We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Cameron Art Museum

Cameron Art Museum
3201 South 17th Street, Wilmington, NC 28412
+1 910-395-5999
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 32 Attractions in Wilmington
Type: Museums
Attraction details
WILMINGTON
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Small!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Took our daughter here when she visited from the north. It only took an hour to see it. We were surprised that there were so few pieces of art. They did provide brochures on the exhibit halls which were informative. The exhibits they had were detailed and interesting.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    24
    13
    9
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Closter, New Jersey
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
“It's sort of a second Tier Museum but good for Wilmington”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I don't think this place which is quite a distance from downtown WIlmington ever reached its potential, but then there are fewer thyan 400,000 local residents and it probably takes more than that to have a first class Art Museum

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kure Beach, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“So Cool here!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Wilmington is so lucky to have a museum like this!!! I saw the dresses exhibit and one geared toward the Civil War. And I love the outside displays...they have an umbrella made out of work gloves!!! lol

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampstead, North Carolina
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Impressive fro small museum!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

My 1st visit was before Christmas during their exhibit of The Festival of Trees. It was beautiful, nicely displayed and the lighting was perfect. The afternoon I was there they had a pianist playing Christmas carols and it really got me in the spirit of the season. They have a nice cafe and gift shop. The staff is very friendly and knowledgeable.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Erie, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Exciting exhibits, wonderful staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Don't miss the paintings at this museum. When I was there, I saw two traveling exhibits. The place is well laid out, full of color and imagery. The staff is extremely helpful, about the museum and all of Wilmington in general. Just ask any of them.
The Cafe Johnny went out of their way to make sure I had an excellent supper. My sandwhich was gourmet-quality and only $8.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cameron Art Museum also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Cameron Art Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cameron Art Museum, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.