We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GREAT ATMOSPHERE AND FOOD” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The George on the Riverwalk

The George on the Riverwalk
128 S Water St, Wilmington, NC 28401
+1 910-763-2052
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #105 of 558 Restaurants in Wilmington
Price range: $6 - $36
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
phil
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“GREAT ATMOSPHERE AND FOOD”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I went to lunch at this restaurant today. It was around 90 degrees and we sat outside. It was a fabulous view of the river. We watched the boats come and go and there was a lovely breeze. I had the crabcake sandwich and it was very tastey. My sister had the chicken panini and thought it was good and our friend had the spinach salad. It was a very nice enjoyable meal.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    100
    37
    19
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Ask for Matthew from Long Island!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

The George has a great outdoor patio with a wonderful view of the river. Had the alligator satay appetizer and the spinach salad with steak added. Matthew, our server, recommended the apple dressing instead of the raspberry vinaigrette which was delicious. He was attentive and funny, we enjoyed his service. My friend got the fettuccine with vodka sauce and salmon. She said it was amazing and has ordered it 3 other times when visiting! The second time we didn't have him and the server we had was pretty pad. Great atmosphere. Reasonably priced food for the quality.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Lunch on the River”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I brought some friends from out of town to The George for lunch before dropping them off at the airport. It was a Tuesday afternoon around noon. They had a nice crowd. We sat right outside on the River. Great breeze. Our waitress was knowledgable and friendly. The food was delicious. Two of us had the salmon blt with the cucumber tomatoe salad side. Our other guest had the pasta with vodka sauce and added shrimp. We were all happy with our meals and would definitely recommend this restaurant to others. I would like to add I thought the prices were just a tad steep for lunch but it is downtown on the river and the views were great.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ALEXANDRIA
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Just keeping walking”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Lovely view, pleasant waitress but that is it. Limited menu, poorly prepared food and high priced. I was told they had "fresh" fish from Hawaii and given the definition of "fresh" (e.g. not older than 24 hours). I finally played it safe and ordered pasta which was mushy, cold and covered with an excessive amount of sauce. I could not finish it. And the sweet ice tea was water with sugar in it. Just disappointing.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Some good...some not so good”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2014

It was Saturday night of Memorial Day weekend and the restaurant was VERY busy. We had a reservation and were seated promptly.
First beer ordered....ran out not available...second beer ordered one glass then ran out.
Calamari artichoke appetizer excellent
Blackened Mahi over cooked...corn pineapple salsa good
Bacon wrapped scallops good...polenta cold and pasty
Tuna good, tho not rare as requested. Wasabi mashed potatoes excellent.
The atmosphere is great and the views very nice.
Do not go and expect good food or prompt service on a busy weekend.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The George on the Riverwalk also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to The George on the Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George on the Riverwalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.