We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food Awesome Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dock Street Oyster Bar

Dock Street Oyster Bar
12 Dock Street, Wilmington, NC 28401
910-762-2827
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 510 Restaurants in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $8 - $16
Cuisines: Caribbean, Seafood, Oyster Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
NC
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great Food Awesome Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Living here for 20 years I can't believe I have never eaten here before! What was I thinking? The food was amazing and even on a Saturday night service was friendly and patient and the food came out fast and was delicious! We will be back! Don't miss out!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    162
    71
    16
    8
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
The Woodlands, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Best ever Oysters Rockefeller & Steamed Clams!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

Great restaurant with fun and inviting atmosphere in a lively part of historic downtown Wilmington. Casual and fairly priced. The Oysters Rockefeller were delicious, hot and fresh. The spinach was actually GREEN and not overcooked. The hard shelled steamed clams were excellent. No sand and perfect with a little hot melted butter. Washed down with an icy cold Dos Equis. What could be better? We cannot wait to return!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great Oysters”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

The oysters rockefeller are the best I've ever had. Friend had the sampler with rockefeller and imperial...equally delicious. Steamed crab clusters great!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goldsboro, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great Food and Friendly Staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014 via mobile

Went to dinner on a Saturday night and instantly knew this place must be awesome because it was packed! Steady stream of people coming and going. Staff was friendly and obliging, the atmosphere was very unique/artsy/pleasant and the food was outstanding. The portion size of their platter was fantastic. I had the fish tacos and they were excellent!! The price for all the food your getting wasn't bad either. All patrons were greeted by the owner and thanked for their patronage and he was available to answer questions about menu options. Would definitely recommend to others.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron ohio
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“I liked, it was very good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Service is outstanding. Atmosphere is fun. Food is very good. I had the steam selection and my husband got the grouper. Fish was very good but he was not very happy with the sides. We had the crab mac and cheese with buffalo sauce that was fantastic. Pricey a bit but good location and good fun.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dock Street Oyster Bar also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Dock Street Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dock Street Oyster Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.