We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and simple” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem Hanes Mall

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem Hanes Mall to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem Hanes Mall
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1600 Westbrook Plaza Drive, Winston Salem, NC 27103   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #13 of 39 Hotels in Winston Salem
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Comfortable and simple”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

While my tastes are high, this hotel covers all the basics: comfort, cleanliness and safety. It's in a great location right off the highway. The beds are very comfy, and while the furnishings and bathrooms are sparse, you couldn't ask for much more: especially at the great price.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tandt82, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem Hanes Mall, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Modernlizbennet,
Thank you for staying with us and sharing your kind words, yes we do have a great location and a great staff to keep your rooms comfy, clean, and safe.We look foreward to your return visits.

Tom Ferrell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    29
    14
    5
    4
See reviews for
23
16
5
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nuevo Arenal, Costa Rica
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My husband & I were pleasantly surprised upon our late afternoon arrival here. Not only did they have the usual chocolate chip cookies, but they had hor d'oeurves such as a fresh veggie tray, cheese, chips & salsa, beer, wine & soft drinks. We were tired from our long drive, and this was just the thing to perk us back up and give us energy to head out for the evening. The room was quiet & clean, front desk staff very friendly, and the computer area was neat with equipment in working order. Breakfast the next morning was great, too. The usual items, but a friendly staff person ready to help, and tables were kept clean.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tandt82, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem Hanes Mall, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Dear Sharontm 1123,
Thank you for your kind words about the Courtyard Hanes Mall, I am glad that you found the room clean and quiet, and the staff very friendly, I would have to agree with you on that!!! You are right our Breakfast is Yummy!! Thanks again, and we look forward to having you stay with us soon.

Tom Ferrell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
211 reviews 211 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
106 helpful votes 106 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is a good Courtyard with clean rooms, helpful staff, and overall a good experience. The window curtains keep the room very dark and that is good for sleeping. It is conveniently located very close to the Hanes Mall. Good shopping and restaurant choices are nearby.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tandt82, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem Hanes Mall, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Swiftmi,
Thank you very much for staying with us at the Courtyard Hanes Mall and sharing your thoughts with our future potential guests. We are very proud of our Courtyard and its staff. With our recent remodel and our new Starbucks, this makes us one of the hottest hotels is Winston Salem!! Shopping is great and so are the Restaurant choices!! We look forward to your return visit!!

Tom Ferrell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Recently stayed at the Hanes Mall Blvd location for one night.

PROS:
-Recently renovated. Rooms and lobby feel brand new.
-Very friendly staff. Front desk associate who checked us in was very friendly and helpful
-Starbucks coffee in lobby and also food bar
-Room was very quiet
-Close to shopping/dining on Hanes Mall Boulevard but located on a side/back street so you don't hear the road noise.

CONS:
-None!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tandt82, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem Hanes Mall, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Profarnsworth,

Thank you so much for your kind comments about the Courtyard Hanes Mall, Yes we were recently remodeled, and we are so proud of the property that we take good care of it. Did you know that our Starbucks is available 24 hours, that is right !! Even Starbucks is not open 24 hours but every member of our great staff is a trained Barista, so if you need a 4 am fix, just ask our night auditor and they will be glad to prepare your favorite latte or espresso !!

We look forward to your next visit

Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Okay, it's a courtyard, but it's a good one! The hotel has been renovated so it has the Starbucks counter for the a.m. and the food/bar for the rest of the day - and I take advantage of them all when there. The fitness center is nice -- clean and all equipment new and working. And the pool area and courtyard for lounging is nice -- also clean with new furniture. The computer/printer in the lobby for getting your boarding pass actually WORKS which isn't often the case... Rooms are standard, but clean and even though in the 90s the last time I was there, at a comfortable temperature without being musty smelling. What makes this place better than usual, though, is the staff. Vicki the manager and Sonya at the front desk are sincerely kind and caring. The staff at the counter are great -- talkative and attentive. I always stay here when in the area and recommend it for you as well.

Room Tip: Pick a room away from the pool since there's a highway on that site...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tandt82, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem Hanes Mall, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear KellyGrantSmith,
Thank you for your kind word about the newly remodeled Courtyard Hanes Mall. Yes we also love our Starbucks… You mentioned Vicki and Sonya, yes those are 2 gems that I am blessed to be able to work with, and the guest Love Them!! We look forward to your return visits…

Tom Ferrell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lick creek, KY
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We actually booked a different courtyard about 5 minutes away and upon arriving at it, we cancelled our reservation and booked here. We never regretted it for one second. This hotel looks very modern and up to date and the rooms are large especially for my family of four. The only complaint I had was the bed was hard as a rock. I slept on the couch! But we will definitely return when passing through this area.

Room Tip: If you have a choice get a room on the ends of the building... there is no parking in the front or b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom F, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem Hanes Mall, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear fulltimemommy11,
We are so glad that you canceled your reservation at the other hotel and chose to stay with us instead. We are “The newest Hotel in Winston Salem!! We just completed a full remodeled of all our rooms, meeting space, lobby, and added a Bistro that serves Great food and drinks. In fact it even features a Starbucks. We also have more great news, that we will be receiving New Serta Pillow Top Beds in July!! We look forward to your returning and serving your needs in the future…
Tom Ferrell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

We had to book a last minute hotel for 2 nights and stayed here. The location is odd, but I am sure there are businesses nearby to support it. It has a modern look throughout the hotel and rooms. Everything is sparkling clean. The staff was friendly and professional. If you need a hotel room in this area, make this Courtyard your choice.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom F, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem Hanes Mall, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear JG166,
We are so glad that you had a chance to stay with us, and once you do, hopefully like other customers will look and/or ask for us. Yes our location is unique in that we are very close it Hanes Mall, both US 40 and Business 40, and many major companies and businesses, but set back a block from the hustle and bustle of Stratford road. We love what we do and hope you will join us again soon
Tom Ferrell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem Hanes Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem Hanes Mall

Address: 1600 Westbrook Plaza Drive, Winston Salem, NC 27103
Location: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Winston Salem
#10 Business Hotel in Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem Hanes Mall 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Venere and Expedia so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem Hanes Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Winston-Salem Hanes Mall Hotel Winston Salem
Courtyard Winston Salem
Winston Salem Courtyard
Winston Salem Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem Hanes Mall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.