We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fat Tony's Italian Pub

Fat Tony's Italian Pub
131 North Front Street, Wilmington, NC 28401
343-8881
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #44 of 558 Restaurants in Wilmington
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza, Pizza & Pasta
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
nc
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Nice Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

We went to Fat Tony's after the Comedy show on Nutt Street (which I highly recommend, great Show) and it was lively, the waitress was excellent and we only had appetizers which were good. We love mushroom and meatballs so we tried the mushrooms stuffed with meatballs and we loved them.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    42
    16
    10
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Sunday special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

The Sunday special for pizza and beer is a great deal. The pizza is fabulous and it is not as crowded on Sundays. Everything that I have had there has been good. The pizza nachos is a pretty big appetizer to share. I love the homemade meatballs. They are very good.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013 via mobile

Nice atmosphere. There is an outside patio in the back. It was a cold Feb day so didn't try it. Chicken salad was very good.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leland, north carolina
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Pasta or Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My wife and I had our first visit to Fat Tony's this Friday night. We couldn't decide if we wanted pizza or pasta but certainly no meat during lent. I had no idea where to go but did remember a place called Tony's and a bartender pointed us in the right direction. Our server Jess was great. She was very pleasant and knowledge about the menu and made our night. We had the mussel special prepared with white wine (included 2 doz.) for $10 was well flavored. My wife ordered eggplant which turned out to be wonderful. Most places prepare this dish with too much breading and cheese that it's hard to taste the eggplant. This was so good in a light marinara and baked to perfection with a side of pasta. I would of liked a slightly larger portion to be a super value offer (signature dish). I had a veggie calzone with cheese that was cooked to a nice brown crisp toasted finish. Plenty to share here. The beer list is extensive with plenty on draft selections. Enjoyed a brown ale for $4.50 a pint. The wine list can use improvement but there are some good value wines here. Overall we gave it an excellent for food and service. The atmosphere is pub style but nice. We plan on going back to have pizza that Jimmy was kind enough to let us try before leaving. This is a thin cust pizza that reminds me of some of the best pie I have had in Bergen County, NJ. Thanks for the taste, looking forward to going back with friends.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caswell Beach, North Carolina
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Great local place for dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

This downtown restaurant and bar has a great selection of wines and microbrews, as well as a good choice of italian food. Nikia, our server, did an excellent job, and was well informed about the selections. She made several suggestions that enhanced our dining experience. Thanks, Nikia!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fat Tony's Italian Pub also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Fat Tony's Italian Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fat Tony's Italian Pub, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.