We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Winston Salem/ Hanes Mall

Save Saved
You added Comfort Suites Winston Salem/ Hanes Mall to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Comfort Suites Winston Salem/ Hanes Mall
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Capitol Lodging Court, Winston Salem, NC 27103   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #15 of 39 hotels in Winston Salem
Hickory, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stayed at this hotel while on a business trip. I arrived at 10 pm to a shower full of hair and a toilet seat with dried urine spots on it. The air conditioner was not working properly and the roomI was extremely hot all night.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicrotelWS, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Winston Salem/ Hanes Mall, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Without knowing all of the details it's difficult for me to research. I apologize for our oversight on the cleanliness. Over all this is not a ongoing issue at this property. I understand that doesn't change how your stay was, but I am lead to believe that someone made and error in checking you in to that room that should have been listed as a dirty room.

Regarding the temperature the black out curtains do have a challenging design. When they are pulled closed with the sheers it can create a tunnel. The air can get stuck between the window and the curtain and doesn't blow in to the room. A simple manual adjustment of the curtains corrects the issue so that the air will blow in to the room instead up in to the window.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    29
    8
    4
    7
See reviews for
35
17
5
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tennessee
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This hotel looks very nice on the exterior; however, the maintenance leaves something to be desired. The lobby floor was even dirty. The evening reception was a disappointment as all the food was gone after thirty minutes. Having a glass of wine was nice, but the food does not get replenished. Our room had numerous maintenance issues which we reported upon leaving. The faucet in the bathroom was hard to operate, the phone was not working, the lock on the door was loose, and the sofa had seen better days. This is our first bad experience at Comfort Suites, but we will think twice about staying at another one anytime soon. I will say that the staff was gracious and tried to be helpful; no complaints there. The breakfast was more like a budget hotel, but it was adequate to give you a start to the day. The location is fantastic, but there are many other hotels in this area which may have more to offer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicrotelWS, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Winston Salem/ Hanes Mall, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
I apologize that you encountered so many challenges during your stay. We rely heavily on the feedback of our guests especially when it comes to maintenance issues. Thank you for sharing that information with our staff so that the issues could be corrected. We have recently installed a boot scrap at the entrance of the property to assist with the mud traffic that is brought in by the work crews. We make every effort to be properly prepared for our guest reception. Items are restocked through out the hour event however, it appears on this date we failed to calculate the demand and simply ran out of the food items.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharpsburg, Georgia
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

We have stayed in many properties in the Choice Hotel chain. This property offered the WORST BREAKFAST in any hotel that I have ever stayed. Yes, there are make your own waffles-the only hot item offered for breakfast. Oh, they did offer prepackaged biscuit sandwiches and prepackaged pancake sandwiches that you had to put in the microwave. They offered prepackaged hard boiled eggs (2 to a pack). The yogurt was an off brand. I had a bagel and piece of pastry. Overall, a very disappointing breakfast considering this is a Comfort SUITES it did not meet expectations of what other similar properties offer. Breakfast was also cut off at 9A; not 9:30A. This hotel offers a free customer appreciation hour 3 midweek nights each week from 5P-6P. The night we arrived it included cold beer on tap (which tasted great after a long day's drive), wine in a carafe, chicken fried rice, egg rolls, and cake. In my opinion, this happy hour should be eliminated the money put towards bringing the breakfast up to chain standards.
The hotel itself was clean and is centrally located with many restaurants and stores closeby. Historic Salem Village is about a 10 minute drive from here as is downtown Winston-Salem.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicrotelWS, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Winston Salem/ Hanes Mall, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
As of May 2013 this location offers a hot breakfast 6am-9am Monday-Friday and 7am-10am Saturday and Sundays. For individuals leaving before 6am grab bags are available which include a breakfast bar, bottle of water, and a piece of fruit. Please see the front desk for more information.

