We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the wait................” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kilwin's Ice Cream & Candy

Kilwin's Ice Cream & Candy
16 Market Street, between Front and 2nd, Wilmington, NC 28401
910 772 1298
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #7 of 557 Restaurants in Wilmington
Cuisines: Dessert
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dessert
Raleigh, North Carolina
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Worth the wait................”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Yes........... if you are there on a weekend or holiday, you will have to wait, but the ice cream is WELL worth the long lines. Delicious ice cream, and a wide variety of flavors. An absolute must if you are in the Riverfront area of Wilmington...............

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    219
    66
    13
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Best homemade ice cream. Don't miss this!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We wanted to get ice cream for dessert on Friday night, and the line was out the door and down the street! No. We decided to try again Saturday afternoon. It was much less crowded, but still a happening place. The ice cream was delicious, and we were so glad we went back. If ice cream isn't for you, they also have plenty of homemade candies, fudge, peanut brittle, caramel apples
Etc.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Went here based on TripAdvisor reviews - wasn't disappointed! Don't even like blueberry ice cream - but they had the best blueberry ice cream with crushed waffle cones in it - so creamy and tasty. The chocolates were also very good. They had my favorite SeaFoam candy - so that was a big bonus.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Ice cream fudge & much more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

Well where to start !! The I cream is amazing and I can tell you I tried a few of the flavours because we went there a number of times while we where visiting Wilmington,the brittle is one of those you just can't put down ! The covered apples seem a little on the pricey side however my daughter in law returned several times to re perches and the mud fudge is to die for

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
King George, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best homemade ice cream”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

I had the signature turtle ice cream and it was awesome. My wife actually liked what I got better. All the candy looked great and they have a ton of fudge. I wanted to get some fudge too but she wouldn't let me. Something about doing an extra million sit-ups next week. A must try if you are downtown.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kilwin's Ice Cream & Candy also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Kilwin's Ice Cream & Candy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kilwin's Ice Cream & Candy, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.