We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good southern cooking” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Parker's Barbecue

Parker's Barbecue
2514 Us Highway 301 S, Wilson, NC 27893-8588
252-237-0972
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 129 Restaurants in Wilson
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Stanstonsburg
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good southern cooking”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014

No frills, just tables and chairs on hardwood floors but it is very, very clean and the service is excellent as is the food. If you want good southern fried chicken and barbecue with all the "fixins" this is the place! Don't go for Sunday lunch unless you go early or late because the line is "out the door". Well worth the wait though!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    48
    20
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
North Carolina
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Eastern North Carolina Cuisine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

The finest sit down, Down East, family friendly, low stress dining around. Parker's barbecue and 'fixins' are a true taste of Eastern North Caroliina vinegar based bar-b-que. Service is quick and friendly. The management is always out and about with friendly chatter with the diners, especially Eric, a true diner friendly manager. Parker's seafood, especially oysters, is always delicious with the true balance of batter and taste. If you are off the beaten path (I-95), stop by Parker's in Wilson, NC for a fun, friendly, low price, tasty dining experience.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson, North Carolina
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Ok BBQ”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

I have lived in Wilson for 5 years and I still don't understand why everyone thinks Parkers is so good. BBQ is ok, the slaw is mustard base and nasty if you ask me. The BBQ Chicken is the best thing they have going for them.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Parker's has been a must stop every year returning north from Florida, this year they really let us down. We arrived an hour earlier then they told us on the phone they would be closing just to be told we were too late. Very disappointing to see others still enjoying their meals and not being allowed to join them. Oh well, so much for southern hospitality.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morehead City, North Carolina
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Great Oysters from a BBQ Restaurant..fast friendly service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2014

We decided to do a take out from Parkers. While known for BBQ and Chicken, during Oyster season they have fried Oysters. I went to the front entrance (although the take out entrance is a side door.) I was greeted going in by one of the owners (Eric) and told him I wanted a take out. I promptly gave the order to one of the cashiers, and waited at the cash register. The restaurant was almost full at 5:15 in the afternoon, but everyone was being seated promptly and the food was being quickly served by about 20 waiters. It is an amazing scene. I have never witnessed such fast, efficient, and courteous service. When a handicapped person approached the front door (coming or going) no less than 3 waiters would hold the door for them. My take out was quickly brought from the kitchen, steaming hot, and was great when we ate at home. Highly recommend for great food and service!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Parker's Barbecue also viewed

Wilson, North Carolina Coast
Wilson, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilson, North Carolina Coast
Wilson, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Parker's Barbecue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parker's Barbecue, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.