We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, ok food.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Elijah's Restaurant

Elijah's Restaurant
2 Ann St, Ste 2, Wilmington, NC 28401-4471
910-343-1448
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #55 of 514 Restaurants in Wilmington
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $7 - $24
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Doing business, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great location, ok food.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Elijah's sits right along the river, in view of the bridge downtown, with ample parking for patrons. We've been for lunch and for dinner. I think that Elijah's lunch menu exceeds its dinner menu because of some of their sandwich choices. A standout is their chicken salad, a fair portion of a plain, but very good salad on great bread. Their red chowder is unique to them and also worth a try. They brag about their mac and cheese, but I don't get it, had better out of a box. Their peel and eat shrimp are good, well dressed with old bay and at fair market prices - Summer is the best time to get local Carolina brown shrimp. Now about that crab cake. Maybe this ain't Maryland, but I don't like bread in my crab. Sorry. Service is pretty good, mostly friendly college kids.
Considering the location, and the great drinks (sorry for not mentioning their bar service sooner), might be worth your while if you can weed through the menu to the good stuff.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    212
    177
    89
    38
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Sunset, shrimp, the water and music......”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2014

This reasonable and well staffed restaurant on the Riverwalk was a real pleasure. Mason was our waiter and took such good care of us. The steamed shrimp with Old Bay seasoning was
delicious and a great value. We sat outside to watch the sun set and could hear music from down the boardwalk. Sound good? It was!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morehead City, North Carolina
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Dinner on the waterfront”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2014

Riverside table, good waiter and the food was great. House salad and a bowl of Red Chowder which had clams, potatoes and other vegetables, a little spicy, delicious!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lack of Alcohol”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2014

something has changed here. Servers are still the best in all of Wilmington, but portions are less & fancy drinks seem from the very first had no alcohol in them. @ $7.50 ea. come on guys. Do not get the crab cakes either, 90% bread, 8% chili pepper, maybe 2% crab. I should know since in food business for years. Too bad though, great location, great waitresses/waiters. Can't recommend anymore. But do try Pilothouse next door, same view & location.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cortland, New York
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
95 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Good food on the river”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

We got off the interstate and were looking for a nice historic, scenic spot for lunch. What a nice find. It was a bit cool but we ate outside anyway to take the river view in while we ate. Good food, fast service, and would stop again. Too bad we had to hit the road again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Elijah's Restaurant also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Elijah's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Elijah's Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.