We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great low priced hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sleep Inn Hanes Mall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sleep Inn Hanes Mall to your Saves list
Sleep Inn Hanes Mall
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1985 Hampton Inn Court, Winston Salem, NC 27103   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #13 of 36 Hotels in Winston Salem
Charlotte, NC
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great low priced hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

This place is really a hidden gem, first of all the price is very low cost. I was surprised to see that my room as very clean and the hotel looked as if it had been recently modeled, complete with new paint, shower, and carpeting. The hotel is right off interstate 40 and near restaurants and delivery is available from a few places, so you do not have to worry about finding a decent place to eat. The staff were very friendly and helpful. I had an issue with their provided printer and the check in person printed off my directions without hesitation. The free breakfast was decent also. Do not spend alot of money in Winston Salem, stay here for less than 90 dollars a night!

Room Tip: Book earlier and if you want a quieter room as for one on the side facing the other hotels.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    34
    14
    5
    2
See reviews for
27
17
8
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cincinnati, Ohio
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Myself and wife stayed one night at the Sleep Inn- Hanes Mall in Winston-Salem the night of 9/22/2012. I am also a gold member with Choice Hotels, and this particular stay on a Saturday night was probably our most disappointing with Choice Hotels. Our room was clean and well equipped, but evidently a room or rooms across from our room (112) conducted an all night party. We were able to sleep most of the night, but in the morning when we came out, we witnessed human throw up on the carpet at the entry way for the room across from ours. This particular Sleep Inn may be better suited for quests on week days, but it may be a haven for party goers on weekends.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

I stayed at the Sleep Inn last year for a convention and had a great experience, but nothing over the top. I was back in Winston-Salem again this year for a convention and initially wanted to stay at the Sleep Inn, but unfortunately they were booked, so I made reservations at another hotel. When I arrived, the other hotel was in a bad neighborhood, I was given a smoking room when I asked for non-smoking, and my room was infested with ants and a few spiders. I complained to that hotel's management, but they were less than enthusiastic about killing the ants or treating the room to get the smoke out.

Desperate, I called the Sleep Inn to see if they had any last-minute cancellations, and Tim answered the phone. He was patient as I explained my situation, and sympathetic to my problems. He had actually just had a cancellation, and there was a room available. However, I didn't couldn't immediately book the room, but Tim was willing to hold the room for me under his name, and he gave me detailed directions to get from the awful side of town I was on and to the Sleep Inn. It was late, but when I got there, Tim was on the lookout, waiting for me when I walked through the doors, and it was the smoothest check-in without a reservation that I have ever had. I even had to go back out to the store, and he again gave clear directions to a store that would still be open. And though it was late, the hotel was full, so Tim had plenty to do and people pulling him in different directions, but he was still patient and quick to respond to everyone.

The next morning, I was surprised to see Tim still there, thinking that a morning crew would come in and be at the front desk. But he was there, just as calm and helpful as he had been the evening before. In addition to keeping an eye on the breakfast area, he also had a stack of directions on the counter (in English and Spanish!) from the hotel to the place where we were having our convention. That's exactly what I needed-- I had directions from my old hotel, but not the Sleep Inn. Though many would have that covered, there were several like me who needed that extra help.

The Sleep Inn is a great, clean hotel. The continental breakfast is good and they keep food stocked. The beds are incredibly soft and there are plenty of soft pillows on the beds. For the price, it's probably the best sleep you'll have outside of your own bed. Though the bathroom and shower is a little small, the fridge and microwave in every room (rather than having to ask for it) has enough space and gives you everything you need. As I said initially, I liked the Sleep Inn last year anyway, and I would have rated it as "Very Good." But because of Tim's great help and personal service this year, this hotel gets an "Excellent." I was there for three nights, and each time I saw him, there was a good mix of courteous small talk and business, i.e. making sure I didn't need anything and ensuring my stay was the best one possible. Sleep Inn: keep Tim around, give him what he wants, let him show others a thing or two, and you'll continue having a loyal customer in this traveler each year.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Airy, North Carolina
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

We had a group of construction guys in several rooms around us. They were loud, rude, and carried on until well after midnight. We complained to the front desk, things got quiet for about 15 minutes, and the noise started again.
The room was not very clean, many stains on the comforters and floor, and very dusty. Bathroom was very clean but shower is tiny. Also not enough shelf space for shampoo, conditioner, body wash, razor, etc.
Sorry, but won't stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tennessee, United States
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

we were passing thru and decided to try this place out, wow!! so clean and well maintained and very quiet considering close to interstate and the breakfast the next morning was as good as I have ever had in a hotel. very good experience and next time we are on I40 in this area will for sure look this place up again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

Stayed at this hotel was very clean, staff was also very nice. I will always stay at this hotel when ever I'll visit WInston Salem. If I can get the same service staying at this Sleep Inn which I get at the other expensive hotel why would I not stay here. You get your bang for your buck.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerville, Ohio, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2012

My wife and I stayed here on our way back from a beach vacation. Looks to be recently updated, and we got a great price!!

Quiet place behind the main drag of a mall. We checked in late, but seems like there is a lot to do if you come in town earlier.

Room Tip: Seems like they might all be updated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sleep Inn Hanes Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sleep Inn Hanes Mall

Address: 1985 Hampton Inn Court, Winston Salem, NC 27103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Winston Salem
#9 Business Hotel in Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Sleep Inn Hanes Mall 2*
Number of rooms: 73
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Sleep Inn Hanes Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sleep Inn Hanes Mall Hotel Winston Salem
Sleep Inn Winston Salem
Winston Salem Sleep Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sleep Inn Hanes Mall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.