We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem Hanes Mall

Save Saved
You added Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem Hanes Mall to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem Hanes Mall
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1600 Westbrook Plaza Drive, Winston Salem, NC 27103   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free Parking
Ranked #12 of 39 hotels in Winston Salem
Knoxville, Tennessee
Top Contributor
203 reviews 203 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

This is a good Courtyard with clean rooms, helpful staff, and overall a good experience. The window curtains keep the room very dark and that is good for sleeping. It is conveniently located very close to the Hanes Mall. Good shopping and restaurant choices are nearby.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tandt82, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem Hanes Mall, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Swiftmi,
Thank you very much for staying with us at the Courtyard Hanes Mall and sharing your thoughts with our future potential guests. We are very proud of our Courtyard and its staff. With our recent remodel and our new Starbucks, this makes us one of the hottest hotels is Winston Salem!! Shopping is great and so are the Restaurant choices!! We look forward to your return visit!!

Tom Ferrell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    47
    26
    13
    4
    4
See reviews for
21
15
5
38
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Recently stayed at the Hanes Mall Blvd location for one night.

PROS:
-Recently renovated. Rooms and lobby feel brand new.
-Very friendly staff. Front desk associate who checked us in was very friendly and helpful
-Starbucks coffee in lobby and also food bar
-Room was very quiet
-Close to shopping/dining on Hanes Mall Boulevard but located on a side/back street so you don't hear the road noise.

CONS:
-None!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tandt82, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem Hanes Mall, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Profarnsworth,

Thank you so much for your kind comments about the Courtyard Hanes Mall, Yes we were recently remodeled, and we are so proud of the property that we take good care of it. Did you know that our Starbucks is available 24 hours, that is right !! Even Starbucks is not open 24 hours but every member of our great staff is a trained Barista, so if you need a 4 am fix, just ask our night auditor and they will be glad to prepare your favorite latte or espresso !!

We look forward to your next visit

Tom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

Okay, it's a courtyard, but it's a good one! The hotel has been renovated so it has the Starbucks counter for the a.m. and the food/bar for the rest of the day - and I take advantage of them all when there. The fitness center is nice -- clean and all equipment new and working. And the pool area and courtyard for lounging is nice -- also clean with new furniture. The computer/printer in the lobby for getting your boarding pass actually WORKS which isn't often the case... Rooms are standard, but clean and even though in the 90s the last time I was there, at a comfortable temperature without being musty smelling. What makes this place better than usual, though, is the staff. Vicki the manager and Sonya at the front desk are sincerely kind and caring. The staff at the counter are great -- talkative and attentive. I always stay here when in the area and recommend it for you as well.

Room Tip: Pick a room away from the pool since there's a highway on that site...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tandt82, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem Hanes Mall, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear KellyGrantSmith,
Thank you for your kind word about the newly remodeled Courtyard Hanes Mall. Yes we also love our Starbucks… You mentioned Vicki and Sonya, yes those are 2 gems that I am blessed to be able to work with, and the guest Love Them!! We look forward to your return visits…

Tom Ferrell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lick creek, KY
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

We actually booked a different courtyard about 5 minutes away and upon arriving at it, we cancelled our reservation and booked here. We never regretted it for one second. This hotel looks very modern and up to date and the rooms are large especially for my family of four. The only complaint I had was the bed was hard as a rock. I slept on the couch! But we will definitely return when passing through this area.

Room Tip: If you have a choice get a room on the ends of the building... there is no parking in the front or b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom F, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem Hanes Mall, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear fulltimemommy11,
We are so glad that you canceled your reservation at the other hotel and chose to stay with us instead. We are “The newest Hotel in Winston Salem!! We just completed a full remodeled of all our rooms, meeting space, lobby, and added a Bistro that serves Great food and drinks. In fact it even features a Starbucks. We also have more great news, that we will be receiving New Serta Pillow Top Beds in July!! We look forward to your returning and serving your needs in the future…
Tom Ferrell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CA
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

We had to book a last minute hotel for 2 nights and stayed here. The location is odd, but I am sure there are businesses nearby to support it. It has a modern look throughout the hotel and rooms. Everything is sparkling clean. The staff was friendly and professional. If you need a hotel room in this area, make this Courtyard your choice.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom F, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem Hanes Mall, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear JG166,
We are so glad that you had a chance to stay with us, and once you do, hopefully like other customers will look and/or ask for us. Yes our location is unique in that we are very close it Hanes Mall, both US 40 and Business 40, and many major companies and businesses, but set back a block from the hustle and bustle of Stratford road. We love what we do and hope you will join us again soon
Tom Ferrell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan, United States
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

This was my first stay at this Courtyard. This was likely the best experience I've ever had at a Courtyard and it rivaled most full service Marriott's (where I typically stay). The decor was wonderful and staff was outstanding. I got upgraded to a suite and the room was outstanding. I highly recommend this hotel if you're anywhere in the area.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom F, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem Hanes Mall, responded to this review, June 9, 2013
Dear Mr. Rich M,
Thank you so much for your kind words about our Courtyard Hanes Mall, the “Newest Hotel in Winston Salem” !! We love anticipating our guest needs and exceed your expectations!!! We look forward to you returning and staying with us in the future

Tom Ferrell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We stay at the Courtyard Hanes Mall location for High Point Furniture Market. The hotel is not only a great value, but the service and staff is the quality you would find in a luxury hotel property. They are consistently focused on providing a high level of service at this Marriott. We continue to use this property year after year due to the dedication to our company. I especially want to thank Sonya who is an unbelievable Marriott Team Member that is always willing to go the extra mile. I highly recommend this property. It is a "home away" from "home"!!

Sincerely,
Richard Fleck
CMO
Paramount Sleep Mattress Company

Room Tip: Rooms on the "front side" of the hotel are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tom F, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem Hanes Mall, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Mr. Fleck,
Thank you for taking the time to write these kind words about our hotel to Tripadvisor, We do continue to strive to anticipate our guest needs and exceed their expectations. Sonya is indeed a great asset to this hotel that is always looking out for the guest to ensure a flawless stay year after year. Thanks and we look forward to serving your needs in the future.

Tom Ferrell
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem Hanes Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem Hanes Mall

Address: 1600 Westbrook Plaza Drive, Winston Salem, NC 27103
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem Hanes Mall 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem Hanes Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Winston-Salem Hanes Mall Hotel Winston Salem
Courtyard Winston Salem
Winston Salem Courtyard
Winston Salem Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem Hanes Mall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.