We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun and interesting tour” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ghost Walk of Old Wilmington

Ghost Walk of Old Wilmington
4150 Appleton Way, Wilmington, NC 28412
910-794-1866
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 35 activities in Wilmington
Type: Tours
Attraction Details
Loxley, Alabama
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Fun and interesting tour”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We have been on a ghost tour of New Orleans that was much creepier. However, the tour of Wilmington was fun and educational. There were a few creepy moments and our tour guide did a wonderful job presenting the information. You visit four places and at each spot, you get an extended ghost story. We learned a lot about Wilmington and the stories were good. The price was OK: $12 for adults, $10 for students and you get a discount card for various restaurants and shops at the end of the tour. We were glad we went and would recommend it to other. For a truly spooky tour, however, go to New Orleans.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

70 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    22
    10
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, North Carolina
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Great educational and fun tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

I have gone on this tour both my visits to Wilmington and I would probably do it again if I go back. They do different paths so it's always something new. The tour guides are knowledgeable not just in ghost lore, but also in the history of the city. You don't just learn about ghost stories, you get a glimpse of what life was like at the time the stories took place. I don't think the walk was really fast paced, but it definitely was a good distance to walk and wearing my flip flops did make my feet hurt by the end so make sure you wear good shoes. I've found that if I walk with tour guide from location to location, you can talk to them and get even more stories out of them. I've done ghost tours in Savannah, GA, in Edinburgh Scotland, London England, Dublin Ireland, and other areas and this is a top notch tour.

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fun Walking Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

This was a fun, fast-paced walking tour through a section of the historic district. Our tour guide was a professional story teller, and it was interesting learning a bit of the local ghost lore.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Pennsylvania, United States
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Interesting tour. The tour was fun and the guide was great.

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Cool tour of Ghostly Locations in Wilmington”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2012

Took the kids, they had fun. I have had better tour in Charleston but this one isnt bad at all. Got tickets at Black Cat and it was a neat tour.

Visited August 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ghost Walk of Old Wilmington also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Ghost Walk of Old Wilmington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ghost Walk of Old Wilmington, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ghost Walk of Old Wilmington to your Saves list