We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK but bad front desk experience” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Baymont Inn & Suites Wilmington

Save Saved
You added Baymont Inn & Suites Wilmington to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Baymont Inn & Suites Wilmington
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   306 South College Road, Wilmington, NC 28403   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Stay 3, Save 20%
Ranked #29 of 43 hotels in Wilmington
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“OK but bad front desk experience”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

I have a dog and finding a decent pet friendly hotel in Wilmington is tough. So I was happy to find a comfortable bed and a pet friendly room with a low pet fee that didn't smell. Great front desk experience checking in.

Unfortunately, this morning after i found the giant cockroach on the wall, I called the front desk to let them know and the girl's response was, "What do you want me to do about this?" Then she told me they have a contract with an exterminator. um, ok, but how does that help me right now.

I realize this stuff happens but a little more sympathy and maybe some offer of sending someone over to do something about it would have been nice. As it was, it ran under the AC unit (which had dust all around on the carpet) and I checked out at 7 a.m. instead of noon, forgoing my beach trip for the morning.

When i checked out the sullen front desk person glared at me when I pointed out to her manager that that question wasn't the best response to a guest calling in about giant cockroach.

Maybe avoid the first floor rooms.

The place still gets three stars and would have gotten four until this morning. It doesn't deserve four (armchair covered in stains, beaten up furniture) but like i said, when you're traveling with pets you lower your standards. Oh well. Probably won't stay there again.

Room Tip: Pick a second floor, I'm convinced it would be less buggy
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale S, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Wilmington, responded to this review, June 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
I would like to apologize to you for the experience that you had at our hotel, which I can assure you,is not typical. I want you to know that I have spoken with the front desk clerk and she is very aware of the negative impact that she has caused. Our service at our hotel is the one thing that we are extremely proud of to have for our guests. I am sincerely sorry that you received such poor service from her. Being new to our staff, she simply had to be made aware of how we handle our guest's issues. Again, my sincere apologies, and I hope that you will return to us again!
The Baymont Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

462 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    82
    150
    121
    70
    39
See reviews for
249
83
27
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Belton
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Your hotel is dirty, shabby, smelly, and overall in poor shape.Pillows were like sleeping on bits of nothing. Bought my own comet. Bathroon was disgusting. mold., floor, and carpet, were beyond dirty. Rude male employee when I complained. Best part was, 2 men urinating in the outside shower, in front of my kids, and spitting there tobacco every where. Called the G.M. and told him all of this, and he hung up on me. Yes sir, hated our stay in wilmington, hated the Baymont even worse. Sad fact, all hotels were full because of local graduations.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Baymont Inn & Suites

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dale S, General Manager at Baymont Inn & Suites Wilmington, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
We deeply apologize to you for any inconvenience at our hotel. I must tell you that your experience is not one that happens very often and we try very hard to assure our guests have a great stay. We truly do care about our guests and are very sorry that you were unhappy. We wish you safe travels and hope that you have a wonderful summer. Again, our sincere apologies.
The Baymont Inn Staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Baymont Inn & Suites Wilmington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baymont Inn & Suites Wilmington

Address: 306 South College Road, Wilmington, NC 28403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 43 hotels in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Baymont Inn & Suites Wilmington 2*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Formerly the Fairfield Inn by Marriott. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Wyndham, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Baymont Inn & Suites Wilmington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Baymont Inn And Suites Wilmington
Baymont Inn & Suites Wilmington Hotel Wilmington
Baymont Inn Wilmington
Wilmington Baymont Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Baymont Inn & Suites Wilmington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.