We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow! Better than any Bed and Breakfast!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Riverwalk

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Hotel Riverwalk to your Saves list
Hotel Riverwalk
3.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   117 S Second St, Now Open & Taking Reservations, Wilmington, NC 28401 (Formerly Clarendon Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay 3 Days & Save 10%
Ranked #1 of 15 Wilmington B&B and Inns
Morehead City
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Wow! Better than any Bed and Breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2008

I have recently returned from a visit to Wilmington. The Clarendon Inn is a block or two from the downtown waterfront area of Wilmington. The Innkeeper, Michael, and his staff are superb! Loved the breakfast in the morning...the decor was outstanding, loved everything about the experience.
We walked downtown, ate dinner and even heard Michael play the piano at a local piano bar--he has a great singing voice and I really enjoyed his friendly nature.
This place is super clean, every room has its own bathroom--I can't say enough about it; the pictures on their website don't do it justice--it is terrific!

  • Liked — Everything!
  • Disliked — Had to leave too soon!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    176
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
33
89
12
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Troutman, NC
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2008

I really enjoyed staying at the Clarendon Inn in Wilmington, NC. Everyone that works there was friendly and helpful. The facility was very clean and wonderfully decorated. Staying at the Clarendon Inn is like staying with friends and family. Michael Pryor, the manager, is most helpful in any situation. I will always be staying at the Clarendon Inn whenever I visit Wilmington. If you want a place to stay that is all you could want and more I suggest staying at the Clarendon Inn. The best place I have ever stayed in my many travels!

  • Liked — Comfort, Aminities, Cleanliness and Staff
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2008

We loved the atmosphere and Michaël and his team were ALL...EXTREMELY helpful and pleasant..(and THANKS for all the informations where to go and what to see).....we just wish we can stay more than a week....It was really hard for us to go..because they are really warm people and you feel you know all of them since forever....They made us feel like a part of the family....
We looked forward to our next visit.....
Somebody write they are not a normal Bed & Breakfast.........

YEAHHHH!!!!....It's why we want to come back .....they are VERY SPECIAL.....

Thank you for this WONDERFUL vacations time....
L. & M. Chilton

  • Liked — Rooms and family atmosphere and all....
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Haymarket, VA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2008

The Clarendon Inn is charming and luxurious without being so stuffy you're afraid to sit down. The Innkeeper, Michael, is very friendly and accomodating. The food was good. The rooms are lovely. The location is excellent! I didn't know that Wilmington, NC is such a lovely southern town--lots of history, lots of things to do, with a very vibrant downtown. I will definitely stay at the Clarendon Inn if I'm ever in Wilmington again.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, NY
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2008

My family and I stayed in this beautiful Inn right in the heart of historical Wilmington North Carolina. The staff were exceptional and attentive. The rooms and premises were clean and neat. Walking distance to the river and restaurants makes it very convenient. I recommend this place to all. Do not be fooled by the low price. They should be charging a lot more. Jay

  • Liked — The owner and staff.
  • Disliked — No pool.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2008

Even as you enter the veranda, you begin to feel at ease. Inside this building of historical significance, you will find comfort, hospitality, and upgrades gallore. Our family reserved the entire Inn, and we got so much more than we expected! Michael, the Innkeeper, and man of a million talents met us each morning with breakfast, and stayed up with us around the piano until midnight singing old hymns. It's uncanny how quickly you'll feel you've come back to a place you've been before. If it had to be described in one word... it would be comfort. The rooms, the beds, the common areas for catching up with family, the long hallways that beg for bare feet, the shady veranda for enjoying a quiet afternoon in the South. It's an ironic blend of renovated comfort with flat screen tv's, refridgerators, and microwaves in every room, and old world charm with the quiet and respectful calm that only an Inn can give. You'll go there looking for a room and breakfast, and leave with a new friend and a deepseated desire to go back again.

  • Liked — The hospitality of the Innkeeper Michael
  • Disliked — Nothing! It was A+ all the way!
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2008

We were there for a wedding weekend for our neighbor's daughter. We had a great time walking around Wilmington and we were close to the beach. The Claredon was beautiful and the host, Michael was willing to share his knowledge of the historic significance of the residence. Michael was helpful in directions of where to eat, how to get to sites and anything else that he could do to make the stay pleasant. The breakfast was wonderful! We will stay there again if room is available. Our experience there was excellent.

Stayed April 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hotel Riverwalk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riverwalk

Address: 117 S Second St, Now Open & Taking Reservations, Wilmington, NC 28401 (Formerly Clarendon Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > North Carolina > North Carolina Coast > Wilmington
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 B&Bs / Inns in Wilmington
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Riverwalk 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Riverwalk is ideally located in the heart of downtown Wilmington, NC, just steps away from the unique shops, fine restaurants and entertainment offered in the historic district. The property's convenient and central location allows our guests to easily take in all the sights and sounds Wilmington has to offer from strolling down the Cape Fear River Walk, enjoying the great weather, watching a film crew on location or savoring a beautiful sunset over downtown and the river. Formerly the Claredon Inn, Hotel Riverwalk has undergone extensive renovations that provides our guests with a casual yet sophisticated lodging experience. Our spacious and comfortable rooms now feature king beds with upholstered headboards, new luxury mattresses, upscale linens and flat screen televisions. Rooms also provide guests with complimentary wireless internet, expanded cable package, refrigerator, coffee maker, microwave, iron with board, hairdryer and a writing desk. Many rooms have jet tubs. All rooms have individually controlled central heating and air, ceiling fans and a beautiful bathroom stocked with plush towels and William Roam all-American made toiletries. As a full service boutique hotel, Hotel Riverwalk features a guest lounge, business center and an elegant lobby that can be used for wedding parties, meetings and other special events. Complimentary on-site parking is provided and Hotel Riverwalk is a secured facility only accessible to our guests. There are three patio areas that surround the property for guest use. Smoking is not permitted except in designated areas. Each morning our guests are provided a Grab & Go continental breakfast to be enjoyed in the transformed lobby, on the patio or in the guests' room. Office Hours are from 9:00am to 7:00pm. Check-in is from 4:00pm to 7:00pm. Check out time is 11:00am. We are unable to accommodate children under age 8 unless you book the entire hotel. We are unable to accommodate pets but will be happy to refer you to local boarding facilities. We look forward to having you as our guest and working to make your stay enjoyable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Riverwalk reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarendon Hotel Wilmington

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hotel Riverwalk, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.