We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History with a room!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Inn at Grays Landing

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Windsor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Inn at Grays Landing
Save
You added The Inn at Grays Landing to your Saves list
401 South King Street, Windsor, NC 27983-1307   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Windsor B&B and Inns
Tucson, Arizona
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“History with a room!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

Spent three nights and the inn keeper (Lynette Mallery) arranged a carriage ride for us as well as shared her amazing knowledge of the history of the area. The history in the area is very rich. She sent us off each day with a different three course gourmet breakfast. Already making plans to go back.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
11
14
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tampa, Florida
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2012

We spent a marvelous several days at The Inn. The accomodations were spacious, well appointed, comfortable, and clean. The food is truly outstanding and served in a charming atmosphere. Our owner/hosts could not have been more helpful with some special requests and exercised a sincere effort to please. Enjoy yourselves here!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasig, Philippines
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

A 300-year-old bed and breakfast in a 300-year-old town. The bed was dreamy and brunch was simply the best French toast ever--and I'm a connoisseur. Proprietors Lynnette and Jock don't disappoint. They also didn't lie about the best of modern amenities in a richly historic district. Try it

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

We stopped at this B&B on our way to Outer Banks. It was a welcome place to relax after traveling for several hours. The beds slept nicely and it was very quiet. Beautiful home with excellent furnishings and the breakfast was spectacular. Would recommend but realize this is small town. Good seafood down the road.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plantation, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

The Inn inhabits an 18th Century house once owned by George Washington Capehart, who lived there while building his proprietor's mansion on the family's huge Avoca Plantation, not far from Windsor. The owners' treatment of furnishings, appointments and hospitality are impeccable and welcoming. The past speaks to guests at the Inn, but in gentle murmurs and whispers. Breakfast is, simply, magnificent.

I'd like to spend a month there sometime! Try to book the George W. Capehart suite for the ultimate Inn at Gray's Landing experience.

Room Tip: Ask for the George W. Capehart suite, but know that all 5 rooms are splendid.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ledyard, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2012

Imagine booking a room in a B&B in a small town you have never been to before and when you arrive, you are overwhelmed by the charm and beauty of The Inn at Gray's Landing. We were fortunate enough to spend an evening there while we were in NC for a family reunion. Every room, hallway and corner are filled with wonderful antiques and whimiscal items that make getting to your room more like a museum tour than a typical B&B. Lynette and her staff made us feel as though this 'museum' was as much a part of us as it is to her. She made a family breakfast for us and my in-laws (something she had not bargined for when we reserved) but she took it in stride and prepared the most fabulous meal one could imagine. Lynette shared many wonderful stories with us about her life, her travels and the Inn, and we will certainly return for a longer visit. Thank yo for making our journey and family reunion more special than one could imagine. If you are anywhere near Windsor, NC and do not visit the Inn, shame on you! Robert and Carolyn S. Ledyard, CT

Room Tip: Book the Capehart Suite or Library Suite...hard to choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annandale, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012

An unexpected surprise that just got better and better during our stay. Lynette was extremely gracious and warm from the first phone call to make our reservation to hugs goodbye when leaving. The entire house was decorated with antiques that were usable. Our room was not only lovely but the bed was very comfortable. The experience of travel was everywhere with extra touches that make the weary traveler feel welcomed and understood. Breakfast was beautifully presented, the portions were generous and every course more delicious than the one before it. We will definitely be back for our next Family Reunion in the area.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Inn at Grays Landing? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at Grays Landing

Address: 401 South King Street, Windsor, NC 27983-1307
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Windsor
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Windsor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bed and Breakfast Inn with rooms. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Inn at Grays Landing, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.