We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I don't know why I never thought of this!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area to your Saves list
Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7835 North Point Boulevard, Winston Salem, NC 27106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Winston Salem
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Delaware, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“I don't know why I never thought of this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

For some reason, I have always equated the Residence Inns as long term stay places. (which they are!) But I never gave a whole lot of though about using it as a stopping place for over night. You see, we travel with teens. They will not, nor will I ask them to share a bed. That leads us to having to book separate rooms to make sure everyone is comfortable. Imagine how very please I was (and the kids) to walk into the room and find it to be a small apartment. We were blown away by how comfortable, clean and efficient the place was. The people who work there were so genuinely kind to us. We didn't lack for service in any way. We go to South Carolina every year. This WILL be our stopping point going forward. Where else are you going to get anything like this that is clean and comfortable for arount $150.00. We have been getting seaparate rooms that have cost us that much each!

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues, it would be good to request a lower suite so you don't have to clim...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    42
    10
    3
    8
See reviews for
103
12
5
68
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012

I've stayed here twice, in 2011 and 2012. The hotel is being worked on, and some of the rooms are not rentable. The biggest problem is parking; the construction crew has appropriated at least 1/3 of the spots! But the rooms are nice, and the hotel is being upgraded.

The rooms are your standard Residence Inn design; all the rooms are one large suite, no doors. Each room I've seen has a desk with Lamp and chair, a sofa bed, a coffee table, a king bed, a full kitchen with table and three chairs, a TV (Not HD) on a chest of drawers, two large closets, an ensuite sink and dressing area, and a medium-sized, separate bathroom for the toilet and shower (I like to call these "Water Closets"). The W/C has lots of good lighting, exhaust, and a heat lamp, but just one towel rack and NO shelves! Shelves would be handy in keeping my toiletries away from my two-year-olds.

Honestly, the room last year was a little dingy, and it's obvious that they've upgraded a lot. Still, it's an R.I. with lots of foot traffic. The handle to our terrace was half snapped off, there's some extra caulk around the bathroom because to cover settliing cracks, but it really looks like they're trying to keep the place up.

They appear to be upgrading the terraces, which exist on every room, with Trex flooring and railings. I think the terraces are great, very secure, but no seating out there.

I notice that they'll shop for you, so if you are here a while on business that might work for you. The full-size kitchen (Fridge, microwave, Oven and DW) is really great with two kids.

This is a completely non-smoking hotel.

I like it. I'd stay here again. It's roomy, the staff is friendly and helpful, and they have WiFi.

Breakfast included. Nothing to write home about, but the scrambled eggs were good, and the food was fresh. All the usual carbs: Waffles, bagels, muffins, cereal, oatmeal, bananas, as well as apples, yogurt, and some really rubbery sausage. But mostly good food.

Room Tip: Near Wake Forest University and lots of shopping. Near Pepsico and Sara Lee HQs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dana Point, California, United States
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Recently spent two weeks at this hotel and was completly disappointed.
The hotel is undergoing major renovation, but that doesn't account for the filthy conditions and poor property management. The property is not well maintained, the hot tub doesn't work, the in room movies don't work. Managment doesn't return calls to guests. The room was FILTHY with spiders everywhere. I had an upper unit (621) with a patio that was so rotted and dirty and covered with spiders that I'm surprised no one has been hurt.
Then to top it off housekeeping apparently stole my girl friends jewlery out of her jewlery box. It was all cosmetic jewlery, but still stealing from guests should never happen.
I would not receommend this hotel to anyone, and I hope that Marriott corporate can get involved to either discontinue affiliation or somehow make this hotel come up to Marriott Residence Inn standards.

Room Tip: Stay away from this place..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgeville, South Carolina
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

We stayed at this Residence Inn recently and we were thoroughly disappointed. The hotel room wasn't clean, there were spider webs (with spiders). I expressed my disappointment but I was told it was being rennovated and unfortunately all guests can't get one of the rennovated room so BEWARE. The pictures shown were definitely not the unit we stayed in and the nightly rate didn't reflect a sub standard room.

This hotel didn't not live up to my expectations of a Residence Inn.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012

My wife & I recently stayed at the Mariott Residence Inn in Winston-Salem, N.C. This hotel was perfdect for us during our stay. WEe were checked in by Brittany, who was very helpful & friendly to us. Actually, all of the staff we encountered were efficent, friendly & helpful. Our room was a little dated, but was perfect for our 5 day/4 night stay. We used the hotel as a base from which to visit all of our local destinations. My Mother & sister also had a room there and were more than pleased with the accomodations. Our room had a "mini-kitchen" as well as a desk/counter and a sofa with a fold-out bed. We would definately stay here again.
p.s.: the breakfasts and socials were great!!

Room Tip: If you are handicapped or traveling with an elderly or handicapped person, the rooms in the southeas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lorain, OH
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

We stayed four nights. The staff was friendly and the free breakfast was sufficient. It was in a good location close to the coliseum, shopping centers and grocery stores. I'm very finicky about a clean bathroom and kitchen and ours was up to par. Unfortunately, a friend who also stayed there at the same time had a bathroom where the tile was buckling in the shower. I'd stay again.

Room Tip: Studios on the second floor are quieter and the bathrooms are in better shape.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

I have made several business trips to North Carolina and have found the Residence Inn is the most friendly staff and clean accomodations. The grounds are maintained with great amenities. Austin (front desk) is helpful and friendly. Cynthia (evening reception) welcomed me after a long day at work and makes me feel at home. Betty and Theresa do a great job at breakfast and are also very friendly. Brittany and Janelle are very accomodating and want to make sure my stay is enjoyable.

Helps me to feel like I am at home!
thanks
Marie Newcom

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area

Address: 7835 North Point Boulevard, Winston Salem, NC 27106
Location: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Winston Salem
#4 Family Hotel in Winston Salem
#8 Romantic Hotel in Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area 3*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just minutes away from Wake Forest University, WSSU, and downtown Winston-Salem, the Residence Inn Winston-Salem hotel’s also near local businesses like Hanes Brands, AON, Reynolds American, Pepsi, and BB&T. Our Winston-Salem Marriott hotel’s suites offer a fully equipped kitchen as well as spacious living and sleeping areas, which include our new luxurious bedding that will rival the coziness of your own bed. Start your day with our complimentary hot buffet breakfast in our Winston-Salem hotel’s gatehouse. Also located in our Residence Inn Winston-Salem gatehouse are our meeting room, fitness center, and business center. Have your own computer? Our Winston-Salem Marriott provides free wireless Internet throughout the hotel. Take advantage of our Winston-Salem hotel’s pool, heated spa, sport court, and complimentary use of the local YMCA to melt tensions away. End your day with our Residence Inn Winston-Salem Marriott complimentary evening social or a late night snack from our market. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Marriott, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Winston-Salem Hotel Winston Salem
Winston Salem Residence Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Residence Inn Winston-Salem University Area, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.