We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Make Taylor House Inn your Wilmington destination” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taylor House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wilmington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Taylor House Inn
Save
You added Taylor House Inn to your Saves list
14 North Seventh Street, Wilmington, NC 28401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 15 Wilmington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
liberty, nc
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Make Taylor House Inn your Wilmington destination”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We traveled to Wilmington last weekend to enjoy the Azalea Festival and spent 2 nights at Taylor House Inn. This is a perfect location - we parked the car on Friday and didn't move it until our check out on Sunday. Scott gave great recommendations for events and restaurants and we took advantage of his knowledge and were so pleased!!! Be prepared for Scott's gourmet breakfasts - absolutely delicious, Scott goes the extra mile with attention to every detail to make your stay relaxing and enjoyable, from a fresh bowl of flowers to a dish of Easter candy in your room. We stayed in the Peace Room, and it lived up to it's name - a large room, very quiet, and a wonderfully comfortable bed. We will definitely make Taylor House our place to stay on all our trips to Wilmington.

Room Tip: Check out room photos on the website and make your choice. All rooms are sure to please.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    21
    0
    4
    7
See reviews for
14
138
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, VT
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2014

We escaped the coldest March ever in our part of the NorthEast on April fool's day. I'm retired but my wife still works and it was a bigger escape for her. We spent the nights of April 2nd and 3rd at The Taylor House Inn on what was to be perfect weather. Scott suggested a few restaurants and a day trip for our one full day.
The day trip allowed us to see the largely untraveled port side of the harbor a walk along the ocean at Kure beach, the car ferry to SouthPort, lunch at Provisions in Southport and back across the bridge we saw the previous day from the harbor. Then we had a wonderful dinner that evening at Caprice Bistro.
Thanks Scott!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in Joy. Large and met our needs. Next time we might try Love - looks like it has a great s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little River, South Carolina
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2014

My wife and I were looking for an elegant historic b&b for our wedding anniversary trip last month.
We found the perfect place!!! The owner was very accommodating and went out of his way to make us feel "at home" in our spacious room. The idea was to park our car and not get back into it until it was time to leave. The hotel is located a short stroll from the historic district of Wilmington, close to the numerous restaurants and attractions in the downtown area.
After all the walking of the day prior, we were greeted in the dining room by a wonderful breakfast spread, the kind you simply can't get in any of the major hotel chains!
I would recommend the Taylor House B&B to anyone who wants an affordable, comfortable, peaceful, getaway location.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisville nc
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We recently stayed at The Taylor House Inn for a weekend trip. Our room (Love) was wonderful and cozy. The breakfasts each morning were delicious and elegant. Scott was very welcoming and helpful in his recommendations for activities or places to eat. We will definitely return soon and invite our friends!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2014

A quaint historic bed and breakfast in downtown Wilmington within walking distance to all the fun of the downtown atmosphere. Scott made a wonderful breakfast both mornings! He was always available to answer our questions and give recommendations for restaurants and things to do. A relaxing and romantic get away.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2014 via mobile

My husband and I needed to "get away" and chose Wilmington as our destination. We took advantage of the current special at the Taylor House Inn and could not have been more pleased! Scott was a perfectly gracious host and our room was lovely. Our breakfasts were superb. Scott took time to make some local suggestions and a day trip recommendation which we thoroughly enjoyed. Should we find ourselves traveling to the Wilmington area again in the future, I can assure you we will stay here again. Well done.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morgantown, WV
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

My husband and I had the good fortune to visit this delightful inn for the second time in under a year. I emailed Scott to make our reservation because I thought he would be in the middle of making breakfast for his guests. To my surprise, he telephoned me right back and told me that we could indeed have the room of our choice for 2 nights. This is the Peace room which we had stayed in the last time and it was just as charming as we remembered. Beautiful, comfortable, quiet and filled with lovely antiques as is every room in this inn. The breakfast is wonderful and filling - prepare to indulge in a gourmet breakfast which will keep you going until dinner time! Scott is the nicest host imaginable and will offer tips on where to go and what to see in the Wilmington area as well as great restaurants to visit. He provides a detailed map of the area which is so helpful for walking or getting around in the car. You will not be disappointed with a stay at the Taylor House. It is easy to get to, just off a main road, but surprisingly quiet. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taylor House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taylor House Inn

Address: 14 North Seventh Street, Wilmington, NC 28401
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Historic home is on a quiet one-way brick paved residential street, just six blocks up from the Cape Fear River in Historic downtown Wilmington. Upon arriving, there is a lovely front porch with rocking chairs and swings to pass the day in and catch the cool breezes coming off from the river. Entering this lovely home, you will be in a twelve foot high foyer with original woodwork and stained glass windows on the staircase. There are two homey and comfortable parlors to sit in, to read or play board games or just to sit listen to the classical music that is continuously playing. The formal dining room is where the candlelight full hot seated gourmet breakfasts are served every morning. Fine antiques and art are abound in the is lovely home. Upstairs there are five bedrooms, all with their own private bathrooms. The names of the rooms are; Love, Joy, Peace, Tranquility and Serenity. Love and Joy are rooms with King-size beds and private baths with both showers and claw foot soaking tubs. Tranquility is a lovely room with a Queen-size bed and a private bathroom with both a shower and a claw foot soaking tub. Peace and Serenity, have Queen-size beds and modern bathrooms with stall showers. This is a lovely place to stay for your lodging needs. Among the extra amenities; there is an early morning coffee service delivered just outside your door, central heat and air, ceiling fans over each bed, freshly ironed sheets, chocolates and fresh flowers in your room. Truly, a lovely place to get away from your everyday concerns and worries. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taylor House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.