We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Vacation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kilwin's Ice Cream & Candy

Kilwin's Ice Cream & Candy
16 Market Street, between Front and 2nd, Wilmington, NC 28401
910 772 1298
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 16 Ice Cream in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Dessert
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dessert
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Family Vacation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We stopped by here on our walk downtown along the river. They make the waffle cones fresh. The ice cream was delicious. My husband and daughter had the salted caramel, and I had fudgie brownie ice cream. We all loved it. We sampled their fudge as well, and it was really good! We would definitely come back. The employees were very friendly.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

338 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    240
    73
    13
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
mount airy, nc
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Waffle Cones, Yum!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We stopped here because of a suggestion from friends. Awesome ice-cream and waffle cones. We didn't try the candy, but it looked amazing.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burtonsville, Maryland
Top Contributor
223 reviews 223 reviews
157 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
“Love the Toasted Coconut”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

This is the third Kilwin's that I have been to. The others were in FL and MD. Their ice cream and chocolate has been consistently good! I love the Toasted Coconut Ice Cream. This is a great place to visit on a hot afternoon.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Fresh made waffle cones”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

Long line, but worth the wait. The ice cream was delicious. They make their own waffle cones while you wait. But beware. My waffle cone was not properly closed. The crack acted like a chute when the ice cream started to melt and landed all over my shirt. The napkin did little to help. We opted for the two scoops. It was alot of yummy ice cream.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Awesome Fudge!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

Can't go to the beach without visiting this little sweet spot! The best place to go for Fudge!! My daughter loves their sugar cones with ice cream too. Loads of choices if your wishes are chocolate covered candies, strawberries or even Carmel dipped apples, yummy!! They've got a pretty good selection for the biggest sweet tooth.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kilwin's Ice Cream & Candy also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Kilwin's Ice Cream & Candy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kilwin's Ice Cream & Candy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.