We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Should be cheaper” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Crossland Economy Studios

Save Saved
You added Crossland Economy Studios to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Crossland Economy Studios
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   7910 N. Point Blvd., University Parkway, Winston Salem, NC 27106   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 10% Today!
Ranked #36 of 39 Hotels in Winston Salem
1 review
“Should be cheaper”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013 via mobile

I feel like I wasted my money the staff was ok but the overall experience was poor the rooms smelled the bathroom sink drain pipe was busted and ruined my clothes other guest were noisy and drinking adult beverages on the balcony I would like a refund

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Crossland Economy Studios, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. We strive to provide guests with all the comforts of home, so I am disappointed to hear that your room was not up to standard due to a leaking pipe which damaged your clothes. Additionally, I am very sorry several other guests disturbed you during your stay. To prevent this from happening again, I have personally spoken with our maintenance department to resolve the leaking pipe issue. I will also be training our front desk staff on how to handle noise disturbances in the future to ensure all of our guests have a pleasant stay.

We continually work to improve our hotel, so I really appreciate you providing us with your feedback. If you would like to discuss this further, please do not hesitate to contact me at wsu@extendedstay.com. We do hope you will choose to stay with us again so we can have the opportunity to provide you with a better experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    6
    0
    7
    14
See reviews for
4
3
6
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
East Orange
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

This room was booked for me & some out of town friends who were in town for a function. I was told that all the hotels from Greensboro to Burlington into Raliegh were booked solid for a Furniture Convention. From the outside the hotel looked really nice, When I was checked into my room, the other room was for 2 grown men to stay in. I was given their room key until they arrived, 1st I was very confused as how the rooms were #, When I walked into my room, the room was very basic, one bed (that really didn't look like a double) an older model tv, a small table & chair, and a small kitchen-ette. I wasn't pleased, But I knew that this was all that was available in the surrounding areas. I went to check on the guy's room & when I finally found it b/c of the confusing # system. I opened the door and saw a room layout JUST like mine, and I immeaditely knew this was not going to work for 2 grown men,So when I went to the front desk to ask for 2 doubles because the there would be 2 grown men staying the room & that there was no way they were going to share a bed,The gentleman working the front desk (I think he was a manager) said to me in a very sarcastic way, That there were no double rooms & that one of them better get a blanket & sleep on the floor. Well when the 2 gentlemen arrived I informed them of the situation. One of them decided to get dressed in my room, We also needed an iron to press our clothes, I called down to the front desk & I was told all the irons were in use, and if one became available she would call me back..Safe to say....we never got that iron...The only positve thing was the shower, the water pressure was GREAT!!!!!, The remote to the tv didn't work, even though I was only interested in watching one thing (GO NY KNICKS!!!!!), When it was time for us to go out for the evening, one of my friends suggested that I bring my bag with me, That was code word for: We're not coming back here tonight!!!!

I also noticed that this hotel is also an extended stay for people who have been displaced for different reasons, I was on the elevator with a lady who sais she had been staying there for 6 mo. and was finally able to go home, I also noticed a man coming out of a room who was clearly homeless. So we were just there actually a few hours....enough time to shower,& change watch the Knicks/Celtics game & that was it. Glad the room was paid for by someone else. We did not return that night.

Room Tip: Only stay here unless everything else is sold out in a 20-30 mile radius
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_11525, General Manager at Crossland Economy Studios, responded to this review, June 5, 2013
I received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to personally respond. I am pleased to read your remarks about the water pressure in the shower and you being able to watch the Knicks games. However, I am very sorry that we were unable to accommodate your request for a room with 2 double beds. Additionally, I am disappointed to hear you received such poor response to your request. As this hotel’s manager, I can assure you that I have expressed your comments to our team and will be implementing a plan of action to ensure your experience is not repeated.

We continually work to improve our hotel, so I really appreciate you providing us with your feedback. If you have any additional feedback, please reach out to me at WSU@extendedstay.com. We hope that you will give us the opportunity to provide you with a better experience the next time you're in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Benson, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

i booked this room over the phone for university park way Winston Salem they told me there was a grab and go breakfast. They didnt even have a coffee pot much less a breakfast, they would give you a pack for one cup you could do in your room then the bed was supposed to be a queen it was a double they would tell me each time that there sister hotel six miles down the road had a Continental Breakfast and they had the true queen size bed but amassing they were full the whole time we were there. This place did not have ice it did not have a phone in our room i never even seen a drink or snack machine,The sign said no pets but we seen a man come out a room with a dog.So if you only need a bed this is your place.The staff was very friendly but they have nothing to work with.We even had a granddaughter stay with us but they did not have a roll away or any thing she could sleep on except a couple of blankets.We have family in the area so we will be going back,but it will not be to this hotel

Room Tip: Hotel across the street looks nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012 via mobile

When we first arrived at the hotel we were given keys to 2 dirty rooms. The desk clerk was really nice, but I expected more. Finally the third room was "clean". The smoke detector was hanging off the wall, definitely a hazard. The sheets, blankets, and comforters had multiple holes in them. There is no ice maker at this hotel. You also have to ask for an iron at the desk. The beds are EXTREMELY HARD! I recommend spending extra money to stay somewhere else. Unfortunately the city was sold out due to a college homecoming.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamie B, Manager at Crossland Economy Studios, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
"I recently received a copy of your review, and wanted to take a moment to respond. Our company prides itself on providing great service and great rooms at great rates, which is why I was so disappointed to read your post. Please accept my most sincere apologies.

We know that our guests have multiple hotel choices, which is why our mission is to provide clean, comfortable rooms at an affordable price that guests want to come back to. The room condition you describe is totally unacceptable to me and not at all representative of our quality standards. In response to your post, I have met with our hotel staff and used your review to help coach them on room cleaning and inspection policy.

It's not common that we get the sort of feedback you provided, and although it is discouraging to read, it will help us make our hotel even better in the future. Let me apologize again that your stay was not completely satisfying, and assure you that we will continue to listen to our guests in forums like this one or directly (please visit our website and click the Contact Us link at the bottom of the page). I hope we have addressed your concern satisfactorily, and that you would give us the pleasure of having you as a guest again at this hotel or any other Extended Stay Hotels(sm) brand location in the future."
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IAD
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2011

Many reviews here are misleading. By any standard, you should not stay here for holiday, business or something. This is the one of worst extended stay hotels I ever stayed. This is a sole top worst in the nation. I know how ESAs can be near here e.g. Charlotte or Ralegh. Room is old, dirty and smoking smell even in non-smoking room. A lot of folks stay as if they live in their apartment. Here is typical scene if you would stay here. People pay cash in front desk for their daily stay in the morning. They hang out all day in various places in this property. They pull out some chairs from their room and hang out in the garage. Sometime, they grill bbq in back of property with loud music together. So this really is for their extended stay . Don't bother to stay here for your business

Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, MI
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

Don't hesitate! I was sooo pleased with this room! I would definitely stay again-especially considering the price! I made a reservation but was quite concerned with what the room would be like-but was so happy with the room. I didn't give a 5 because it is a small room-but didn't spend much time in the room anyway. Service didn't get a 5 only because I couldn't check in early.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2011

Very nice room and excellent check in .It was clean quiet,close to places to eat.Would stay again.Very good price

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crossland Economy Studios? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crossland Economy Studios

Address: 7910 N. Point Blvd., University Parkway, Winston Salem, NC 27106
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Winston Salem
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 39 Hotels in Winston Salem
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Crossland Economy Studios 2*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Extended Stay, Tingo, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your Crossland Economy Studios reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crossland Economy Studios Hotel Winston Salem

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crossland Economy Studios, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.