breakfast. The breakfast staff, Betty, Wanda, and Theresa were friendly and kept everything well stocked and cleaned. The rooms, lobby and dining area were so clean. Everything was awesome. We were extremely happy with our stay and we would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

The women who staffed the breakfast room, Betty, Wanda, and Theresa, were fabulous. They offered help when it was obvious that I was taking food back to my room for my still sleeping family. Extremely thoughtful. Supreme service!!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indian Harbour Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

This is the second week-long stay at this property. During our first visit, they were renovating, but they went out of their way to ensure we had a newer room and limited exposure to any noise or construction. All of the buildings and rooms were done this time and the property was very nice. We enjoyed comfortable beds, new appliances, strong internet and plenty of outlets and lamps with built-in outlets throughout the room. What stands out about this location is the exceptional customer service that is demonstrated consistently and sincerely. They truly care about you and your stay. During our visit they also debuted their elevator to the breakfast area. Our family was the first one to try it out. Kuddos for accessibility. When in the area, this will be my first choice.

Room Tip: Inside courtyard rooms are convenient to the basketball/tennis court.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area

Address: 7835 North Point Boulevard, Winston Salem, NC 27106
Location: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Winston Salem
#3 Family Hotel in Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes away from Wake Forest University, WSSU, and downtown Winston-Salem, the Residence Inn Winston-Salem hotel’s also near local businesses like Hanes Brands, AON, Reynolds American, Pepsi, and BB&T. Our Winston-Salem Marriott hotel’s suites offer a fully equipped kitchen as well as spacious living and sleeping areas, which include our new luxurious bedding that will rival the coziness of your own bed. Start your day with our complimentary hot buffet breakfast in our Winston-Salem hotel’s gatehouse. Also located in our Residence Inn Winston-Salem gatehouse are our meeting room, fitness center, and business center. Have your own computer? Our Winston-Salem Marriott provides free wireless Internet throughout the hotel. Take advantage of our Winston-Salem hotel’s pool, heated spa, sport court, and complimentary use of the local YMCA to melt tensions away. End your day with our Residence Inn Winston-Salem Marriott complimentary evening social or a late night snack from our market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Winston-Salem Hotel Winston Salem
Winston Salem Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.