We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Honest food at honest prices!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ruth's Kitchen

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Ruth's Kitchen
6790 Market St, Wilmington, NC 28405-3704
910-799-7060
Improve this listing
Ranked #181 of 570 Restaurants in Wilmington
Restaurant details
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Honest food at honest prices!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014 via mobile

This place is so down home that you might expect to see Andy Griffith (rest his soul) wander in and take a chair among the painters and plumbers and lady barbers who pop in for a bite. Good plain cooking at amazingly cheap prices. Can't go wrong here, especially for breakfast.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

6 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    2
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
charlotte
Top Contributor
170 reviews 170 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“GREAT AS USUAL. We were sorry to hear our friend Ruth has passed away.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2014

This is one of the best places to eat in Wilmington, NC. It is always the same quality. It is your basic great locals diner. You will never go wrong eating here. We were friends of Ruth for over 24 years. We are so sorry to hear she has passed away.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, NC
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Meat & Three”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

This is one of our favorite "Meat and Three (veggies)" in the area. Nothing fancy, just come in, seat yourself wherever you choose, and the menu's already on the table. (The white boards spell out the specials of the day.) Donald, our host, uses as much local food as possible, and it's important to remember that this is "supper", not "dinner", if you get my drift! We do frequently for a quick and delicious supper, and it's a good sign to note that it's nearly always crowded with local folks. And it's right next to the Highway Patrol station, for what that's worth! Keep an open mind, and enjoy.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Had dinner with my mother. Both of us ordered from the daily specials. Mom had chicken and pastry with corn and yams, and I had pulled pork with slaw and collards. Everything was great. I had iced tea which was well prepared. The bread basket had rolls, biscuits, hush puppies, and cornbread. I availed myself of the cornbread and hush puppies. The portions were generous and the staff was personable and prompt.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great home cooked meals”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

We eat here fairly regularly and have tried a lot of the dishes. They always have a wide selection of daily specials, meant with 2 sides and your choice of rolls, etc. fried chicken, oysters, pot roast, chicken livers, etc it's all great. The owner is very personable and really appreciates his customers. It's full of locals and I think they are trying to keep it a secret...

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ruth's Kitchen also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Ruth's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ruth's Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.