We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charm of the Old South” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Taylor House Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wilmington
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Taylor House Inn
Save
You added Taylor House Inn to your Saves list
14 North Seventh Street, Wilmington, NC 28401   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 15 Wilmington B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Pittsboro
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Charm of the Old South”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

From the welcoming front porch swing to the elegant and delicious candle-lit breakfast, the beautiful Taylor House Inn offers the charm of the Old South. What a wonderful way to experience Wilmington. Walking distance of downtown and located in a quiet residential area. Thanks, Scott! Hope to return soon.

Room Tip: Clawfoot tubs are shower equipped
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    21
    0
    4
    7
See reviews for
14
138
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Oak Island, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We had plans to attend a concert near downtown Wilmington on Friday evening and wanted to find a place to stay overnight. Turns out all the area hotels were booked solid and wouldn't even take our name in case they had a cancellation. I had given up. A few days later I took a shot at trying to find a bed & breakfast close by. We have never visited a B&B so it would be a new adventure if it worked out. THANK GOODNESS ALL THE HOTELS WERE FULL!! We were completely enchanted by the Taylor House Inn!! The house is fabulously charming and Scott was delightful. I could not have possibly been happier staying anywhere else. We went to our concert, walked downtown to a great late evening dinner afterwards, but STILL the Taylor House was the jewel of the weekend! The accomodations are wonderous, the front porch is transporting, the breakfast was dreamy. We slept like we were at home and loved every moment we spent on North 7th Street. Scott and the Taylor House are tremendous and we cannot wait to go visit again!

Room Tip: We stayed in the room named Peace it was spacious and comfortable. Every part of the house we saw w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottiejay04, Owner at Taylor House Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
We are pleased that you found our inn such a haven of delight. We look forward to welcoming you back hopefully on New Year's Eve. Thank you for your kind words.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We have just returned from a trip where our first night was spent at the Taylor House Inn. This is a wonderful B & B that surpasses everything we had imagined. Scott, the proprietor, provided a welcoming atmosphere, thoughtful hospitality, and valuable insightful information that made our stay perfect. We were greeted at the door, allowed to select our rooms and then given personal and exact information about the things to do and places to eat. Each of our rooms was tastefully decorated with wonderful period pieces and user-friendly features. After we settled in, we relaxed over ice tea before taking an easy stroll over to the river walk, shops and dining. After a refreshing night in a comfortable bed, we were presented a delicious breakfast served in high style. Scott's fruit compote and signature French toast was a memorable beginning to our day. I cannot say enough to encourage anyone interested in enjoying the best of what Wilmington has to offer to consider this as the B & B of choice.
Susan & Ed, Frederick, MD.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scottiejay04, Manager at Taylor House Inn, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Thank you for your kind words. Our "welcome mat" is always at our front door!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

We were visiting from Germany and were so lucky to find this beautiful B&B on such short notice. Scott is a fabulous host and makes the best iced tea we have ever had. We had the "Peace" room which we really liked. It's very spacious and beautiful. The bath room is quite small, but also beautiful. We loved the homemade breakfast too! We stayed for 2 nights and had 2 different breakfast meals. Very pretty dining room.
Thanks again, Scott for letting us borrow your beach chairs.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

We wanted a getaway for our 25th anniversary. Taylor House fit perfectly. Our room and bath were spacious and every single amenity you'd ever want is there. The attention to detail in decor was impressive. Location is ideal for walking in downtown Wilmington. If you are an iced tea enthusiast, you will absolutely swoon over Karen's iced tea. It's a concoction of mint balm and lemon balm mingling with the tea taste. Put Taylor House on your list not to be missed.

Room Tip: All the rooms are fabulous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, NC
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Taylor House Inn is a great experience from start to finish. I was greeted at the door by host/owner Scott, who provided plenty of information and suggestions about the area. The inn is warm and welcoming, classic and comfortable. Located in historic downtown, it is an easy walk to the waterfront area with plenty of restaurants, shops, and sites along the way. Breakfast was both delicious and elegant. Whether I was relaxing in the comfort of my room or lounging in the parlor with a book and the sounds of classical musical playing in the background, the inn proved to be a haven of escape!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sneads Ferry, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

Scott was fabulous and out stay was perfect. We highly recommend to anyone looking for a beautiful Bed and Breakfast within walking distance to historic downtown Wilmington. The inn boasts good coffee, spacious rooms, a comfortable bed, and professional/courteous service. We will be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Taylor House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Taylor House Inn

Address: 14 North Seventh Street, Wilmington, NC 28401
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Historic home is on a quiet one-way brick paved residential street, just six blocks up from the Cape Fear River in Historic downtown Wilmington. Upon arriving, there is a lovely front porch with rocking chairs and swings to pass the day in and catch the cool breezes coming off from the river. Entering this lovely home, you will be in a twelve foot high foyer with original woodwork and stained glass windows on the staircase. There are two homey and comfortable parlors to sit in, to read or play board games or just to sit listen to the classical music that is continuously playing. The formal dining room is where the candlelight full hot seated gourmet breakfasts are served every morning. Fine antiques and art are abound in the is lovely home. Upstairs there are five bedrooms, all with their own private bathrooms. The names of the rooms are; Love, Joy, Peace, Tranquility and Serenity. Love and Joy are rooms with King-size beds and private baths with both showers and claw foot soaking tubs. Tranquility is a lovely room with a Queen-size bed and a private bathroom with both a shower and a claw foot soaking tub. Peace and Serenity, have Queen-size beds and modern bathrooms with stall showers. This is a lovely place to stay for your lodging needs. Among the extra amenities; there is an early morning coffee service delivered just outside your door, central heat and air, ceiling fans over each bed, freshly ironed sheets, chocolates and fresh flowers in your room. Truly, a lovely place to get away from your everyday concerns and worries. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Taylor House Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.