We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Down Home Breakfast Cooking In Wilmington” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Dixie Grill

The Dixie Grill
116 Market St, Wilmington, NC 28401
(910) 762-7280
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 511 Restaurants in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: American, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Cherry Hill, New Jersey
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Down Home Breakfast Cooking In Wilmington”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2014

I've read the few negative reviews of The Dixie Grill, and frankly I just don't get it. I've now eaten breakfast several times at The Dixie Grill on our visits to Wilmington, and each time I had a totally enjoyable experience, as did all the other guests at our table. Service was friendly and efficient. Food was well prepared and delicious. The key to a good southern breakfast is the bacon, the grits and the biscuits, and all are top notch at The Dixie Grill. With all the other breakfast spots in Wilmington, why is there always a line on Sunday mornings to eat here. The locals (which I am not) know a good thing when they see it (err, eat at it).

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    71
    15
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina, United States
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great stop if you can get in.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

Being right downtown, one block from the river, my son and I were lucky to get seated in 5 minutes Sunday morning about 9:30. Louisiana hash breakfast was terrific. This is a rare restaurant where I'm inclined to try different things each time. There are several things on the menu that catch my eye, but whatever I choose it's always been good.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Outstanding !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

There's a reason there is a line there even on a Sunday in January. Bring your appetite and a smile...lotta happy folks in there

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florence, South Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great for lunch, too!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2014

Went to Wilmington for a weekend getaway and happened upon the Dixie Grill. Glad we did. We tried the falafel wrap and turkey wrap and they were both excellent. Onion rings and pasta salad on the side. We will definitely go back here next time we're in town, and maybe try the breakfast.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Start you day in downtown Wilmington with Breakfast at the Dixie Grill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

Dixie Grill has been a longtime favorite in Wilmington, NC, for breakfast and lunch. Although it is one of the older establishments, it has located in several locations in the downtown area.

Breakfast is served all day, although lunch entrees are served as well. But once you delve into the breakfast menu, you may not want to go any further.

Breakfast is hearty and plentiful, with specially recommended entrees. I had the Louisiana Hash, a blend of potatoes, peppers, and spicy andouille sausage served topped with two eggs prepared to your specification. I had mine over easy. They were perfectly prepared. Two thick slices of whole wheat toast accompanied the entree. Absolutely delicious. The entree price was $8.95. The highest price on the menu was Shrimp and Grits at $10.25. A member of our party gave the shrimp and grits their strong recommendation. Dixie Benedict is two sausage patties on biscuits topped with eggs prepared to your specification and Hollandaise Sauce. Again, our dining companion gave it two thumbs up.

Don't neglect the grits. They're smooth, creamy, and cooked the long, slow style. Order them plain or with cheese for an additional $.50 cents.

The staff is friendly and attentive. Be aware that dishes are served at a leisurely pace, because all entrees are prepared as ordered. No stale or cool food here.

This is a can't miss recommendation.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Dixie Grill also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to The Dixie Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dixie Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.