We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“They allow dogs at no charge...” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Red Roof Inn Wilmington

Save Saved
You added Red Roof Inn Wilmington to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Red Roof Inn Wilmington
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   5107 Market Street, I-40 Exit US-17, Wilmington, NC 28405   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 43 hotels in Wilmington
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“They allow dogs at no charge...”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

That is the only nice thing I can say about this hotel. I waited for the front desk person to continue arguing with a personal matter on the phone. When she finally started to check me in, there were other people waiting and she yelled out my phone number and room number a few times. Two things that were just awful for people to hear, personal information and room numbers are never to be said out loud. The woman has a very loud speaking voice and therefore everyone could hear everything...ugh. The room was dirty, carpet not vacuumed, tub had hairs and was dirty...the carpet had to be older than I am. It was musty and dated. The outside was very dirty with trash everywhere. It didn't feel safe either as there were questionable people staying there. There were a couple men that stopped at my window to look in! Jeesh...creepy and rude.

Being a vacation area, hotels are expensive here so even though I read the negative reviews my wallet prevailed. If you can go elsewhere then you should. Otherwise just be observant and alert to your surroundings. I didn't go out after dark, got in and that was it. The police were there twice during my stay, I'm not sure for what as I didn't hang around to find out.

If you can afford it then stay else where.

Room Tip: It looks like some of the rooms were updated with faux wood floors or newer carpet, I would suggest...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

142 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    36
    38
    20
    17
    31
See reviews for
41
32
21
23
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

The room was so disgusting. There were bugs, actual balls of dust that you know had been there a while, holes in the wall, smelled like mildew, had mold in the bathtub, carpet left your feet black, etc... That is just the tip of a HUGE iceberg. The outside of the hotel is covered with trash and cigarette butts everywhere. The pool actually had band-aids and trash floating in it. One of the most out-dated and dirty places I have ever entered. In hindsight I wish I had asked for a refund shortly after checking in. Do yourself a favor and pay more money to stay anywhere else!!!!!

Room Tip: Don't stay at the hotel! Stay anywhere else. I can't imagine a worse room elsewhere!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Pet friendly, pets are free which I think is really cool, they are starting to modernize their rooms! Nice pool area, decent free breakfast, great AC and somewhat clean. Double bed rooms are not updated as of yet, the king bed supreme rooms are, plenty of ice machines for those that are not fortunate to get a mini fridge, if this is important request it! Good bang for your buck.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

Room had two double beds and reservations were for four people. Only had two towels. Lots of loud kids at the pool unattended. The grounds were horrible. Parking was bad and scary. The room smelled molded and the fridge was rusted. The shower had lots of mildew. The toilet looked as if it hadn’t been cleaned in months and the floor looked dirty. Bedspread had burn holes in them. Pay a little extra somewhere else and feel safe and clean.

Room Tip: Don't book here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northern california
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013 via mobile

Very disappointing hotel. The room was badly in need of paint and the shower was very moldy. However, the staff was very efficient. When we got to our room and discovered there was no TV remote, someone was there within minutes and even stayed to program it for us. The breakfast was disappointing, just some pastry and cereal for the most part,, we went to the Dunkin Donuts next door.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed for 1 night Aug 17 - we got one of the last rooms so should've felt lucky...not so much. It was a hdcp accessible room which was fine but it only had a double bed in it. I didn't realize hotels still have those. I've heard many advertisements about new rooms for RRI but this isn't one of the lucky ones. There were many things missing from the room - blow dryer rack but no blow dryer - lamp but no light bulb - tv but the remote didn't work - taped batteries to the remote. Breakfast was lacking in many things - juice & fruit & cream cheese. Checked out the pool but luckily it was closed - couldn't see the bottom. I dont think this property is typical of RRI so hopefully they'll get some funds tp renovate very soon

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

This place was all that it said it would be. For a discounted AAA rate of 79$ a night during busy season, you can not pass up this deal. I have previously stayed in a few "motels" up and down Market street in wilmington and have not been impressed . The red roof inn was to my suprise , very different. We reserved a double smoking room that was clean and spotless when we arrived. I had previous problems in each motel with bugs, and here there was none. The staff was friendly and the Continental Breakfast was up to par. Jack and Tracy ,the house keeper managers, took care of us and made sure everything was proper. My only complaint was that we had to ask for more towels ( they only provide 3 towels in a 2 bed room) but they fufilled my request when I asked. All in all this place is great. Its by no means a 4 star hotel , but for a cheap stay, in a clean reputable motel, This is your spot

Room Tip: rooms near the pool are great, except when people want to swim at 11pm when they are not supposed to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Red Roof Inn Wilmington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Red Roof Inn Wilmington

Address: 5107 Market Street, I-40 Exit US-17, Wilmington, NC 28405
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 43 hotels in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Red Roof Inn Wilmington 2*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Tingo, Red Roof Inn, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Red Roof Inn Wilmington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Red Roof Inn Wilmington Hotel Wilmington
Wilmington Red Roof Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Red Roof Inn Wilmington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.