We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasantly surprised” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fat Tony's Italian Pub

Fat Tony's Italian Pub
131 North Front Street, Wilmington, NC 28401
343-8881
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 558 Restaurants in Wilmington
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Pizza & Pasta
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

We were headed for breakfast after church - lines were crazy - the man dressed as a wine barrel convinced us to go in to eat. We first sat on the patio - where our 9 month old son was being very vocal - we asked to move inside close to football games hoping not to disturb other diners. The Owners/management were very nice - told us not to worry about it - very family oriented placed - very much appreicate that - especially when nowadays a lot of places make you feel bad for bringing your child with you. While we were there - two different families - had drinks go flying off the table due to children - and the staff was very friendly, and helpful in cleaning it up. Not just lip service - they walked the walk - bring your family here. The service was fast and friendly and the food was good. We ordered a pizza - been in search of good pizza in the Wilmington area - and this was definitely headed in the right direction. Great salads. Good value. Will be back - especially due to the family friendly atmosphere.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    42
    16
    10
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bluffton, South Carolina
Top Contributor
308 reviews 308 reviews
179 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
113 helpful votes 113 helpful votes
“Not exactly what we expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

The front of the restaurant has sidewalk seating, the back has "riverview" seating, but you really can't see the river well. Service was very good, as was the pizza although not one of the best we've had. The side salads were a decent size, but nothing special. If I were to go back to Wilmington, this would not be on my return list.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
“Delicious pizza!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

There were four of us, two couples. I had the lunch special: two slices and a wonderful salad. The pizza is pretty darn close to what I grew up with (NJ). My friend had the luncheon lasagna (very, very small portion..I gave her some pizza). The guys had meatball sliders and loved them.

It was a Wednesday and there was a wine special.

Would certainly return again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, North Carolina
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Great food and good atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Joined a group here for an early dinner on a Saturday and had a great experience. Decor is really cool inside, lots of food choices (I had the Bruschetta), and excellent service. Server even splits us up into teams (each family was a separate check) and got us checked out quickly as we were trying to catch a ghost tour. Missed the tour (too busy chatting and drinking) but enjoyed being there so much we were in no hurry to leave. And they were really great with our kids - all 12 of them in the group. They let them have their own table and while the kids are all well behaved, the server treated the kids just like us adults. I appreciated that. Had a great time and will go back again sometime!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ohio
1 review
“Great Service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

Stopped here on a visit to Wilmington..Great Place! Nikia is awesome! She even brought out a Cannoli, with a candle, for our daughter's B-Day! Thanks again!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fat Tony's Italian Pub also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Fat Tony's Italian Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fat Tony's Italian Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.