We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Candlewood Suites Wilson

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Candlewood Suites Wilson to your Saves list
Candlewood Suites Wilson
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2915 Independence Dr W, Wilson, NC 27896   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Wilson
Sterling, Virginia
Top Contributor
234 reviews 234 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 142 cities Reviews in 142 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
“Average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

The location was good and hotel was clean. Our room had some quirks like the sticking toilet handle, a bed that was awkwardly spaced from the wall making it impossible to get out, missing silverware. Nothing crazy that would prevent us from staying here again, but not too impressive either. We would likely try another establishment before deciding to stay again.

Room Tip: They have discounted rates available if you have gov't ID, AAA, AARP, etc. also ask for a room o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Wilson, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Imzpickle,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. Our goal is to ensure that all our clients leave satisfied and we try our best to fulfill all our guest requests. I apologize for the issues you had with some amenities in your room. We constantly strive to provide an environment of comfort and value to our guests, therefore, we are sincerely concerned when we fall short of your expectations. I have taken note of your valuable comments and will use these to monitor and improve the quality of services we offer to our guests.

Again, thank you for staying with us and taking the time to give feedback.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    21
    16
    6
    13
See reviews for
29
19
14
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clearwater, Florida
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

Travelling to Florida via 95 south I needed a hotel that would accept my dog. I had my daughter do a google search for a hotel closer to where I was, as it was getting late & my reservation was at a hotel still 65 miles away. She found Candlewood Suites and saw good reviews on tripadvisor. I didn't hold out much hope for quality as I had never stayed at one, but reviews said it was clean. Much to my surprise, it was not only very clean, but friendly and welcomed my dog with a treat. When I travel w/o my dog I choose to stay at 5 star expensive hotels - this property has shown me that lower priced hotels don't have to mean lower quality - I would stay here again even w/o my dog!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Wilson, responded to this review, January 24, 2014
Dear Judith S,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review about your stay. We were pleased to see your positive comments and perfect scores for Cleanliness, Rooms, Service, and Value. We were honored to have you as our guest and look forward to serving you again in the future.

Thank you again for your feedback.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

we have stayed here before. the place is clean and has the free breakfast in the morning. staff was nice. had a room with king bed. room was clean and bed was great.would stay here again. the rate was around $80.00 for the one night.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oneida
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013 via mobile

A nice clean quiet hotel. The staff was friendly and helpful. Price was good and they accept pets. Close to food and grocery stores with suites with a separate bedroom. Only downside was a chair with a torn arm.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorr, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

Extremely disappointed with our stay last month. Stayed for several nights with our soccer team. Very dirty (entire hotel). We were aware that there was "limited" housekeeping services available during our stay, but they should have stated that the entire hotel would not be cleaned for several days at a time. Trash cans overflowing throughout the hotel, grass and dirt everywhere including the hallways and elevator. Nowhere to bring your own trash from your rooms if you wanted to clean it yourself. And the option to exchange your dirty towels for clean ones was not an option a couple of times because no clean towels were available. The rooms were poorly lit, probably to hide the grime that was built up. And extremely worn out. The beds are tiny, lumpy, and uncomfortable. I'm really trying to find a positive note on these accommodations. I guess the kitchen area was convenient if you wanted to cook something, and the full size refrigerator was nice. Also, be aware that the slow ice maker in your room is the only ice available at the hotel, and no indoor meeting space other than the dirty lobby.

Room Tip: I have never written a ad review on a room, until I stayed here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Candlewood Suites Wilson, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Dear April A,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts and comments regarding your stay with us. We are truly sorry to hear of your overall dissatisfaction regarding your experience at our hotel and regret we did not live up to your expectations when it comes to cleanliness and room standards. We have taken note of your comments and these will be shared with our management team for the purpose of bringing improvements needed.

Though we would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, we would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts and hope you will give us the opportunity to serve you again in the future.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson, North Carolina
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Very accommodating, pet friendly, very clean and friendly service. Would stay again and would also recommend to others. Jeff the manager along with the other staff was very friendly and helpful on where to eat

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

My family stayed here for a little over a week and we would stay again if needed to. Friendly people and very clean. I also would recommend to others with out thinking twice. Close to many restaurants and department stores

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Candlewood Suites Wilson? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Candlewood Suites Wilson

Address: 2915 Independence Dr W, Wilson, NC 27896
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > Wilson
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 17 Hotels in Wilson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Candlewood Suites Wilson 2*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Newest Extended Stay Hotel in Wilson, NC You can enjoy an affordable stay in a convenient location when you choose the pet friendly Candlewood Suites extended stay hotel of Wilson, North Carolina. Our hotel's location is just a short drive from area attractions like the Willow Springs Country Club & Golf Course and area shopping malls. You can enjoy an entertaining movie at the Carmike Cinema or see a performance at the Edna Boykin Cultural Center. To learn about the area, take a walk or drive among the more than 25 nationally registered historic buildings in historic, downtown Wilson. Lodging here puts you in close proximity to Merck, Kidde Technologies Inc., Bridgestone/Firestone Inc., Cott Beverages, Leiner Health Products, Perdue Pharmaceutical and other businesses in downtown Wilson. Our hotel offers unlimited access to our state-of-the-art business center to help you work efficiently. Unlike other Wilson, North Carolina hotels, we offer the ideal amenities long-term travelers want, such as free laundry facilities, a 24-hour fitness center and our 24-hour Candlewood Cupboard convenience store. Each studio and one-bedroom suite is designed with a fully equipped kitchen, our 'Comforts of Home' bedding, a 32-inch TV with a DVD player and a workspace with an over-sized desk, two chairs, a speakerphone and free high-speed Internet access. Call today to reserve a suite in our extended stay hotel of Wilson, NC. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, BookIt.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Candlewood Suites Wilson reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Candlewood Suites Wilson Hotel Wilson
Wilson Candlewood Suites

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Candlewood Suites Wilson, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.