We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly Staff But Rough Around the Edges” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn University

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Comfort Inn University to your Saves list
Comfort Inn University
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   151 South College Road, Wilmington, NC 28403   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Choice Privileges Points
Ranked #34 of 44 Hotels in Wilmington
Cary, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Friendly Staff But Rough Around the Edges”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2012

When a hotel is priced as much as $50 less for a friday night on a holiday weekend than comparable properties (towneplace suites, ex.), you have to know there's a reason. This particular Comfort Suites, while centrally located in Wilmington, was reasonably full, and therefore had more than it's share of slamming doors and construction like bangs and crunches from other rooms. In addition, The carpet in the hall way to our room contained a ridge that anyone, not just the elderly or infirm, could trip over. Since we needed to utilize the sofa bed in the room for our child, we needed sheets and a pillow which, of course, were not in the room. A call to the front desk led to their availability but not delivery to the room.

The breakfast was acceptable. One wonders why they bother with this 'hot' breakfast concept if it means powdered eggs ? Would money not be better spent on more fresh fruit to be ladled on hot oatmeal ? Obese Americans do not need more eggs and sausage anyway.

IN a pinch, this motel is fine for one night and no more.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    43
    34
    33
    47
See reviews for
72
53
15
61
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pittsburgh, PA
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

My husband and I stayed here for one night on our way up the east coast. We're both very budget minded when it comes to hotels, but this was a step below budget. When we arrived, the gentlemen at the front desk was nice but talked so softly I had to ask him "what" after every sentence. Our room was fairly clean, but there were pieces of something left next to the bed stand with a stain all over the side of the bed stand that could have been easily washed off. The hotel boasts being remodeled, but we still can't see where they would be talking about other than some slight changes in the guest rooms. The internet is unreliable and slow. The windows are filthy (could be from the ocean... but should be cleaned more often then). The corridors are dark, dingy and barely clean. The breakfast was just okay... the eggs were watery, the coffee is awful and a woman next to me at breakfast had a hair on her boiled egg. After returning in the early evening, we found two cop cars outside in the parking lot apparently looking for someone at or around the hotel... we did not feel safe at all. If you read my other reviews, you'll find I am half as critical as other people, but this hotel is in need of a major update... or something. For the price, I'd rather stay at a Red Roof Inn or a Sleep Inn.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

We were visiting our daughter, a UNCW grad who now lives in Wilmington, for her birthday. We stayed at the Comfort Inn the same weekend that the UNCW freshman class was moving on campus for the new school year, so the Comfort Inn was completely booked (with parents). Despite this, our floor was quiet and we slept well with no noise.

The room was very nice and had been completely remodeled -- carpet, drapes, furniture, bedding, etc. The bathroom was clean and very stylish, with a granite counter top and "vessel" sink.

We enjoyed the pool and were pleased that it was open until 10:00 pm.

The complimentary breakfast included mini-omelettes, bacon, cereals, muffins, fresh fruit, a waffle-maker, etc. and a variety of drinks.

I am not a fan of the smaller pillows that most hotels now seem to offer (instead of the two standard pillows, we had five small ones and I thought they were a little lumpy for my taste) so my advice would be to bring your own pillow if you are fussy about them, as I am. Other than that, it was a great hotel at a great price and we will definitely stay there again on future visits.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fayetteville, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Have been here for a great amount of time,and have yet anything bad to say. The staff is great, housekeeping is good, rooms are clean, the hot breakfast is really great. I come here so much that I have learned to know the staff by name. Even though they are doing some remodeling they are still number one in my book. So many people are full of crap these days they always want stuff for free. I have seen people break things on purpose to call out the word "complimentary". There is a big sign saying what is going on and they are lying about things just to try and get over on this company.There is a big sign in the lobby saying what the hotel is trying to accomplish. So for those of you who do this, you are sorry people and it will come back to you. Also those of you who write about things sound uneducated, like bedbugs, they travel with people, someone has to bring the bugs in the hotel. Do some homework and you might find some answeres. The key word these days other travelers like to use is "comp" or for free. These guest make unreasonable complaints. For example I heard this lady tell the girl at the desk that she would not return because her kids got bilsters on their feet from the pool. Tell me please how do you get burnt on your feet by the pool, you get that from the beach not the pool and if the deck was that hot you were crazy for taking your shoes off in the first place. I personally applaud the staff and management at this hotel for enduring the "abuse" and disrespectful people while trying to provide the best service they can.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MandyPhillips151, General Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, October 4, 2012
Thanks so much for your kind words. All our reviews are important to us. I am happy that your are one of our satisfies guests and appreciate you sticking up for what we are trying to accomplish. Travel safe and we look forward to your next visit to Wilmington.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santiago, Chile
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2012

