We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The George on the Riverwalk

The George on the Riverwalk
128 S Water St, Wilmington, NC 28401
+1 910-763-2052
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #104 of 558 Restaurants in Wilmington
Price range: $6 - $36
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Steakhouse, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Wilmington NC
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We visit the George frequently because they allow us to have our dog with us on the lower deck. The location, right on the Cape Fear river is excellent and always enjoyable. People watch on the riverwalk, an watch the boats go by on the river. The food is adequate to good, and the location gives it extra points. Pretty good brunch on the weekends.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    100
    37
    19
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cary, NC
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Excellent Brunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Sunday Brunch was excellent. The food was great, the outdoor seating was awesome (even in February), there are heaters and they give out blankets. The service was excellent. Great coffee. Only con... they can't serve alcohol until after 12 on Sundays... I wanted a Bloody Mary... but we had a great meal!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salisbury, MD
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Best nacho's ever”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

There was no wait because it was in Feb. so we were seated immediately and the waitress was excellent. She was attentive and knowledgable about the food. There were 7 of us and we all enjoyed our food. We had nachos to share and I could have made a meal of them. They had shrimp and crab on them and the cheese was almost a sauce. I had soup and salad for $8 and it was way more than I could eat. The seafood corn chowder came in a bread bowl that was wonderful. I used the bread to dip in the soup. It was Increadeble. The only neagative was the heat was broken. They were trying to fix it but, we were freezing. I will definetly go back. Loved it.!!!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greensboro
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We were here in Jan so had no problem with waiting. Seated immediately , our waiter was fabulous (Warren) made blue cheese stuffed olives for martini himself, was very attentive, not hovering , crab cakes were generous and chock full of crab, husbands ribeye was the best he had all month of eating out. Would come back for sure and they also take restaurant.com certificates. Makes it very affordable. We had a room with view of cape fear river,so the view wasn't important, but this restaurant has excellent water views!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
88 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“We LOVE The George”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

My husband and I decided to grab breakfast at The George on a Sunday morning, as kind of an afterthought. We wanted a place near the water and this restaurant came up in our Google search results. We were more than pleased with what we found! The breakfast menu was good and included all of the classics at a reasonable price. I ordered the Breakfast Plate and my husband ordered the River Walk. The restaurant wasn't busy at the time we were there, so the service was quick. The white cheddar grits were incredible! The George is located right on the waterfront, so after our meal we took a nice stroll. Overall it was a great location serving great food. We'll be back!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The George on the Riverwalk also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to The George on the Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The George on the Riverwalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.