We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Rate and Very Clean” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Suites Winston Salem/ Hanes Mall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Suites Winston Salem/ Hanes Mall to your Saves list
Comfort Suites Winston Salem/ Hanes Mall
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   200 Capitol Lodging Court, Winston Salem, NC 27103   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #17 of 36 Hotels in Winston Salem
Southwest Virginia
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 85 cities Reviews in 85 cities
366 helpful votes 366 helpful votes
“Great Rate and Very Clean”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

I stayed at this Comfort Suites while traveling for the Thanksgiving weekend. I made my reservations through the Choice Hotels Website. Upon arrival I was greeted by a very nice and professional front desk clerk who very quickly checked me in. I found my room to be very clean and well furnished. The large king bed was very comfortable and well made. The room also had a small work table and office chair, along with small sofa, microwave and Refrigerator. The wireless internet worked great during my stay. The breakfast area features the usual pastries, cereal, muffins and waffles, along with juice and coffee. It was well attended throughout the advertised time This hotel is located very close to busy Hanes Mall and traffic in the area was very heavy due to Holiday Shopping. It is also a little difficult to find ever with a GPS, as it is hidden behind another hotel. There are plenty of restaurants in easy walking and/or driving distance including an Outback Steak House located adjacent to this hotel. Over all this is a fantastic hotel with a very good rate. All of the employees were very nice and professional and if I have the opportunity I will stay here again and recommend it to other travelers in the Winston-Salem area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicrotelWS, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Winston Salem/ Hanes Mall, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
We often use Outback Steakhouse restaurant or the Microtel Inn by Wyndham hotel as our landmarks as we share a parking lot. The way the freeway is situated you travel a different way based on if you are travelling East or West on the Interstate. If travelling West on I-40 the exit is 190 Hanes Mall. If travelling East on I-40 the exit is 189 Stratford Road.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    33
    12
    5
    7
See reviews for
41
21
5
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

Stayed overnight to attend WSSU homecoming game. Our room had the jacuzzi tub and fireplace which actually worked this time. The hotel's location is great. Their breakfast wasn't great; regular continental; so we opted to eat out. We enjoyed our stay and would definitely stay again when we come back to town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicrotelWS, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Winston Salem/ Hanes Mall, responded to this review, October 2, 2013
If it's been a while since you have stayed at Comfort Suites Hanes Mall, I encourage you to come back and see our new look and check out our hot breakfast. Still offering spacious suites, great location, friendly staff, and competitive pricing.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenn
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2012

Stayed there for 3 nights. Very pleased with the room, the service and the location. Breakfast is nothing special, but your not staying at a Crown Plaza, this is a continental breakfast at a Comfort Inn. There are too many restaurants close by to even begin to mention names. If you can't find a place to eat dinner with in a 10 minute drive, your too picky. I have NO problems with the internet and we were on the 3rd floor. Not sure what problems other people had with slow internet.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicrotelWS, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Winston Salem/ Hanes Mall, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
The hotel shares a parking lot with Outback Steakhouse. In addition our location does offer access to over 50 restaurants within a 5 mile radius. Some of the restaurants include Olive Garden, Texas Roadhouse, Chili’s, Applebee’s, Macaroni Grill, Burger King, McDonalds, Genghis Grill, Chick Fila, Wich Wich, Lonestar, Cheddar's, Nacho Daddy's, and Oriental Café.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenoir City, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Ive stayed several times the last few months at this hotel. The staff does a good job. The rooms are clean. Breakfast is just okay. No hot items, except waffles that you can make. The internet service is JUST AWEFUL. Ive not been able to keep a signal long enough to do anything. I dont know what people there on business would do.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicrotelWS, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Winston Salem/ Hanes Mall, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
Our internet was upgraded several months ago and seems to have corrected any previous issues guest encountered. Also in May 2013 we started offering a hot breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Stayed here for two nights in mid-Aug, 2012. Got a really good rate using AAA membership. Room was very nice, clean and quiet at night. Nice outdoor pool, great (free) breakfast and courteous folks at the desk. Wifi signal was a little weak in the 2nd floor room.
Would definitely return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicrotelWS, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Winston Salem/ Hanes Mall, responded to this review, June 20, 2013
We do accept AAA for individuals that are active AAA members. Please advise hotel staff at time of booking that you are an AAA member. Also have card present at check in. Please inquire with the hotel for other discounts and promotions that are available.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, SC
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I stayed at this property Sunday August 12th through Wednesday August 15th. I arrived Sunday evening around 8:30. The hotel is convenient to the highway, and to numerous restaurants and retail options. The parking lot was well lit and felt safe. A family seemed to be enjoying the swimming pool. Check in took less than a minute. My room was spacious with a nice King size bed, ample closet space, a nice work area, a separate sitting area, coffe/ tea service, microwave and refrigerator. The bathroom was large, clean and well lit. (The hair dryer was very weak). The A/C had been left off so the room was quite hot upon arrival and took an hour or so to cool to a comfortable temperature. The TV (a large flat screen) was nice but the hotel cable system must not be HD as the TV picture was poor. The room was cleaned daily and fresh towels and toiletries were provided.
The breakfast buffet included a nice selection of cereals, fruits, pastry's, yogurts, juices, and several "cooked" options...microwavable biscuits, etc. They even have a make your own waffle station. The fitness center has several cardio machines, (eliptical trainers, and treadmills).
Auto-checkout worked fine. Overall I was satisfied with this property and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicrotelWS, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Winston Salem/ Hanes Mall, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Additional to everything that was said we offer a guest reception Monday-Wednesday evenings 5:30-6:30, dry cleaning services, meeting space, and a hot breakfast Monday-Friday 6am-9am and Saturday-Sunday 7am-10am.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lynchburg, Virginia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

The room was very spacious and clean. The breakfast was sufficient but nothing incredible.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MicrotelWS, Director of Sales at Comfort Suites Winston Salem/ Hanes Mall, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Our rooms average 384 sqft. This is 84 sqft more than a standard hotel room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Suites Winston Salem/ Hanes Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Suites Winston Salem/ Hanes Mall

Address: 200 Capitol Lodging Court, Winston Salem, NC 27103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 36 Hotels in Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Suites Winston Salem/ Hanes Mall 2.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Guests will find our family friendly hotel conveniently located just off Interstate 40 and right across the street from the Hanes Mall. Enjoy easy access to shops, museums, historic buildings and prestigious universities. Our Winston-Salem hotel is easily accessible to downtown Winston-Salem and the Piedmont Triad International Airport. For travelers on their way to the coastal resort city of Myrtle Beach, the Comfort Suites Winston-Salem is the perfect destination for an overnight stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Comfort Suites Winston Salem/ Hanes Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Suites Winston Salem/ Hanes Mall Hotel Winston Salem
Winston Salem Comfort Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Suites Winston Salem/ Hanes Mall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.