We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast” 5 of 5 stars
Review of 9 Bakery and Lounge

9 Bakery and Lounge
9 S Front St, Wilmington, NC 28401
+1 910-523-5913
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #101 of 558 Restaurants in Wilmington
Cuisines: Bakery, Tapas
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
77 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Great breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The food here is just about as good as it gets at breakfast. Do enjoy a doughnut too - they make them fresh daily.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    24
    14
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wilmington
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A great additioin to Wilmington restaurants”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

A fun new trendy eatery for Wilmington. We tried dinner and later the Sunday brunch and both menus offered delicious healthy foods.. Our brunch waiter was very helpful for recommending items. My only complaint is that It is a bit noisy with the tall ceilings and balcony.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great for brunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

If you find yourself walking around Wilmington on a weekend stop into this little brunch place.Try the shrimp and grits.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmington, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“OK ... some nice aspects”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

The setting is very nice ... large windows onto Front Street. The restaurant itself was very attractive ... fresh, clean, open, high ceiling and has a balcony seating area. Attentive staff yet perfectly invisible. It has a warm welcoming bar yet I found the service slow after my order was taken. Found the same when I placed a drink order at my table ... it came slowly. The bartender seemed to be doing well yet a second person might have made a difference. Seating was nice too ... comfortable. I have to preface my food comments w/a personal discomfort with Tapas eating ... there never is enough for the price. Same here ... an entrée of seared scallops was small w/three scallops. Told by the waitress, nothing came with the scallops, I ordered a small salad. Well, a relatively large portion of cheese(?) potatoes came with the scallops so that was a surprise. The scallops were cooked absolutely perfectly however, I found the taste of whatever they were cooked-in to be odd. Not offensive for sure but odd ... edible but a surprise. The potatoes were mostly tasteless and quite a large amount ... an extra scallop or two sans the potatoes would have been perfect for me. The salad was the perfect size but mostly tasteless w/ a heavy handed use of croutons vs. cherry tomatoes. The dressing was white but again not much taste. The presentation of the dishes was very nice and they were served promptly. So overall, I was comfortable but somewhat disappointed as came to eat and felt I left carb heavy. But then, Tapas is what it is ... basically small tastings. I would visit again ...

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous meal!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Tried the Scallop and the mushroom tapas then moved on to red snapper special with bacon grits and a fillet for main couses
good bar selection...great saxophone in the background.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed 9 Bakery and Lounge also viewed

Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
Wilmington, North Carolina Coast
 

Been to 9 Bakery and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage 9 Bakery and Lounge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.