Seriously? I'm surprised to look back at so many, so negative reviews. You all must be waaay fussier than we are!
We're a young family in our 30s with a small child. Budget minded, but not cheap. Husband is currently studying at Duke, so with the cost if tuition we're always looking for a great deal. We got this place for a song!

1. Our room was on the 6th floor and it was partly remodeled. Our view was of the parking lot of an Asian restaurant which was agreeably disssgusting with trash all over the place. The room was clean and large however the drain in the tub was clogged with hair. The man at the front desk came right away and cleaned it up for us. As far as bugs, we didnt see one in the room either night.

2. Location was great. 10 mins to the beach, less to Wilmington. Food options galore. From Carrabas to Taco Bell all minutes away.

3. Pool was decent and clean. Breakfast was hot with a good selection. Business "center" was a computer on a table at the front desk area. Wifi was available and we had no problem connecting in our room.

4. Final notes regarding other reviews: magnetic door keys will be disactivated by cell phones. Dont keep your door key in a pocket or purse with your cell.
There is a gentlemans club two doors down, but we never saw anything questionable or risqué.
We didn't notice any bad or musty odor and didn't even notice we were on a "dog floor"
Finally, there IS one elevator that makes some scary noises on the way to the higher floors. We were told it isn't dangerous and infact, saw the inspection from the previous month.

Overall, an average hotel, 3 star worthy. Great staff, decent room, good location and under 75 bucks, they'll get a return visit from us!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mandyblueyes, General Manager at Comfort Inn University, responded to this review, August 6, 2012
Thank you so much for the review, all reviews are important to us here at the Comfort Inn University, Wilmington. I agree we do have fussy reviewers, I am glad you commented that. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay with us, we strive to satisfy our guests. Once again thank you so much for choosing us to accomodate you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greensboro, North Carolina, United States
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

At check in, we weren't allowed to use our coupon for a cheaper rate. We were tired and air conditioning had gone out in car, so we checked in anyway, at a very high rate. The room was fairly clean and recently had been partly remodeled. The beds were comfortable and bathroom was mostly clean. Not satisfied with cleanliness of floor and counters. The water in shower would not stay on a warm setting. It was either hot or cold! When we tried to use the Internet, it was not working. Tried to call downstairs and phone didn't work. Had to use my cell phone to call. They said it would be working shortly. It never worked the entire time we were there. The t.v. picture was poor quality. Lot's of snow and fuzzy picture. The next morning, we checked out right away. The Internet was still not working. Only one elevator was working and children in the hotel were pushing all the buttons, so you had to stop at each floor. This went on each time we got in the elevator. Would not stay at a Comfort Inn again! Very disappointed!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

I also booked this hotel over the internet and thought Comfort Inn a Choice Hotel Brand..How bad can it be. Simply Awful. I have never had a worse experience. The entire place was dirty and in disrepair. Our rooms were old, dirty and smelled bad. We did not stay the night !!!! Find another hotel...

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn University? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn University

Address: 151 South College Road, Wilmington, NC 28403
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 44 Hotels in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn University 2*
Number of rooms: 146
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Comfort Inn University reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn University Hotel Wilmington
Comfort Inn Wilmington
Wilmington Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn University, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.