We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and fun in downtown Wilmington NC” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sunny Sushi & Lounge

Sunny Sushi & Lounge
141 N Front St, Wilmington, NC 28401 (Formerly SunnySushi & Lounge)
910-833-7272
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 538 restaurants in Wilmington
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Sushi, Thai, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night, Private Dining
Description: THAI & HIBACHI COMING SOON!!!
Wilmington NC
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great food and fun in downtown Wilmington NC”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

I'm usually a traditionalist when it comes to sushi, but Sunny Sushi's mixture of traditional sushi and creative non-raw asian dishes is just plain fun; dinner is an event in itself. Fabulous spider roll, awesome green curry chicken. Can't wait to go back for the third time. Looks like a great place to have an event.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    64
    5
    3
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
north carolina
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great find!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

My husband and I love to find new out of the way places to eat and we decided to try a new sushi place in downtown Wilmington. This restaurant is located in the old Trebennzios location which is a really cool old building with lots of charm and character. We sat at the bar so we could watch the sushi chefs do their masterpieces. First we started with the edaname salad which was one of the best salads ever! It had just the right touch of flavor and crunch. The dressing was delicious.Then we ordered sushi rolls. They were all made with much care and looked awesome but tasted even better. The standout was the Dynamite Baby. This roll had an outer rim that was crunchy with all the flavor packed inside. It had a spicy bite that was just right.Absolutely one of the best rolls I have ever had. The owners just opened this place about 6 months ago and they were very attentive and friendly. The wait staff was very good as well. When you are downtown stop in and give this place a try. It is even worth the drive down.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best sushi in town!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

Great location, cool space, but what sets this place apart is the amazing food! Love this place! Only drawback is the lights are too bright for my taste. The staff is wonderful and Sunny made me a special roll that was to die for. Must eat here!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Stunning atmosphere & friendky staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

Being in Wilmington for over a year I've had the great pleasure of dining around town frequently. That being said Sunny's sushi bar has one of the most enticing lunch/dinner specials, which has been particularly wallet-friendly, speaking from a students perspective. As for the food itself, It's excellent, including the lunch curry which is lust for. Both owners Sunny & Alex + their relatives have been exceedingly ebullient and jubilant wether their dining one customer or an entire building.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“It's the best I've ever eaten and I'm no newbie to this food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Great atmosphere, and food is the best in town hands down. I eat here a few times a week and it is so fresh!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sunny Sushi & Lounge also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to Sunny Sushi & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sunny Sushi & Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.