We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All around good place to stay with awesome staff.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem Hanes Mall

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem Hanes Mall to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem Hanes Mall
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1600 Westbrook Plaza Drive, Winston Salem, NC 27103   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #9 of 36 Hotels in Winston Salem
Rockledge, FL
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“All around good place to stay with awesome staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2011

Stayed for a wedding so the party had many rooms reserved. What was amazing is that the same staff worked the whole weekend, every day! When asked, they said they worked the whole time period when a large group was there. The rooms were very nice and the rate was exceptional for this nice a hotel. Great "main room" in the lobby with two computer terminals, sofas, and large flat screen tv. Nice pool with big gazebo outside. Indoor hot tub. Breakfast was very good with a large selection and staff continued to make our stay a great one. Highly recommend and would stay again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicki H, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem Hanes Mall, responded to this review, December 4, 2011
Travelnmaxx,

Thank you for your wonderful comments! It gives the staff great pleasure to know we have succeeded in providing the best of service and amenities for our guests. We appreciate that you noticed our special attention given to groups. We are here to assist with all the planning so you can enjoy the time with your friends and guests.

You will need to return next year to see our new hi-tech lobby, poolside fire pit and Bistro Cafe!

Vicki Hiatt
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    34
    14
    6
    4
See reviews for
27
16
9
50
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Plainsboro, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2011

I've been staying here every week for about 4 months now and not once did the service fall anywhere below excellent. The Front Desk is very helpful and accommodating and prompt.
The breakfast room is always so cheerful and friendly and make you feel very welcome and make everything to order to your liking.
The fitness room is small but not crowded, though it could do with some more weights.
I haven't used the jacuzzi or the pool but have seen others there all the time.
All in all, one of the best Marriott's I've been in, in the last few years.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicki H, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem Hanes Mall, responded to this review, December 4, 2011
Krishna C,

It has been our pleasure to have you as part of our "family" for your extended visit to Winston Salem. Our staff takes great pride in making sure our guests have everything they need everyday.

On your next visit this summer, you will be able to enjoy our new Bistro Cafe, new fitness center, poolside fire pit and upgraded questrooms. We can't wait to have you return!

All of the Courtyard Marriott Staff~
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
123 helpful votes 123 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2011

This hotel is a wonderful property plunked in the midst of a maze of highways, corporate offices, and box stores. I wouldn't stay here without a car due to a lack of transit and I wouldn't feel comfortable walking in the surrounding area at night. Having said that, with my car and GPS I was able to get anywhere I wanted in W-S very easily.
The rooms are clean and well appointed. The beds are very comfortable. Breakfast is not included but the breakfast buffet is a fantastic value with great variety.
I booked through priceline.com and was very pleased with the value of the stay and the quality of the hotel.

Room Tip: using priceline makes this property an excellent vacation option
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vicki H, Director of Sales at Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem Hanes Mall, responded to this review, December 4, 2011
KevinfromCanada,

Thank you for selecting the Courtyard Marriott Hanes Mall for your visit to Winston Salem.Our hotel is nestled in a quiet neighborhood but very convenient to the mall, major highways and local businesses. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our comfortable beds and great "made to order" breakfast-our breakfast staff makes some of the best omelettes in town!

We look forward to your return next year when we can show you our new lobby, Bistro Cafe and guestrooms!

Vicki Hiatt
Director of Sales
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nags Head, North Carolina
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2011

Winston-Salem is lacking quality hotels and this one is no exception. The rooms are old, the decor is tired and the beds are less comfortable than the Fairfield Inn just a block away. Don't waste your money here when you can stay at the newer SpringHill Suites just down the road for the same money. If you need less than $100 a night, Fairfiled Inn is a better deal, although it's wearing down as well. Time to rennovate your hotels Winston!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardWS_AGM, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem Hanes Mall, responded to this review, August 4, 2011
Dear nctraveler086;
Your remarks are not easy to hear, but we greatly appreciate your candor. I will certainly pass your comments along! Thank you for choosing Marriott!
Management Team
Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem, Hanes Mall
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Mill, South Carolina
Top Contributor
140 reviews 140 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 93 cities Reviews in 93 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2011

This was your typical Courtyard Marriott. Fast and friendly check in. Room was very nice, clean and maintained. Plenty of TV channels, but was missing one I wanted. Bed came with TONS of pillows! Nice sized bathroom and vanity area. We got a jacuzzi suite, and the jacuzzi was very nice and had a really cool water downspout. We had breakfast with our room. Its a buffet style, but they will make items for you, and offered to take it to our table. A very rude family came in and had zero control of their kids, ate half their food and left. The shower head had a slight leak but only if you moved it to the extreme left or right, up or down, didnt effect my shower. Shower head had the multi adjust settings too, nice pressure and hot water. I advised the desk at checkout of the issue and they wrote a maintenance slip for it. We didnt try the pool or shared jacuzzi, but the same rude family from breakfast were using it every time we walked by, glad we had our own. Ice machine was on the 2nd floor, not first, and they have a 24/7 mini store up front. This hotel is 1/4 mile from a 24/7 Walgreen's, and 1/2 mile from the mall. I enjoyed my stay and would go back!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CourtyardWS_AGM, Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem Hanes Mall, responded to this review, August 10, 2011
Thank you for your kind words about our property! We greatly appreciate you staying with us. We are a bit difficult to find initially, but that makes us a hidden gem! Our side-street location affords a quieter stay for our guests. We hope you will choose the Courtyard Hanes Mall during your next trip to Winston-Salem!

Angela B. Carleton
Assistant General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2011

I found everyone friendly and helpful, the room was spacious and clean, and the breakfast in the morning was fast, good quality and inexpensive.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC/VA/TN
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

I had a very enjoyable stay at the Courtyard Hanes Mall from the time I entered the property until I checked out. The front desk associate (Falicia) displayed excellent customer service skills; the housekeeping supervisor (Carmin) was extremely helpful; the housekeeper (Adelina) did a superb job cleaning my room.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem Hanes Mall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem Hanes Mall

Address: 1600 Westbrook Plaza Drive, Winston Salem, NC 27103
Location: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Winston Salem
#9 Family Hotel in Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem Hanes Mall 3*
Number of rooms: 122
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com and Marriott so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem Hanes Mall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Winston-Salem Hanes Mall Hotel Winston Salem
Courtyard Winston Salem
Winston Salem Marriott
Winston Salem Courtyard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Winston-Salem Hanes Mall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.