Our guest reception is offered Monday-Wednesday evenings from 5:30pm-6:30pm
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Clean recently remodeled rooms with a two queen and foldout couch suite for $89 pretax on a Sat night. The usual small workout room and breakfast bar. Perfect for a soccer tournament hotel. Well located too, with a lot of restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite with a foldout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicrotelWS, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Winston Salem/ Hanes Mall, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Our hotel offers 80 spacious suites. All but our 8 Jacuzzi suites are equipped with a sofa sleeper. 38 of the rooms offer 2 queen beds and the sofa bed. Perfect for a family or a sports team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, Virginia, United States
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Comfort Suites (NOT to be confused with Comfort INN & Suites) always pleases!! Great comfy room, flat screen, nice lobby and hallways. Afternoon desk staff gave me an extra nice room due to frequent guest status. (Aren't they all supposed to do that?)

This chain is a rare one that is ALWAYS good in its price range! Not quite an HI or Marriott, but plenty good unless you really want the extras!! EXCELLENT value!!!!

Breakfast was good, but not among the best in this class of hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicrotelWS, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Winston Salem/ Hanes Mall, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Thank you for pointing out that Comfort Suites is not the same as Comfort Inn or Comfort Inn & Suites. All three brands fall under Choice Hotels, however each offers different amenities. Please visit www.choicehotels.com to compare brands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southwest Virginia
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
360 helpful votes 360 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I stayed at this Comfort Suites while traveling for the Thanksgiving weekend. I made my reservations through the Choice Hotels Website. Upon arrival I was greeted by a very nice and professional front desk clerk who very quickly checked me in. I found my room to be very clean and well furnished. The large king bed was very comfortable and well made. The room also had a small work table and office chair, along with small sofa, microwave and Refrigerator. The wireless internet worked great during my stay. The breakfast area features the usual pastries, cereal, muffins and waffles, along with juice and coffee. It was well attended throughout the advertised time This hotel is located very close to busy Hanes Mall and traffic in the area was very heavy due to Holiday Shopping. It is also a little difficult to find ever with a GPS, as it is hidden behind another hotel. There are plenty of restaurants in easy walking and/or driving distance including an Outback Steak House located adjacent to this hotel. Over all this is a fantastic hotel with a very good rate. All of the employees were very nice and professional and if I have the opportunity I will stay here again and recommend it to other travelers in the Winston-Salem area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicrotelWS, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Winston Salem/ Hanes Mall, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
We often use Outback Steakhouse restaurant or the Microtel Inn by Wyndham hotel as our landmarks as we share a parking lot. The way the freeway is situated you travel a different way based on if you are travelling East or West on the Interstate. If travelling West on I-40 the exit is 190 Hanes Mall. If travelling East on I-40 the exit is 189 Stratford Road.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed overnight to attend WSSU homecoming game. Our room had the jacuzzi tub and fireplace which actually worked this time. The hotel's location is great. Their breakfast wasn't great; regular continental; so we opted to eat out. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay again when we come back to town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicrotelWS, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Winston Salem/ Hanes Mall, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
If it's been a while since you have stayed at Comfort Suites Hanes Mall, I encourage you to come back and see our new look and check out our hot breakfast. Still offering spacious suites, great location, friendly staff, and competitive pricing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Comfort Suites Winston Salem/ Hanes Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Winston Salem/ Hanes Mall

Address: 200 Capitol Lodging Court, Winston Salem, NC 27103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 39 hotels in Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Winston Salem/ Hanes Mall 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests will find our family friendly hotel conveniently located just off Interstate 40 and right across the street from the Hanes Mall. Enjoy easy access to shops, museums, historic buildings and prestigious universities. Our Winston-Salem hotel is easily accessible to downtown Winston-Salem and the Piedmont Triad International Airport. For travelers on their way to the coastal resort city of Myrtle Beach, the Comfort Suites Winston-Salem is the perfect destination for an overnight stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Tingo, HotelsClick, Priceline, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Comfort Suites Winston Salem/ Hanes Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Winston Salem/ Hanes Mall Hotel Winston Salem
Winston Salem Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Winston Salem/ Hanes Mall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.